We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My return to West Point included staying at the Thayer Hotel”
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My return to West Point included staying at the Thayer Hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I am a retired federal civil servant with over 35+ years total service, and decided a few months ago to go back to where my government career began 40+ years ago - as a permanent party US Army solider in support of the corps of cadets. I arrived on Friday, 11/22/13, for a two night stay at the Thayer Hotel to meet with a few old friends to reminisce and explore West Point as tourists. The weekend went well. My stay at the Thayer Hotel was excellent, the staff warm and courteous, the accommodations comfortable, and the overall experience great. After 40+ years I forgot how breathtakingly beautiful West Point is and staying at the Thayer Hotel made my return special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your service, and supporting the Corps of Cadets. West Point is unlike any other establishment, and our Nation is building future leaders with ethics and values. The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point uses the same principles to train staff members, and brings an unrivaled hotel experience. Our staff is some of the kindest people around, and guests can sense their authenticity. Located on the same grounds of the Academy, The Historic Thayer Hotel serves as a perfect home base for those visiting West Point, and brings the experience of seeing our Nation’s training grounds to another level. It was a true honor to have you with us, and to make your return to West Point memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    252
    112
    49
    55
See reviews for
282
319
35
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My niece was married at West Point last weekend. We all stayed at the Thayer, on campus. Can't say enough for the hospitality that we experienced from the bellhops, Jasmine in Bistro 1926, Valerie in the dining room (she loves Sam Adams Winterfest beer - I am certain of this), Meghan at the wedding bar, Jennifer and Charles and Megan at the desk and Drew, the manager. What a personable and helpful bunch. These are the kinds of people that you think of afterward - and wish well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are glad to host your niece’s wedding at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point, and wish her a happy marriage with many years to come. As we are located on the grounds of The United States Military Academy, we strive to mirror the service and respect the military personnel show. The Thayer Team puts guests first, and puts in enormous effort to ensure that each stay is comfortable and memorable. Each department and staff member plays a vital role in a satisfactory stay. Our dinning, such as Bistro 1926 and MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant are reminders of the hallowed grounds we reside one (and serve great food, too!). Thank you again for your kind words about our staff, and for your support of our hotel. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We did not stay overnight. I've been to the hotel twice, once for the champagne brunch and to meet with the events manager.
I really like this place. My daughter says it reminds her of Hogwarts. Stunning views of the river and the surroundings. I love the historic decor and glamour but specially the food.
Sunday brunch is amazing. Their salmon in shrimp sauce is so delicious!!! Everything in the buffet is great and so is the service. They have a banana foster station!
We booked our daughter's sweet sixteen at the Thayer and the catering manager Lexi has been great to work with.
Looking forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneybeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Happy Sixteenth Birthday to your daughter, and we are happy you choose to celebrate the occasion with us. Also, thank you for choosing our dining outlet, specifically MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant, to join in on Sunday Champagne Brunch. MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant serves one of the best Sunday Champagne Brunches in the Hudson Valley, and has a phenomenal staff cooking up salmon, banana foster, and classic breakfast items. The hotel itself was built in 1926 and still remains castle-like to this day. It is the perfect location for bride’s to have their storybook wedding that they’ve always dreamed of, and is a great venue to make every guest of honor feel royal. We hope to have you back to The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had our wedding at the Thayer in October. The setting was gorgeous with the river and the fall foliage. The staff was very accommodating and we had a wonderful weekend. Lexi organized our event which included reserving hotel rooms, choosing a menu and planning a breakfast for the morning after the wedding. Everything was wonderful, delicious, clean and the staff was very diligent. Our room was magnificent, we are very happy with the Thayer!

Room Tip: All the rooms are ice but the suites are definitely worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for choosing The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point as your storybook destination for your wedding. October is a wonderful month to marry, for fall foliage in the Hudson Valley serves as a magnificent backdrop. Our Catering Staff is well versed in planning and preparing milestone events, such as weddings, which helps make for a stress-free event day. From the initial conversation with our planners, to when the last guest leaves The Thayer Hotel, our staff goes out of their way to provide five star services and a memorable experience. We congratulate you once more on your wedding, and hope that each time you think of The Thayer Hotel, you are reminded of the outstanding experience you had with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on the grounds of West Point annually over 15 years for an annual scottish country dance ball. The service was always friendly, but during renovations and before the hotel came under new management, it had a sort of run down air to it. This time we got a room with a river view and were appropriately advised that it was above the outside bar and that trains passed by during the night, so it might be a little noisy. The bar closed at 2 and the train added to the nostalgic feel of the place. The hotel added a little cafe to the lobby area, which was a nice touch.

The room was well-appointed, the bed was comfortable, there was wi-fi in the room and there were enough outlets for electronic gadgets. There was a personal Keurig machine in the bathroom. The dinner buffet meal was copious and had nice touches, but it was not gourmet (I do not know if that was due to the banquet manager or to the organizers.) The brunch was basic and okay. The service remains friendly and helpful, including the porters. Entering the grounds of West Point was not difficult when we said we were going to the hotel. All in all the hotel is being well-maintained in a reasonable modern fashion while maintaining its traditional appeal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyJ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
From all of us at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point, we extend our gratitude for your annual revisit to our establishment. In recent years, the hotel has seen multi-million dollar renovations to bring this historical property to modern times. Upgrades include Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, new Executive Suites, and state-of-the-art audio-visual technology in meeting spaces. One of the most unique additions to the property is our Room Dedication Program. This program honors distinguished West Point graduates such as Brigadier General (Retired) Pete Dawkins and Colonel (Retired) Buzz Aldrin. A great item featured in all our guest rooms is a wonderful book, “West Point Leadership: Profiles of Courage” by Dan Rice, which highlights various iconic West Point graduates. Stay in one of our dedicated rooms, and read an in-depth overview of the honoree in Dan Rice’s book. This unique experience can’t be duplicated at any other property. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in your next visit to the Hudson Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Thayer is ob the banks Hugh above the Hudson River at West Point. The views are incredibly beautiful. The hotel has such potential but lacks greatly in service. The hotel seemed void of staff, and the food was very mediocre. They need to attend their own leadership program.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We appreciate you staying with us during your visit to the Hudson Valley, and for your feedback on our services and staff. The incredible views of the Hudson River can be seen from all ten of our meeting spaces and our three dining outlets. The best view is undoubtedly from Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge located on The Historic Thayer Hotel. While on Zulu Time, you can enjoy breathtaking views and a unique ambience. This outlet serves as a great space for social gatherings and corporate meetings alike. For staffing, our employees are mandated to enroll in our Excellence Training Program, and required to renew every six months. This helps reinforce our vision, mission, and values. In addition, we incorporate feedback from guests to the program and discuss how to improve for next time. It will be a great pleasure to have you stay with us once more to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We selected The Thayer because we wanted to be in the midst of all of the wedding activity and fun and be able to relax between events. The service was fabulous and everyone was welcoming. When I made the reservation and again when I checked in, the staff made sure to let me know that the river view rooms were overlooking the Zulu Bar and also that trains run through the night and can be loud. All of this was true--but we didn't mind. You simply need to be aware of it. The food here was spectacular--from the bartenders to the servers--everyone was wonderful and managed multiple events with what appeared to be ease. The room was clean and well appointed. Only complaint was the a problem with the shower, which I addressed at check-out. The views are spectacular.

Room Tip: Be aware of the Zulu bar and the noise from the train if you stay on the river side of the hotel. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are happy to have celebrated to milestone event with you, and thank you for choosing The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. Having a wedding with us offers brides and grooms the opportunity to have a fairy-tale wedding in a castle-like building. We enjoy every aspect of hosting a wedding, and are glad we could celebrate the occasion with you. With 151 luxury guest rooms, we can accommodate friends and family, so they don’t have to miss a moment of the evening. Our staff is very friendly and knowledgeable in their respective fields, and will go every measure to make sure that each guest receives the service they deserve. Front Desk Representatives make sure to notify each guest at check-in that the train passes a historical station and will sound its whistle. Our guests are of the utmost importance to us, and we want to make sure you have a positive and memorable stay. We extend our wishes to the newly married couple, and invite them back to enjoy our Romantic Getaway Package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
207 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
739 reviews
1.0 mi away
West Point Motel
West Point Motel
#1 of 2 in Highland Falls
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Property: The Thayer Hotel
Address: 674 Thayer Rd, West Point, NY 10996-1906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing