We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little town Museum”

Mercury Bay Museum Whitianga
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best little town Museum”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As locals we are very proud of our Museum. Always something new to see and we make sure we go at least once a year. All our visitors get told to visit and always come back saying it was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tekohiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    57
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely little local museum”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It is small bu well worth an hour or two. Based on local history and really informative. I think it was free. Much more interesting than I had expected for a small local museum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hattiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An interesting little museum”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I spent an enjoyable hour here and had a lovely chat with the lady on the front desk. It explains the history of Whitianga very well, and has some interesting exhibits from local people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very interesting info well displayed”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Covered a range of local subjects with well displayed and explained material - a credit to Whitianga

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good local museum”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not a large place by any means but of some historical value, find out why Mercury Bay is named as it is. Captain Cook links and some interesting artefacts. Could do with some sprucing up as it felt a little stuffy and dated but otherwise 90 minutes well spent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercury Bay Museum Whitianga also viewed

 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Mercury Bay Museum Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing