We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“50$ overcharged for Housekeeping!! and NOT ocean view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“50$ overcharged for Housekeeping!! and NOT ocean view!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We pay 675$ for 3 nights.
you would think that for the price they charge, housekeeping would be included right? not at all! after check-out we were charged an additional 50$ for using the kitchen!
4 people for 3 days use the kitchen for breakfast only, and we were charged for not cleaning up after us!!!
Unbelievable, there was no housekeeping for the 3 days we stayed there, nothing, not even a change of towels, and on top of it they charged us extra (without any kind of notice!!!) for using the kitchen.
If the owner does not like to do housekeeping I think he should think seriously about changing job, and not running a hotel.
what a disappointment, not honest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutopi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Sutopi67, Thanks for your review however I do feel you are being extremely harsh. Sutopi67, we had a phone discussion with you regarding the $50 cleaning fee, (in which $25 was refunded in good will) and given that there were in fact, as you say, three days of dishes, pots pans, utensils left through the apartment, we do not consider this charge to be excessive. It is written in the compendium in every apartment that dishes are expected to be left in a clean and tidy manner.
All 2 bedroom apartments are serviced every 7 days and include a start up pack (laundry powder, tea, coffee, dishwasher tablets and liquid, towels etc) – all your usual Hotel sundries. Most guests use the dish washing liquid and reuse the dishes, pots etc.
Your apartment did have an ocean view – and in fact, is a commonly requested apartment.
Priced at $225 per night for a 2 Bedroom Apartment, we are told by many other customers the pricing is very competitive indeed.
I’m sorry you felt you needed to give such a poor rate – although not the first time I see. We wish you better luck with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    82
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
239
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014. We had booked another place but found it was poor value for money when we arrived and found Oceans Resort by chance. It´s a little tucked away, one street back from the beach and not that easy to find however we were glad we did. The apartment was very well furnished and extremely good value. The resort managers on site were hugely helpful and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonandjof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had such a great winter get-away here! Last time we stayed in summer and loved it, this time in winter and just as awesome. The apartment was so warm from the sun that we didnt use the heater much at all, and the weather was so great the kids even had a swim in the heated pool! We enjoyed a good soak at the Lost Spring next door too. This is not just a summer destination!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natarsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in April. We found the amenities excellent and the close proximity to the Lost Spring Spa through the gate was so convenient as that was our main reason for visiting Whitianga. We were made to feel very welcome, the unit was spotless and had everything we needed. Wish we had been able to stay for longer so will not hesitate to come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommiesGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We only had one night at this resort style place. The location was so close to everything, with plenty to do on site as well. We stayed in a two bedroom 2 storey apartment which was spacious and well appointed. All very comfortable. The Lost Spa right next door is a bonus, will definately be back to try that. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sekta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Check in to check out - all very professional and friendly. The three level apartment we had was perfect for our needs and being able to see the sea from our bedroom was a bonus. We had everything we could possibly need. The location is perfect for leaving the car at the apartment and walking around the corner to town or down the road a bit to the wharf.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place has a lot going for it. Smart accommodation in a great location. Our unit was clean, large and well equipped. We were very comfortable and would definitely return. The entrance to the Lost Springs is a bonus

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
12.4 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.8 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Property: Oceans Resort Whitianga
Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing