We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended friend going this week hope she loves it as much as I did”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've just recommended this hotel to a friend and her family. They are there this week and after me telling them all about this I hope they enjoy it as much as we I'd. Well there is one thing I will not be worrying about but I'm not hey will love it x

Room Tip: They all look amazing
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

On the 27th April we hosted a 60th birthday dinner at the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a wonderful night and were able to choose our own menu. The food was excellent and great value for money.
We would like to give a huge thank you to Richard, who organised the event, Graham who was in charge on the night and the rest of the staff, for making our night truly special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 109jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a great hotel, good price and good food, don't go for it if your a light sleeper, squeaky floor boards, but that's one of the attractions, it has all it's internal character features, breakfast was plentiful, evening meal in the bistro bar good value, warmly friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llawnroc1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for a 2 week stay Mon-Fri for the last 2 weeks while working away in Paisley.
The hotel is set in its own grounds & i guess it was once a country house.
Cons:
1. Creaking floorboards in the corridors, you hear everyone walking up & down to their rooms, light sleepers will find this an issue.
2. No double glazing, you will hear all outside passing traffic.
3. The bar. £4.10p for a CAN of Guinness! Not even a pint as it is out of a can, shocking practice & cost.
4. Room service has a cost of £3.00 on the food bill, but this is not shown on any tariffs, in any literature or menus.
5. No lift anywhere in the hotel, plus the hotel is on 3/4 levels upstairs so you have multiple fire doors & steps, this could maybe be an issue for disabled or infirm especially with bags.
6. WiFi- couldn't get it to work in my room at all.

Cons:
1. Very welcoming, polite & always available staff, a big credit to the establishment.
2. Warm, the corridors & room (i stayed in 2 rooms over the period) we very warm & cosy with the option of controlling the heat yourself, no air con here.
3. Sockets, there are loads of them, plenty for your mobile charger/laptop etc.
4. Hot water, loads of it & a good shower.
5. Ample free parking in the on grounds car park, the car park being a cock stride from the front door.

Summery:
To its gain this is not a chain, therefore it has character so don't expect crisp clean lines.
Take away the extortionate cost of a can of Guinness, (i believe the John Smiths is also on a par) & the hotel was excellent for my needs, not so sure it would be so if it was for a special occasion though.

Would i stay there again? Yes, most definitely for work purposes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discoveryv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Was here recently as part of a wedding party evening reception.

To summarise:

Rank, instant coffee was served upon polite request (come on guys, it doesn't cost more to upgrade to a cafetiere and ground coffee option)

The buffet consisted of cheap and nasty bacon and cremated square slice sausage on rolls fit for bilbo and his hobbit friends..how can something so simple, classic and easy to make well be done so wrong?!

The whole place has a 'dated' and tired feel to it. Tacky functions furniture in the bar and a 'below 4 star' impression throughout (don't be sold on that rating anyways).

Can't comment on the rooms as I didn't stay overnight (plenty of interesting reviews about them on here anyways) but I would search elsewhere if you're looking for a quality hotel for your big day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank CityCritic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here as my usual hotel was fully booked. I booked a double for single occupancy and this often means a wide range of things in hotels from small double rooms to the room I got here. Good size car park and lovely looking country house hotel, friendly staff on check-in (even asked me how I was today which was nice), got to my room and found a 4 poster bed & spa bath!!! Wasn't expecting this and loved the characteristic room and comfortable bed. Didn't eat here so cannot comment on the food but breakfast in the morning was served fresh with a smile (unlike the horrible hot buffet style other hotels now insist on). My only gripe would be that I struggled to connect to the wi-fi, unsure if this was due to the locality of the room or a fault but I have 4G anyway so wasn't a huge issue. All in all a good stay with a lovely room and now gives me food for thought when staying regularly in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here on business £46 b&b which was fab. Lovely setting nice rooms and good location off a main rd. plenty of free parking. Wifi didn't work so couldn't do work that evening. Overall a good stay

Good things
- food
- staff
- rooms

Not so great things
- needs a spruce up
- shower is poor

Room Tip: Don't go in 107 it's next to the door
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsIshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrhead
Parklands Hotel & Country Club
#2 of 2 in Newton Mearns
111 reviews
Busby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clarkston
700 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uplawmoor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Uplawmoor
221 reviews
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
367 reviews
Lynnhurst Hotel
#1 of 1 in Johnstone
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel

Address: Lochlibo Road, Barrhead G78 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Renfrewshire > Barrhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrhead
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Park Country Hotel
Dalmeny Park Country Glasgow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing