We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places to stay in NZ”
Review of Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuaotunu Bay Lodge
Ranked #10 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a beautifully designed lodge which has been purpose built by the owners in a stunning location. Lorraine and Bill are very generous and lovely hosts – there are many places where you arrive and are told “make yourself at home” but not many such as this where it really feels like you absolutely could do that – the whole lodge is designed so that you feel you can kick off your shoes and truly have the run of the place.

There are 3 rooms, all with stunning views to a beautiful beach and the mountains on the other side of the water. Lovely touches such as a fridge outside the room with milk, cookies etc, but also where you could leave provisions. You’re encouraged to bring dinner back and have it on your deck if you don’t fancy a drive out to a restaurant, and we did that one night and it was a lovely change from going out (especially as we are on a long trip).

Breakfasts were excellent, and one day we went fishing and Bill (expertly) filleted the fish and Lorraine cooked it beautifully and we all shared dinner. Lorraine also bakes the most amazing cakes! One of the nicest and most generous places we have stayed at in New Zealand, and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJM_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for only a night but could have happily stayed longer. Lorraine and Bill were warm and lovely hosts who gave us great ideas of where to go and what to do, the place was gorgeous and everything we hoped for. Highly recommend!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent three nights here and would have like to stay much longer. The view in itself is enough to keep you riveted to the sport for several days. The room and the house are excellent, and Bill and Lorraine did everything they could to make us feel at home and get the most out of our time on the Coromandel Peninsula. We did exactly what they recommended and saw a lot, ate well and relaxed. And their stories about the many years they have spent in the area helped to give us a feel for the special atmosphere of the Peninsula. Go there - it's as wonderful as it sounds!
Andy and Rita Brown

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Wow! This has everything - amazing views of the sea, welcoming helpful hosts, comfortable rooms and bed, and great breakfasts. On arrival we were greeted with tea and home made cake, followed by recommendations for where to eat. There is also the option to buy food and bring it back to eat on the deck looking at the sea. There is a picnic basket with cutlery etc, as well as a fridge and coffee and tea making facilities.
Lorraine and Bill did their utmost to help us plan our time, enabled us to enjoy it, then revived us at the end of the day. Their kindness and thought for our comfort was wonderful. We came back one cold evening to find a hot water bottle in the bed. I'd go back like a shot!

Room Tip: All rooms have the wonderful sea view with private deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy3Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Lodge is an excellent place to stay, both for its own qualities and as a base for touring the Coromandel Peninsula. Lorraine and Bill provided a great welcome, excellent breakfasts and plenty of helpful advice on what to do and see around the Peninsula, including booking up a boat trip for me. The panoramic view of the beach and the bay beyond from the bedroom and the deck outside is stunning. From the Lodge, both laid back Coromandel Town and the livelier resort of Whitianga are easily accessible, and many other smaller bays and beaches are there to be enjoyed at the end of a gravel road. Happy to recommend the Lodge to friends and anyone touring the Coromandel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The lodge is a stunning place in fantastic location. Very peaceful, sunny and friendly place with a lot attention to details. Large modern rooms with spacious bath rooms. The view from the deck is amazing, the gardens are beautiful. Only few meters from the white sandy beach.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We enjoyed the company of fantastic hosts location and great breakfasts. The unobstructed view of the bay from each room was unbelievable. I will be spreading the word amongst family, this is one location you should not miss if holidaying on the Corommandel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smally_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
5.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taigh Na Mara Bed and Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
7 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
7.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuaotunu Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Address: State Highway 25 | Kuaotunu / Wharekaho, RD2, Whitianga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: £83 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuaotunu Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a safe sandy beach with panoramic views of the ocean and islands. away from the crowds but close enough to enjoy fine dining in Whitianga. Wander secluded beaches, enjoy a walk in our forests or chill out with a trip down the coast to take in Cathedral Cove. Bring a picnic home to have in the garden, watching the waves where dolphins are often seen playing. We have a choice of 3 double rooms and a twin, all with a view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuaotunu Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing