We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Food and Smiling Staff - PERFECT”
Review of The French Fig

The French Fig
Ranked #5 of 57 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Service, Food and Smiling Staff - PERFECT”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Love having Breakfast with Friends at the French Fig at the Weekend, what I love is you enter and always staff smile and make you feel so welcome. The lovely boutique shop with everything french is a delight. The Food and Coffee's are perfect and the place is always buzzing showing just hoe popular they are. Thanks Team you look after us all so well. David Hall

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    54
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“fantastic seafood chowder”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This would have to be one of the best seafood chowders I have had in a long time. the garlic bread with is was also lovely cooked perfectly. the service was fantastic and all of the other food looked really great and all made on site.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quick stop but very worthwhile”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Ordered the Mediterranean Cous Cous salad and it was AMAZING, I only called in to grab something to takeaway but the cafe is beautiful and the girl serving on the till was lovely. Well done guys - keep it up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is part cafe and part French gift shop. I noticed that the majority of patrons in the morning were men, which meant the food has got be good for them to be eating in a place like this. It wasn't just good...it was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank KukiniSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Offbeat, charming and delicious!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped at the tourist office and asked where we could go for a quick nibble. They recommended the French Fig. The decor is charming and warm. We approached the counter and saw some delicious looking goodies. The lady behind the counter was helpful and charming. We ordered a bowl of chowder, which was generous and very tasty. We also ordered a kumara stuffed with feta and bacon. It came with a side of salad. Both were amazing! For dessert, we tried the chocolate raspberry brownie, which was decadent. Just the right mixture of rich chocolate and tangy raspberry.

A great spot for lunch, dessert or a snack.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SRQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Fig also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The French Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing