We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit”

Hot Water Brewing Co
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Whitianga
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Tastes better from a can! Open Thurs -Sun from 11 am Brewery and brew pub, craft beer tastings, craft beer can fridge selection, plus onsite accommodation available at Seabreeze KIWI Holiday Park Welcome!
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Little hard to find, but make the effort and track it down
Made a booking on Sunday , and changed the time twice, nothing a problem
Very busy day as Mothers Day and 1 staff member on the floor
Food was good selection , hearty portions , and well priced , even a special Grommets menu
Local wines and their own beers and cider to accompany , all at reasonable pricings
Tasting was done at the bar without any hesitation try them all if you wanted to
Service was good , espec considering outside area was full, very relaxed
great Dessert.... Cheesecake obviously made on site
Good Coffee

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    28
    10
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Random location but excellent beer and food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on our way from Hot Water Beach to Coromandel. If we hadn't plugged it into our GPS it may have been a little hard to find. It's located at the rear of a caravan park. Not the best location or view but the staff, the beer and the food make up for it.

My husband enjoyed the beer and particularly liked the glasses it was served in - so much so that he bought two to take home with him. The food was great, the fish was amazing and the pork crackling pretty yummy too.

Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hahei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We always enjoy the atmosphere and food here. Added to which the beers can be tasted before choosing, saves picking the wrong one. The service is good and friendly and a special place to go for an informal night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kauri Falls Pale Ale, so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Kauri Falls Pale Ale is now in my top 10 beer list. It was so good I had to buy a six pack and 2 of those cool glasses they use. We also got the Humongous Fungus pizza, which was very tasty, and the greek salad. If you are doing a road trip up to The Coromandel Peninsula make sure this place is on your list of stops.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Epic Brewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Hot Water Brewery multiple times during out stay and loved all the food and beers we tried. On our first experience there the brew master greeted us with a sampling of the craft brews. These were by far the best beers we had through out our two months in New Zealand! My favorite was the kauri pale ale. The staff was great and full of energy. This place is absolutely worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yodayin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Water Brewing Co also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Hot Water Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing