We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortabe stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrhead
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortabe stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on a business trip upgraded too a four poster room very spacious.Breakfast great choice and quick service,had dinner one night two steaks and a bottle of wine for £30 great value. Will be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceh1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    101
    37
    17
    30
See reviews for
65
99
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We held a ball for 172 fellow classmates from Glasgow Vet School at Dalmeny park and we experienced nothing but excellence. Events manager was fantastic and not one person out of the 17 rooms we hired had a complaint. The Roseberry suite was fantastic to hold such an event, with expert table planning from Richard making as much room available as possible for the ceilidh. The rooms were all ready and waiting and a very comfortable stay was had. The breakfast the following morning was more than sufficient and a good spread was put on. All staff members were polite and helpful, with very competitive prices against other such venues.

A glorious experience! Thanks to Dalmeny Park for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

stayed here whilst visiting relatives locally,so didnt spend huge amount of time in hotel but found bed comfortable,agree with others,wee bit dated, staff were very pleasant,good breakfast choice,however my son and partner had problems with a blocked sink in their room, which was not fixed in the short time we were there, meaning they had to use our room to brush teeth etc.Not ideal.Another big no no was finding someone elses knickers under the bed.....someone didnt look? Only reason I was there I kicked a shoe under,dont normally check under beds but maybe I should....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madame-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked this hotel in time for Valentine's and stayed the following weekend. We had booked this and received an email confirmation about what was included within the price. It said:

Junior Suite Double Room sleeps 2 Breakfast included
Room Notes: KING size bed / Double Jacuzzi / full Breakfast. Tea/Coffee/Biscuits - Fruit- Chocs- Flower Vase- Bottled Water.Bathrobes.Hairdryer Flat Screen Digital TV. FREE WIFI. 2 course meal & coffee with bottle of wine for two with free parking.

However when arriving for dinner we asked if there was a set menu we had to pick from for the deal they told us it wasn't included as it was an advertisement for an additional purchase. We decided to take the offer of 2 courses for 2 people for £39.00. That to me means we get 2 courses each and a bottle of wine for £39 however it actually meant 2 main courses (1each) and a bottle of wine between us. A starter or dessert was another additional cost. So we picked the steak and asked just 2 steaks please...~that is literally what we were given on a plate just one slab of meat with nothing else. Half way through we were approached by the waiter who put down a bowl of chips and said: "Oh I do apologise I forgot your french fries." They weren't french fries they were chunky chips and very plain ones at that! The room was very cluttered with furniture- the furniture was over size compared to the size of the room it was in. The "jacuzzi" for 2 offered was infact a bath with jet spray function built for one even though the pictures showed a jacuzzi built into the floor big enough for at least 2 people. The bed was very uncomfortable and seemed to dip in the middle so we couldnt lie flat and the pillows were lumpy. The frame constantly rattled during the night and I was kept awake through out. The blind couldn't pull down due to a mock draw string at the side. The cherry ontop of this experience was checking out only to be handed a bill of £180 for the night as the amount apparently wasn't fully paid online when booking. Really spoiled our week off together for Valentines, too much money when all we got was a room. At least we had Ant and Dec on TV to keep us entertained.

We stayed to check the place out for our wedding reception, think we will be looking elsewhere after that!

Room Tip: Rooms overpriced and crammed no value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here recently wanted to sample some luxury , the hotel was lovely looking externally, but inside something is wrong. The staff are attentive and polite the food was hot and delicious. There was not any sort of atmosphere and the restaurant was out of bounds due to a private party taking place so we had a bar meal in the lounge. The window behind me was blowing a gale in. I think it's a listed building hence old sash windows that have been painted shut and no elevator to upper floor. The condensation was pretty bad in the bedroom .It was a bit cold too, although as an extra, there was a "plug in radiator" style heater, and the dial was broken on it, one of the lightbulbs was out in the bedside table. The bed was a 4 poster bed but it was a very creaky bed and the mattress was so flat and lumpy and sunken it was the most uncomfy sleep I ever had. The mattress is needing replaced . The decor in the room was very gloomy and dated, giving a bad vibe all mahogony and burgundy. I also heard every time the couple next door used their toilet (terrible) and the man next door sneezed and it sounded like he was in the room with me. Zero soundproofing, very tired furniture in the hotel , creaky floors no disabled access as far as I know. No air conditioning, or modern things in the room, NO secure deadlocks, a traditional mortice lock fitted on the door. Clean surroundings though, the domestics had left nice bathrobes folded, fresh clean towels, chocolate mints, bottled mineral water and a fruit bowl and those little touches were nice. You really cannot do anything much. The tv was ok, the kettle was a travel one it took about 15mins to boil . I worried about the windows not opening as an escape route for fire . Just me I know, but you never know, I am a bit claustrophobic and like air in my bedroom. The breakfast was cooked fast and was delicious. If you like home comforts this is not 100% modern, and ever so overpriced esp their weddings brochure prices, pfffttt , they try and cater for weddings but I would think it looks nice in pics, but when you are there , it's not that great just something not right , like someone died in the place, there is a heavy ,oppressive feeling and I wouldnt wait to leave, just didnt feel at home for all the reasons above. It's not the staff its the building, sick building syndrome, or "something" wrong get a sage smudging kit, an interior designer, an architect in and it will be fine. And a locksmiths. And a glazer!

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 290Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Initial impressions were good. There was a strange almost damp smell you notice when you first walk in but that quickly disappeared and wasn't off putting.

Large spacious rooms. Relatively clean, although the toilet sink was blocked, and although one of the staff came straight up to look at it, it wasn't fixed within our 1 night stay. The floorboards in the corridor were also very creaky and woke me up in the early morning.

The staff were very helpful, my mum thought she lost her car keys as we were leaving and the staff tried their best to look for them. (Turned out my mum had them in her bag).

The complimentary breakfast looked nice enough, I only had some toast and coffee, but had no complaints.

Overall I enjoyed my short stay here, and if I was ever visiting Barrhead again I would choose the Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel again.

I stayed here with my Girlfriend and my Parents in February 2014.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lankeymarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I visited the Dalmeny back December for a Robbie Williams Christmas party night (I always love going back there as it is where my husband and I got married). The food was really nice with plenty of choice, which is a great thing to find as usually function food especially at Christmas nights can feel massed produced but this was anything but, everyone at our table loved it.

The staff always seem happy to be there and are always on hand to help. As for the Manager Richard, he welcomed us on arrival and made us feel like we were the only ones there and not just a number in a party of 100 people. I have attended various functions here over the years, including our wedding which was by far the best day ever.

The Dalmeny is a very special place to me and I would have no hesitation reccommending the place to others.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lauramccafferty13b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrhead
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel

Property: Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
Address: Lochlibo Road, Barrhead G78 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Barrhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Park Country Hotel
Dalmeny Park Country Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing