We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The wonderfully renovated hotel, the fine dining, the room dedications to famous and highly successful West Point grads and our comfortable room made our stay just perfect. We stayed there on a Tuesday evening with a view of the athletic field. Our suite was great...well appointed, perfect mattress, fine linens and pillows. We really enjoyed walking the floors, including the basement, looking at all the history. The Thayer will definitely be our choice when visiting the area as it is an easy and beautiful drive from NYC.

Room Tip: Can't really speak for any of the other rooms, but the suite we had overlooking the athletic fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joe l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
The Thayer Team thanks you for staying with us, and for writing a review of your time with us. Within the last few years, this historic landmark received upgraded amenities and newly appointed Executive Suites – we are so glad that you were able to enjoy those. These upgrades make for a remarkable stay at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. If you enjoy walking our hotel and viewing the memorabilia on the walls, you will certainly enjoy a guided tour of West Point through West Point Tours. This is a must when visiting the Nation’s oldest Service Academy. Located only 45 miles from New York City, the Hudson Valley is a perfect day trip, and staying at The Thayer Hotel is a perfect weekend getaway. We would love to welcome you to back to our property this winter or spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    252
    117
    50
    55
See reviews for
285
325
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It upsets me to write a negative review, but I felt it absolutely necessary. The setting of this hotel is scenic, especially this time of year, and the bones of the hotel are quite handsome but our room was filthy. We found a DIRTY sock (not ours) between the sheets, which indicates that the hotel does NOT change its linens when a guest checks out. Not only is this practice disgusting, it is downright unsanitary, as its guest could contract all sorts of horrible conditions such as bed bugs & scabies. Our bathroom was marginally cleaned and the in-room ceramic coffee cups were both encrusted with remnants from the prior occupant. The hotel service was fair & unpolished, the dining room & kitchen were mediocre at best.

While the on duty manager was a polite, handsome young man, he simply sheepishly said "I am so sorry, this should not have happened." This place needs some serious training in how to run a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 780bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us online - before you posted this, I know that our staff had the opportunity to discuss this with you in person, to apologize, and to offer you service recovery. I am sorry that there was a sock stuck in the sheets from when we laundered the sheets and duvet covers. Our housekeepers absoutely should have been paying closer attention, and we failed to separate the sock out that was stuck to the duvet cover from static in the laundry. We are very proud of our commitment and record of excellent housekeeping: cleanliness is very important to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Thayer Hotel (TH) for a wedding and while the hotel itself is a beautiful building, we would avoid it if we ever go back to the area. There are few nice hotels so TH really has no competition and it shows. I travel often and wifi is always free; not only does TH charge $9.99 per day, they charge by device so it cost us an extra $40.

We left our invite at home and mistakenly thought the reception was at the hotel. When we asked the front desk if they knew where the reception was (there were a couple dozen of us including the wedding party staying at the hotel) we were rudely told that it wasn't their responsibility to keep track of off-site weddings.

The restaurant was equally disappointing but that's a separate review.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Hudson overlook the Zulu Time Lounge which was loud and it closes at 2AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that you did not have an excellent stay with us. We aim to please every guest that stays with us, and our staff is equipped with knowledge about the surrounding area, attractions, and the hotel itself. We are sorry that we were not able to provide you with information about a wedding that was not coordinated through us. We are glad that you were able to stay with us while you attended the wedding, and are committed to providing the service excellence referenced in so many of the reviews on this site. I hope that you will give us another try if you are back in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARYLAND
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Visiting grandson who is a Firstie at the Point this year. Planned to stay at the Thayer during his 47 months, and realized it is coming to an end this May with graduation. Pleasant and helpful valet attendants, easy check in, and lovely room, with a beautiful view of the river and the roof lounge. Enjoyed a drink at Patton's Tavern, and dinner at MacArthur's, although it is nothing special from a culinary standpoint. Service good. The whole experience was very positive and the historical significance is never far from the mind or view. This was a mid-week visit, and the whole hotel was quiet, and the Zulu lounge was not open.

Room Tip: Mid-week visits are probably the only quiet times. The hallways were mouse quiet, but we could imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLENMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Located on the grounds of The United States Military Academy, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point serves as a perfect home base during all of the important events at the Academy. Stay close to the ceremonies and don’t miss a moment of your cadet marching through milestones on the road to journey to becoming a Second Lieutenant in the Unites States Army. Our dinning outlets have recently seen a menu overhaul, led by Executive Chef, Brian Aspell, CEC, in which he brings fabulous new menu items for our diners. MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant is home to the award-winning Sunday Champagne Brunch, and a must have when visiting the Hudson Valley. Another must is visiting Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge for phenomenal views of the river, which is open seasonally. We hope to see you again in the future and that you come back to enjoy Zulu Time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was to be our highlight stay of our trip to Hudson Valley as we mistakingly believed all the reviews and hype and figured at its price tag it's got to be extraordinary. Before our stay we thought we'd pass through West Point on route to Tarrytown to check out the hotel first. The hotel was crazy busy, with weddings & reunions, grossly understaffed, all customers seemed annoyed and disappointed - we should have taken this as a sign. The next day we arrived for our stay & the hotel was barren & felt abandoned. ??? When we checked in we were warned that the side with the view also had the trains, she said if you were a light sleeper you may wish the other side. Okay I'm not a light sleeper but a train whistle every hour and the rattle of the train was ridiculous - yup ALL NIGHT. The view has lovely (not spectacular) but with tiny windows, not worth the lack of sleep. Like most old hotels the temperature of the room was also hard to control. The room was "alright" but we were expecting much better for the price. It was weirdly laid out and all around awkward, again typical for an old hotel. This was the most expensive night of our trip with worst room (although the bed & linens were comfortable) It was double the price of every place we stayed, and we stayed in some pretty nice places. The hotel may have been historic, but lacked character... It was just old, and paying a premium for old is a waste of money.
Save your money, stay out of town & drive there if visiting West Point.

Room Tip: The side with the trains also has the Zulu Lounge - the view is not worth the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us: our excellent staff is committed to providing candid information on the various rooms and locations, to ensure that guests staying on the riverside of the hotel know about the noise from the train or our rooftop bar (if the Zulu Time bar and lounge are open during a guest's stay): some of our guests are not bothered by the train noise, and others find it soothing and unique. I am happy to hear that our team gave you the information you needed to make the choice, but am sorry that the trains kept you awake. We are committed to providing excellent service to our guests, and I am sorry for any service failures on our end that impacted your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Staying at the hotel located on the West Point Military Academy grounds was not quite your typical hotel experience- but West Point is probably not usually on your normal tourist route either. We selected the Thayer because it was a good mid-point stop between upper New England and the Washington DC area. The Thayer is truly a historic hotel- both with respect to the facility itself and its association with West Point. We had an Executive room that was recently redone and in good shape- a large and comfortable room though one felt that it was bit on the "military quarters" style (not surprising considering where you are at). What was odd was the hallways that were truly "bunker-like" in their appearance and feel. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. So as a hotel, it was basically fine. The true downside of this property is the dining accommodation. There are precious few alternatives in the area so one is pretty much stuck eating at the hotel. The restaurant service was atrocious (an hour between ordering and getting the first salad course) and the wait staff more curt than friendly. Once the food arrived it was only average. The dining room ambiance was "not much" though with a little work it could have been great. All in all a real mixed bag with the Thayer. Would we stay there again- probably not.

Room Tip: Hard to select a good room- rooms facing the river offer a good view but there are trains below at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us - we are committed to providing service excellence to each of our guests, and your comments about your dining experience has been in used in training sessions over the last month to help our servers and culinary team. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations while dining with us. Your experience is not reflective of the service or culinary quality we consistently provice, and we hope that you will try us again the next time that you are traveling through the Hudson Valley. The history and military gothic style architecture in this landmark building on West Point makes us a boutique, unique, and one of a kind experience: we are proud of our location and heritage, and hope that you will try us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Recently had my daughters wedding @ Thayer and it was wonderful. Stacy was the most helpful wedding planner ever ! Everything went perfectly from beginning to end. Rooms at hotel were alright, I had a room with a King Size bed and room felt a bit claustrophobic. One elevator kept acting up, scared a few people..but a magnificent location and everyone was very nice.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a pretty loud train passing thru, sounds like its in your room..Mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Congratulations on your daughter's wedding and marriage! Thank you for sharing your review. We are so proud to have Stacey on our team: she is an expert when it comes to helping brides with every detail. We have had our maintenance team and the elevator service company look at the elevator that was acting up. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
212 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
West Point Motel
West Point Motel
#1 of 2 in Highland Falls
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Property: The Thayer Hotel
Address: 674 Thayer Rd, West Point, NY 10996-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing