We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate with First Class service”
Review of Burnside Hotel

Burnside Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Adequate with First Class service”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We were attending a function at this hotel therefore decided to stay overnight. Room was a double. For an overnight stay room was adequate.
Must though praise the staff at the hotel.They were just first class. Nothing was too much bother and all with a smile.
Would I stay again? For an overnight stay yes I would.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    31
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
30
27
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Lunch here on a very quiet Tuesday.
Service good, food just average.
My burger overcooked and dry, my daughter's tuna salad average with under boiled potatoes.
The service was welcoming, quick and polite.
Food was presented well but not to a good standard.
Must try harder chef/kitchen!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-netherlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

recently lunched in the newly refurbished burnside hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the level of service and standard of food . Great value for money and will certainly return again .The décor in the new lounge area looks the bizz .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunblaggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Only stayed for one night mid November 2013 to attend a Birthday party at a different venue. Staff were all very efficient and friendly and lots of them too which is great for speedy service. Rooms are dated but clean and for price paid £30 B&B met our needs.

Breakfast wasn't the best, very greasy, toast was really just warm bread, link sausage was awful, square sausage was good but no mushrooms, service was good.

Yes would stay again and to be fair the lounge area was busy at night with lots of people in for a meal so perhaps our breakfast was an off day for the chef.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBroxburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The room we eventually got was clean and fairly comfortable but not what we booked and paid for. Although the main receptionist was friendly and helpful, training is needed forat least two of the staff. We booked through booking.com, and knowing we would be arriving late in the evening, called in at 11am on the way to our conference, to confirm and pay for our two rooms (a double and single). Arriving later in the evening at 8.30 pm we were told at first there were no rooms and after discussion were offered two twins, which we took. The next morning, on complaining to main receptionist, we were told our original rooms had not been used and had in fact been reserved for us. To add to the injury, the waitress got two of our breakfast orders wrong. Sort out the admin and the hotel would be very good for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front. The main road, although busy, is quieter than the railway at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham And Muri... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed overnight as friends were having a wedding reception there, Nice big spacious rooms for functions. Lovely rooms, nice decor, lovely bed to sleep in. Staff were very polite and curteous. Thank you for a very lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms have traffic both sides road one side and railway the other. If possible get a room on the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shade1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times. It has has a recent make-over and appears more up to date now. Exterior doesn't excite but the staff are helpful and friendly. Meals are adequate but not wonderful. Rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee available. Would recommend as a decent budget hotel close to Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherglen
Kings Park Hotel
#81 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#25 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Redhurst Hotel
#55 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside Hotel

Property: Burnside Hotel
Address: East Kilbride Road, Rutherglen G73 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Burnside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Burnside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing