We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel in central location”
Review of Mana-Nui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mana-Nui Motel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Recently stayed one night there, we were in one of the newer room, nice room had all we wanted. Great for families with swimming pool and spa strictly monitored.

Owner and wife freindly and helpful.

Great location close to middle of town easy walking distance to good cafe's and restaurants.

Would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Centrally located, close to the beach and shops, reasonably priced, nice and friendly owner. However, room and furnishing are a bit dated.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chee Kong W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed just 1 night on our 'round New Zealand' tour. Joanne made us very welcome, & showed us to our room - right by the pool (which we just didn't get time to use......). This meant we couldn't park right outside, as we'd done at other motels, but did park maybe 10m away.
Main room was large, light, bright & airy - tastefully decorated. The kitchen area had more than we needed, including a microwave. A fan/heater was provided & we used it to cool the room. There were plenty of electric sockets.

Bathroom - good shower. Small basin & vanity area, but plenty of shelving for toiletries. As well as the usual shampoo etc, a sachet for make up remover was also provided.

Plenty of eating places just out on the main & side streets, but be aware that the town seems to close down at 9pm (OK, some bars were open late), so don't leave it too let to go out & eat. Several supermarkets nearby: 4 Square was over-priced, if the nearest.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Every year in January 5 families arrive and take over one side of Mana Nui Motel. Merv and Joanne are fantastic hosts and put up with 3 boats, 5 cars and a load of rowdies every time without complaint. The units are spotless and comfortable with nothing ever a bother. The house keeping ladies are lovely and do a fabulous job. The kids love both the pool and the spa. The men love its close proximity to the boat ramps and the ladies love its close proximity to the shops. What more could you want from a motel and its hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmichelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

A nice and relaxed motel with a great location. Short walk to beautiful Buffalo Beach and basically in the middle of main street, close to restaurants, pubs and shops. The room was very comfy, nicly decorated, equipped with everything needed for self catering and very tidy and clean. Whitianga is a charming city with much to offer, it is also an ideal base for exploring the spectacular and stunning Coromandel. We had a very lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed 3 nights here at the beginning of February in one of the newer units. It had a feeling of space and airiness, with a good modern shower-room and a compact "kitchen" area. The evenings were so pleasant that we ate in on two of the nights and the table and chairs outside were big enough to cope with dinner (there was an excellent fish and chip shop just up the road that did great baked bluenose). The pool looked clean and inviting, though we didn't sample it. The owners were extremely helpful and offered good advice about activities and visits. The washing machine was free and there was a generous line to hang out clothes. The location of the motel is good, with a short walk to beach, shops and supermarket, and to the ferry to Ferrylanding. No wi-fi though. Overall,one of the nicest motels we stayed in on this trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

My wife and I spent 2 nights here on a tour of the North Island, and would have happily stayed longer. The motel is right in the centre of Whitianga, with a short walk to shops, restaurants and the beautiful beach. We had a modern motel unit, comfortable and nicely decorated, with a large bedroom/living area, kitchen and shower room. There was a laundry on site. A small swimming pool was right outside, lovely for cooling off. We paid NZ$130/night, which was good value. Recommended.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana-Nui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana-Nui Motel

Address: 20 Albert Street | PO Box 35, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range: £72 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mana-Nui Motel is Centrally located in Whitianga and has 12 ground floor units offering a clean and comfortable stay. 5 family and 7 spacious studio units. Swimming pool, covered spa pool, Large LED LCD Flat Screen Televisions, 5 channel Sky TV, WiFi available. All units have some form of cooking facilities, kitchens / kitchenettes. Most standard motel items / facilities available. Family environment, closest motel to shopping centre. Short flat walk to beach, cafes, restaurants, shops, wharf, marina, museum and bowling green. Ample parking. Phone or visit our web site for the best and cheapest guaranteed rates. Owner operators Mervyn and Joanne Trebes extend their hospitality and welcome your patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mana-Nui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing