We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Apartments are spacious , well maintained, well equipped and clean.
The resort facilities are good, with heated pool and tennis court.
Location is convenient, only a street away from the main street in whitianga and the beach is just across the road.
Lovely place to stay !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly87_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had 2 nights in Apartment No 4 which had a fantastic sea view from the balcony. The apartment was spotlessly clean, well maintained and has everything one needs. We met Pamela on arrival and she was most helpful making several excellent recommendations for us to use during our stay. We cannot praise the set up at Oceans highly enough and both agreed that the apartment design was one that we could live in full time.

Room Tip: If possible go for apartments 4 & 5 which have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V8-MGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We are from the UK and travelled around New Zealand for two weeks staying in 4 and 5* hotels, this was the best place we stayed and at a reasonable price. The lady who runs the place was helpfull and we had a great time. June & Bill

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A lovely, comfortable stay. We wanted 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and the 3 storey townhouse with its own parking space fitted the bill perfectly. Just a stone's throw from the ocean and the delights of Whitianga. We were able to walk back for lunch from our day pass at the Lost Spring, do all the messy washing and hang it out to dry after Hot Water Beach, cook a nice meal or get fish and chips from around the corner. The continental breakfast with hot croissants delivered to us each morning was scrummy. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Took my mum here for a long weekend and had the most amazing time! Weather was great 2 out of 3 of the days but the resort really accommodates for any weather - heated swimming pool means you can still go for a dip and the tennis court was lots of fun (even though most of the balls went outside of the court due to our in-experience!!) Our room had the most amazing view of the ocean and everything inside was immaculate. Couldn't say a bad thing about the place as it was just perfect! The owners (sorry have forgotten their names!) were both super helpful and recommended lots of awesome places to go see/do. Will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The resort is a short 2 minute walkaway from the beach as well as the main street, which has all the restaurants and bars (it is a small town so there aren't that many). The resort itself is fantastic and way above our expectations - photos do not do justice to the quality of the villas. We booked a 1 bedroom villa and we were given a 2-storey house with 1 bedroom below (not to be used else you will be charged). There is space to park your car right outside the apartment/house.

Go upstairs and you are greeted with a beautiful sight - a large living room with very comfortable sofas and lounges, luxurious area rug, large floor to ceiling windows (this is pretty high ceiling) with a little balcony outside, a large TV, boxes filled with board games, and a well-appointed kitchen containing anything and everything you need that too top class stuff (even the water kettle is premium!) - it is a pity we didn't need to use anything apart from coffee and the microwave. We got a villa which was away from the beach road so you don't get much of a view from the balcony - saw a little of the ocean through the gap between two villas on the opposite side of the resort. Since we planned to spend little time in the room, it didn't matter much but if you stay for more than 2 days you might want the view (gorgeous at night)

The bedroom and bathroom are also of equally high quality and design - spacious and very comfortable. We spent most of our day outdoors but returning to this apartment in the evening was a pleasure - no harsh lights, put on the radio (yes there is a CD system), brilliant to sit out on the balcony or on the lounge sofas with a drink. The resort has a little temperature controlled pool, which is good for a 15-minute dip after the cold water of the ocean.

Pamela - the host is very friendly and helpful with directions and a guide on things we could do in Whitianga. We had absolutely no cause for complaint - even if there was one I am sure she or Graeme would resolve it within minutes.

See the photos to get a sense of the place! Absolutely recommend it and I feel this is the best accomodation with terrific value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa which is closer to the beach road (not sure if these are for larger i.e. 2-3 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandalmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked this resort by first reading reviews on trip advisor and the resort certainly lived up to the expectations of all the great reviews. We were welcomed by the lovely hosts Pamela and Graeme ,who were so helpful and accommodating.
We had a two level apartment which was beautifully furnished ,well equipped and spotlessly clean. Plenty of room for our family of five.
It's location was about 50 metres from the beach. Shops were about a block away.
There was plenty for the kids to do at the resort with a tennis court, swimming pool , as well as bikes and scooters on hand.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would absolutely recommend this resort to stay at.
(Thorowgood's)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manlysurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
74 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range: £82 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing