We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B to stay at.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mussel Bed Boutique B&B
Ranked #8 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stopped at Mussel B&B for 3 nights from 12th Feb and it was the most beautiful well appointed B&B’s we have stopped at and we were so lucky when we chose this. We would certainly return here and stay longer as it was such a lovely setting with wonderful sub tropical gardens and streams running through it. The owners Chris and Paul were so friendly and helpful that it made our stay even more enjoyable. How often do you come across places like this? We stayed in the “Beachut Suite” and it was superb with a mezzanine floor where we used to have our morning tea sitting in the sun as it came up from across their property next to the guest wing. The morning breakfast was a superb selection of glorious food and home baking that started you off perfectly. Paul would deliver our “gourmet” breakfast on a tray to our outside deck in the morning, we decided after the first morning to have this in their garden and it was laid out on one of the several tables in the garden, what a start to the day this was. Part of our booking deal included a trip on Paul’s water taxi to Cathedral Cove and we really enjoyed this as it would have been $25 but was included in the booking.
Many thanks to Chris and Paul for making us feel so welcome, also for booking a table on our last night to the “Eggsentric café” just down the road. That was a very different café with super food and to be entertained at the end of the evening by the owner/chef, fabulous.

Room Tip: Choose the Beachut suite as it has the Mezzanine floor and the sun comes through the window. Super f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Chris and Paul made us very welcome in a friendly, relaxed way. Our room was well equipped and spacious. Breakfasts were excellent and delivered to our door by Paul so that we could enjoy them on the terrace outside our room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and could have easily have stayed more! We arrived VERY late on the Friday night but our hosts had left everything very clearly open and easy to get to for us.The room is clean and comfortable, and had all the expected fridge, coffee, tea etc
Breakfast was delicious and they catered for my dietary requirements easily and without fuss.
I seemed unusual to stay somewhere for that cost without Sky TV but we were mostly out and about so wasn't an issue for us. Chris and Paul were happy to recommend or book restaurants for us, and Chris was able to give us good directions for our ramblings in the morning. We found them very friendly and welcoming and would come back here if we could afford it again. (They also let us pay off the visit in small chunks in advance so we had nothing to worry about once we got there - very understanding and accommodating). We wouldn't hesitate to send people here on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mockingbirdgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed three nights at this place and we can say it is remarkable. Very nice welcoming by our hosts, who provide us with a complete guide book of the surroundings (good restaurants, activities, nice spots, ...).
We had the central room which is amazing, with a large bed, a nice bathroom and a private small living room upstairs with DVD player and TV. The balcony offers a nice and relaxing view on luxurious gardens.
Many things to do in the area. Paul, our host, offers a complimentary drive on his water taxi company to reach Cathedral cove, an outstanding beach in the area.

Oh, and last but not least, breakfast are lavish, and change every day. A nice bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iolaos75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We received such a friendly welcome & hospitality from Chris & husband, Paul (who runs Cathedral Bay Water Taxi) & son Paul (who owns the Ocean Leopard sight- seeing boat, another "must do").
One has a choice of 3 suites or the cottage (for longer stays).
Our 3 days just about qualified for that & it suited us perfectly, because we like to partially self-cater, although Chis provided all the ingredients for a lovely breakfast every day. The cottage was beautifully designed with plenty of space & the double bedroom/sitting room was attractive, comfortable, light & airy.
We had such a happy stay at Mussel Bed B&B in the lovely Coromandel, a fantastic area of delightful beaches, coves & stunning cliffs and rock formations, that will live in memories for ever.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Wished we had stayed for longer than the one night on our 4 day drive from Auckland to Wellington. Room was unusual with a balconied sitting room. Owners both very friendly and helpful but I would be disinclined to follow up on their recommendation of a local restaurant, the Eggsentric.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at the Mussel Bed for the last 3 days of a 4 week holiday. It was the perfect relaxing end. The room was spacious with room to leave our huge suitcases upstairs, the bed was comfortable and the breakfasts delicious.
Chris and Paul were ideal hosts, with recommendations on where to eat and what to do.
We had great trips out at Cathedral Cove, Hot water Beach and loved Lonely Beach which is a 20 min walk away.
The only down side was some traffic noise but this was a minimal impact for us.
Would definitely recommend

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WoodyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
1.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
346 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bayview at 91 Boutique & Lodge 5 Star
1.9 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussel Bed Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussel Bed Boutique B&B

Address: 892 Purangi Road | Cooks Beach, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussel Bed Boutique B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris & Paul welcome you to the "Mussel Bed" - nestled amidst native bush, tropical gardens & streams & yet, so close to beautiful Cooks Beach. A perfect base to explore Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach which is only a 10 mins drive. Our self-contained cottage has 2 bedrooms and sleeps up to 5 people. Our guest wing has 3 luxurious suites, tiled en suites & french doors opening onto private decks with all those special touches our guests love! We bring breakfast to you on a tray to enjoy in our lovely garden. Kayak the stream from our jetty and enjoy the natural bird habitat, exploring caves and walking on gorgeous Lonely Bay! We look forward to making your stay a special one. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing