We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“I love this place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this place!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We've stayed here each year for the last few years and love it! Our family stays in two apartments and they have everything you could want. I would seriously live here if I could! It's quiet, clean, great pool and play area, scooters and bikes available for free hire, walking distance to town and beach. I can't wait to come back, I miss it already!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiFamily212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Amazing review! Thank you! Lots of our guests don't know the bikes are free to use, but they are! I'm glad you and the family still continue to enjoy it here as much as we do! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    82
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
240
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Oceans Resort. We had booked a one-bedroom apartment but were given a 2 bedroom house. It had all mod cons - a washing machine, drier, kitchenette, numerous tv channels, free fast wifi - and was spacious and comfortable. Oceans Resort is very conveniently located close to Whitianga's main street and to the beach. We liked it so much we stayed in to eat, although there are plenty of nice-looking restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Enjoyed a super time at Ocean's Resort Whitianga. We would rate them - Ten out of Ten!

Wonderful hospitality, service and advice on the local attractions. Great self contained two bedroom unit with an ocean view. Very clean rooms with all the facilities required for a great relaxing family holiday!

Room Tip: Two bedroom self contained worked well for our family of four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleLusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just had 3 nights at Oceans in a wonderful 3 level appartment with our 3 teenage boys and a cant speak highly enough of the accomodation, the position and the wonderful couple running the complex. Rooms were very clean and fresh with good living space and dining area and great views from the top rooms. Very affordable for such great quality and we would love to come back.

Room Tip: Wi Fi by the pool near office only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

A fantastic spot and wonderful accommodation! Everything we could have needed was provided for here at such a affordable price. We were only a couple but this would also be an
Ideal place to come as a family. We loved it, our only suggestion would be air conditioning .... But that's being picky!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is my far the most impressive room that I've had the pleasure staying in. I got an entire two floor apartment, which included private laundry (free), secured roll up garage, two bedrooms, full living room, and complete kitchen. When I walked it they almost had a new smell. Perfect condition and completely spotless. Looked like a showroom model. Location is just 100 feet off the beach, and about 5 minute walk to the town center. Staff was also very friendly, and willing to help in any way they could. Breakfast options were also very well priced, and had several to choose from. The bed is quite, quite firm, almost like a brick. But I was able to sleep though, but was much firmer than the average NZ motel bed.

My biggest complaint and it's big one for me, is their WiFi. I was in a building part way up the street, with zero wifi. They only have one WAP, which is on top of their reception building and it in no way reaches to all units. So I had to park myself in their lobby while it was open, or sit on stairs/in my car after they closed up to get internet access. Some units certainly do get the signal, but I would venture to say half probably don't. So if internet access is important to you, then I would ring them up and see if they can either book you in a room that's in range, or hopefully they will read this and get a couple of repeaters. Cheap fix, and would had made my stay perfect. But as it stands now, I would not re-book unless they guaranteed working WiFi in my room. If you don't care about internet access, then I would highly recommend them. The two story apartments will blow you away.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room in range of WiFi if you want internet access. Many rooms are NOT in WiFi r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Hi Derek, thanks for your review. What an honor to see we are the 'most impressive room' that you've stayed in. We pride ourselves on offering value for money, so it's nice to hear that's how we are perceived. I see you stayed in an apartment where the wifi was limited. I'm currently working on extending our connection capability - it has been a horrible frustration for me too. However - there are certainly some apartments that receive better signal that others so please, next time - if you let me know when you book, I can place you in a room with better signal. Thanks again for your kind words and review. Hopefully see you again on your next trip over here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely stay! We thoroughly enjoyed it!!
Very comfortable and clean, especially for us who spent most days in a muddy concert and on the beach :-)
Great location and very welcoming managers. We were very impressed with their local knowledge and friendliness.
Awesome holiday!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
76 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
63 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Property: Oceans Resort Whitianga
Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing