We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Dog Here”
Review of Dog Bar Restaurant

Dog Bar Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in West Falls
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elma, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No Dog Here”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Excellent food, rustic place, good service all the time, and a thank you when you leave! Try the lobster tail, or the sea scallops, unreal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great old fashion atmosphere, great people, excellent food”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Such a neat place. The history is amazing. The service is warm and friendly. The food is great. A must visit in wny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosfet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Dog Bar ....it's still GREAT!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Dog Bar has been an institution in Western NY for over 50 years.
I started working there in 1971 as a 15yr old dishwasher, worked my way up to bus boy and then waiter. It was good then and its even better now!
Whenever I head back home to visit my family and friends I always make it a point to get a great meal at the Dog Bar. The traditions of Gus and Marta Schenne are carried on by Ron Schenne, with a lot of help from Punky Schenne. The steaks are fantastic and first rate, as well as other entrees.
The atmosphere is pretty much the same as when I worked there and it is comforting and welcoming.
Go and enjoy.. I know you will be glad you did!
Steve W

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The meat is king here and cooked by one of the areas great chefs. Always a great time at the bar with great conversation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dominicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a nice place, cute, cozy,inviting atmosphere. Very friendly staff and great service. Not rushed like most places, and the food,WOW. i am pretty fussy, but i must say the scallops were the best i have ever had and i could live on seafood, whether I'm in Seattle, Florida, or at home.
Lots of garlic and perfectly cooked, a true delight. My companion had the 12 oz. steak, which was perfect, as he is a meat lover.
I'm no fan of iceberg lettuce, so next time i will have the soup, the handcut buscuits were heavenly, light, warm and crumbly, all in all it's a good value for a nice cozy dinner.

r.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herb854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dog Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing