We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday cottage rental”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #7 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a fantastic time staying at the cottage at Mussel Bed in Cook's Beach, Coromandel with two couples. The location is excellent, quite central in Coromandel allowing easy driving access to many places, but without the busyness of the larger towns like Whitianga. Note that though there is a passenger ferry to Whitianga from 4 minutes drive down the road, to drive to Whitianga (circumventing the harbor) takes 45 minutes.

The cottage was comfortable and pleasant. The upstairs lounge has a king size bed, a single bed, and sofa/lounge chairs. The kitchen area has a table with 4 stools. The downstairs room has 2 single beds. There is a single bathroom with a shower. There is a terrace outside with a lovely flowering plant and another table and 4 chairs. Kitchen facilities were basic but functional and sufficient: there were two electric elements, a small toaster oven, a microwave, an electric frypan, and a gas barbecue. As with most of Coromandel, water supply is from roof tanks and so one needs to be careful to avoid wasting water.

Chris and Paul were wonderful hosts: friendly and happy to give helpful advice, encouraging in letting us use the property (including the outside seating on the lawn outside the main house, and picking herbs and fruit from their garden), but unobtrusive. We were able to get a free trip on the Cathedral Cove water taxi to Hahei that Paul was running. We also borrowed kayaks to paddle down the creek, carry them across the beach (as it was low tide), and took them into the sea cave and out around the point to Lonely Bay (which is an incredible little beach).

The only downside to the cottage was that (at least during our visit in peak season in early January) there is significant traffic noise. The cottage is barely 5 meters away from the main road that goes down to Ferry Landing, and road noise is fairly high as the speed limit is 70 kph. This was often noticeable from inside, and from the terrace outside the cottage. However, we often ate on the outdoor table at the back of the property, and road traffic was not noticeable from there.

The price for peak season is quite high, with a substantial additional fee for guests beyond two, but prices are high in most of Coromandel at this time and likely reflects demand and market prices. There don't seem to be many small cottages available in Coromandel (especially as nice as this one) - mostly there are B&B's for two or larger houses for 6+.

Room Tip: We stayed at the self-service cottage. There are also B&B rooms across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had the most lovely time at Mussels in Coromandel! Chris and Paul
Are wonderful and took such good care of us! The breakfasts are too
good...we felt right at home and the location of the cottage was the
best for quick access to Cooks Beach-we even kayaked to the ocean
with their kayaks from the cottage. Don't miss Dave at Eggcentric-a funky
restaurant nearby where he might even put on a concert for you! Delicious
food too-carrot cake outrageous! Mussels is the sweetest place ever!
Mahalo Chris and Paul! Kim & Jim, Kauai

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

In the Paradise which is the Coromandel on the North Island of New Zealand, Chris and Paul have created their own corner of Heaven. Don't even think of visiting this part of NZ without spending some time in this glorious hideaway close to Cook's Beach. The accommodation is very individual and beautifully appointed, reflecting the Owners' flair and style. The mature gardens stretch down to the creek which borders the property and affords the opportunity to use the kayaks which are provided. The breakfasts, which we took in the garden, were exquisite. A cocktail of fruit, yoghurt and honey, was followed by a hot dish served in little Le Creuset pots and rounded off with home made jams and bread. Both Chris and Paul are anxious to share their passion for the Coromandel and are full of ideas. In particular, Chris pointed us in the direction of Otama Beach which must be one of NZ's best kept secrets. One evening we took the passenger ferry to Whitianga, itself a delightful little town, where we enjoyed a splendid dinner in Salt, overlooking the Marina, and where we met Alison and Alan, he being the town's lawyer, who gave us a fantastic welcome. What more can we say about this place. We fell in love with Mussel Bed and left broken heartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We made a very late booking but it was no problem for the hosts who were delightful and welcoming and booked us into a local restaurant. The rooms are separate to the house, look out over the lush garden and are modern and delightful. The breakfast was outstanding and beautifully presented which we ate on the deck overlooking the gardens. A wonderful location and a delightful place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What lovely hosts, Paul and Chris are great, friendly,helpful yet unassuming .... this a superb place to hang out and enjoy the attraction colomandal has to offer. We started in the cottage which is beautifully appointed with many special little touches like fresh flowers, home made marmalade,fresh linen and bath robes ...everything is spotless and well presented... five star!!!

Room Tip: recommended for both families and couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsnjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Mussel Bed is a great place to stay in the beautiful Coromandel.
The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable, having read previous reviews I was a little worried about road noise being a super light sleeper, however this was not a problem at all - didn't even really notice the road.
The breakfast is delicious and the baking is great to return to after a day out exploring.
Chris and Paul are great hosts - very welcoming, helpful and informative.
I would definitely recommend taking their kayaks out for a morning or afternoon, we enjoyed a lovely paddle down the stream out into the bay at Cook's Beach, exploring coastline caves.
The location is great for exploring the popular Coromandel sights - Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach and Whitianga is a short ferry ride away. There are a couple of restaurants nearby - we tried Go Vino which was excellent and only a 5 minute walk away. It is also close to Mercury Bay Estate Vineyard where you can enjoy a tasting flight with a delicious platter and an amazing view!
Thoroughly recommend staying here - enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snownoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Paul and Chris are excellent hosts- relaxed and welcoming. You feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive. There were some lovley personal touches in our room- home made cakes, fruit and a sweetie jar! Our room was wonderful opening out onto a lovely private decking where we had our excellent breakfast. Paul and Chris went out of their way to ensure that my husband celebrate his 60th birthday in style.Wish we could have stayed longer- we thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
347 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bayview at 91 Boutique & Lodge 5 Star
1.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £68 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing