We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Mill Creek Bird & Animal Encounters
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bird & Animal Encounters of the best kind. Situated in beautiful valley surrounded by scenic hills. Over 400 birds and many friendly farm animals. Interaction with our birds and animals encouraged. Hold one of our Macaws or one of the smaller birds. Walk-in Lorikeet aviary. Small miniature train rides around the park. Coffee and food kiosk. Camp ground at very reasonable rates. Cabins. Units.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Brilliant. The park is a great place to see a variety of birds and animals that are all so well cared for. The park is very clean and well looked after. We stayed 7 nights in the camp ground in our touring caravan. Pitches had plenty of space for everything even when the park was full. Facilities very good and really clean. The bird and animal park is a great for kids of all ages with lots to see. Many thanks. We'll be back!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LandIWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Although we would rather not share this place we have to tell you how wonderful it is! Fred and Gaye are attentive and lovely hosts who care for their animals and birds and their visitors alike. Clean, welcoming and fantastic - we are about to book for this coming year!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Camping is cheap , great place to take the kids, Fred and Gaye are awesome hosts and really helpful, would recommend to everyone wether a place to stay or something to do ! ;-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Any chance I have to get away, I always come here!!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Fred ad Gaye are lovely people with a fantastic place! The camp grounds are like nothing I have seen for the price. Free Hot showers and full kitchen facilities! There are so many animals, and they are all around, amazing to wake up with all of the sounds in the background. Always something to do around the park, or go for a swim at the water hole just up the road. Quick trip into town for anything you might need, and they are always willing to give advice on a good restaurant.

The cabin was great too, so much room and an private bathroom changed the camping experience for us. The B&B is great as well, again Gaye and Fred couldn't have been more accommodating.

Awesome place for the kids, a cute little cafe in the middle of the park with some yummy hot donuts :-)

A unique camping experince, and an awesome animal park. Everything is so friendly and always out on display.

Highly recommend checking this place out!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility with beautiful birds”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I loved coming to this place to see the birds and animals. They are tame and happy. Loved seeing the rescued animals also. I got to hold a baby hedgehog . I want one for a pet. I really miss the owners and the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mill Creek Bird & Animal Encounters also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mill Creek Bird & Animal Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing