We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK YOU PAUL AND CHRIS”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #8 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What lovely hosts, Paul and Chris are great, friendly,helpful yet unassuming .... this a superb place to hang out and enjoy the attraction colomandal has to offer. We started in the cottage which is beautifully appointed with many special little touches like fresh flowers, home made marmalade,fresh linen and bath robes ...everything is spotless and well presented... five star!!!

Room Tip: recommended for both families and couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsnjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Mussel Bed is a great place to stay in the beautiful Coromandel.
The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable, having read previous reviews I was a little worried about road noise being a super light sleeper, however this was not a problem at all - didn't even really notice the road.
The breakfast is delicious and the baking is great to return to after a day out exploring.
Chris and Paul are great hosts - very welcoming, helpful and informative.
I would definitely recommend taking their kayaks out for a morning or afternoon, we enjoyed a lovely paddle down the stream out into the bay at Cook's Beach, exploring coastline caves.
The location is great for exploring the popular Coromandel sights - Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach and Whitianga is a short ferry ride away. There are a couple of restaurants nearby - we tried Go Vino which was excellent and only a 5 minute walk away. It is also close to Mercury Bay Estate Vineyard where you can enjoy a tasting flight with a delicious platter and an amazing view!
Thoroughly recommend staying here - enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snownoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Paul and Chris are excellent hosts- relaxed and welcoming. You feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive. There were some lovley personal touches in our room- home made cakes, fruit and a sweetie jar! Our room was wonderful opening out onto a lovely private decking where we had our excellent breakfast. Paul and Chris went out of their way to ensure that my husband celebrate his 60th birthday in style.Wish we could have stayed longer- we thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were in the cottage on a self catering basis. We enjoyed our stay in the lovely mezzanine bedroom/sitting room although to be excellent it would have been lovely to have had en-suite upstairs. My sister who slept in the downstairs bedroom thought the bedroom good but would have preferred to have had the vacuum cleaner etc in a cupboard.

For me, as I am a light sleeper, I did find the traffic disturbing first thing in the morning but my husband and sister slept well.

Chris and Paul were very helpful and friendly and the hamper and homemade goodies were beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the cottage which is self contained and has a beautiful space for all to enjoy
The queen bed upstairs is new and so comfortable and the space is huge
We had our 22 yr old daughter and a 30 yr friend out from the UK so they shared the room downstairs and loved it's openess too
The tiling in the bathroom, and everywhere else is stunning too
It was peaceful with only the cicadas humming away
Chris & Paul Hopkins are wonderful hosts who make you know how welcome you are

Room Tip: Families - in the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Mussel Bed B&B is a purpose built row of units in Chris & Paul's beautiful garden. It was so peaceful and the room was well equipped, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was chosen the night before from a menu and brought to your room on a large tray when you wanted it. Ours was set out on a table in the garden as it was such a lovely day.
The long sandy beach is not far away and swimming is safe. Great after a long drive.
They have canoes and bikes for you to borrow as well as spades for when you go to Hot Water Bay to make pools where the hot springs come up through the sand! Quite an experience.
Chris was helpful and informative, even booking our table at the restaurants for dinner. Paul obviously loved his garden and gave us a tour of all the plants.

Room Tip: Stay longer than the 2 nights we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at Mussel Bed ifor 2 nights in January this year and felt that we would loved to have stayed longer. The room was beautiful, spacious and most importantly for me, very clean. The breakfast brought to our door was also delicious and well presented, Chris and Paul are lovely thoughtful people who were very helpful and we were touched by the fact thet Chris had booked us a restaurant for the evening when we were late arriving. We were given Paul's mussel fritters which were fabulous! the garden was well kept and we enjoyed being able to use it as we pleased during our short stay. We stayed in 4 different B&B during our time in NZ and this was the most expensive but definately the best and well worth the price! We would stay again given the opportunity, thank you Chris and Paul.

Room Tip: I think any room that any room that you chose would not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
7.6 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
2.4 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 42 in Whitianga
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £69 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing