We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thayer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks along with a large group of work colleagues training at West Point.
Was very impressed with the standard of rooms and the decoration of the hotel with lots of Military history. The view from the restaurant onto the Hudson river was beautiful - even in the dull weather.
The wifi within the hotel was quite pricey at $9.99 a day, and they offered a group rate of $6.99 a day but everyone in the group would have to agree to it, still pricey when we were there for 2 weeks.
Breakfast was included in our stay and was impressed with this, with hot & cold options, and the staff were always so pleasant to serve us with a smile in the mornings.
I ate once in the restaurant and was impressed with the standard of room and ate once in the bar and my eyes were bigger than my belly and ordered way too much, reasonably priced for the food served.
The foyer offers free internet - which made up for the pricey wifi and a service that told you of all local shops/restaurants/things to do etc.
A few of my colleagues had rooms facing the river which sadly has a main rail line passing it and decides to sound the horn early hours of the morning.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room that doesn't face the river - dependent on how light a sleeper you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aishlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point during your two week long training at West Point. The hotel is modeled after The United States Military Academy’s architecture, and honors the great leaders that paved the way of our Nation. We are thrilled to hear that our dining outlets have impressed you, and that we had the opportunity to cater to your culinary needs. MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant, General Patton’s Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge each offer unique atmospheres and menu selections, and play a part in honoring our Nation’s history. We are also happy to hear that you found our selections adequately priced and the portions generous. It would be our please, once again, to welcome you back to The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    247
    107
    48
    54
See reviews for
267
309
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I chose the Thayer Hotel because I wanted to be on the U.S. Military Academy campus. One must pass Academy security to access the Thayer. The rate was fine. The room was good. The photos and stories of the graduates outside each room were interesting. The best aspects of the hotel were its setting by the Hudson River and the restaurant. The food was excellent at dinner and breakfast. Wine selection was limited but decent. The wine price mark up was higher than normal, however. One annoying aspect was the motion sensors in the rooms that turned the lights on when sensing motion. The lights turned off several minutes after the sensors did not detect motion.

It was a nice experience for my only trip to West Point.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasteful1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point for your overnight accommodations during your recent trip to visit The United States Military Academy. Being on the same grounds as the Academy, The Thayer Hotel not only offers guests five star service in a beautiful location, but an abundance of history, too. Our Room Dedication Program delivers an exclusive opportunity to stay in rooms honoring great West Point graduations, such as: Colonel Buzz Aldrin, Brigadier General Pete Dawkins, and General Martin Dempsey. These honorees donate memorabilia to showcase in their dedicated room, such as original awards, medals, and newspaper articles. We would love to welcome you back to our property, and hope that you stay in one of our most special rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent one night at the Thayer while kayaking in the area. Very charming hotel and property. Our room appeared to be recently renovated and was comfortable and nicely decorated. Unfortunately, as other reviews have stated, our room, although on the 5th floor, looked out over the river and Zulu roof top bar and lounge. Although we did go to Zulu we were not there until closing time of 2am. Music stopped around 11:00 but all the noise traveled up to our room until closing at 2:00. Some people said the train noise bothered them if you are on the river side. That didn't seem to bother us as much. The night we were there they had 3 weddings going on. If you are a part of one of weddings you will more than likely be a part of the crowd up late but if not and you are a light sleeper, get a room on the other side of the hotel. We had dinner at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant and it was very good. It would have been nice to eat on the terrace but it was full. When I called and asked about dress code I was told it was casual and some people come in flip flops. We did not go in flip flops nor were we too causal and I'm glad we didn't. The ambiance of the restaurant leans towards dress casual with sundress/dress pants for ladies and khaki/collared shirt for men (jacket optional). Overall, a very nice stay and we would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms that do NOT face the river or Zulu lounge will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymomNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point for your accommodations during your kayaking trip. Our guestrooms were recently renovated, and will be seeing additional upgrades in the near future. One of the most unique programs at The Historic Thayer Hotel is our Room Dedication Program. This program sets our property apart from other historic hotels in which we highlight and honor the most distinguished graduates of West Point. Guests have the opportunity to stay in rooms honoring Brigadier General Pete Dawkins, Colonel Buzz Aldrin, and General Roscoe Robinson. Another unique element of The Historic Thayer Hotel is our dining outlet, Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. Our seasonal outlet welcomes guests to dine and drink while overlooking the Hudson River. We hope that you choose The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point for your accommodations when you return back to the Hudson Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel has made some significant changes and are moving in the right direction. I stayed at this property a year before and the service was not up to par for what the hotel boasted to be. This year was very different ! From the moment I arrived, beginning with the valet and ending with the bell staff, check in was seamless. The room I requested was waiting and the amenities were very good. This year the hotel has switched to a "resort fee" that includes the valet, internet access, fitness facilities, and a morning cup of coffee. Much better than last time of being nickel and dimed for every service. The only problem was room service, and that didn't have anything to do with the quality of the food, just that it took over an hour. Overall a very nice stay, and I much appreciated the improvements in service and friendliness. Keep it up! Maybe next on the list would be to work on soundproofing the rooms from the frequent train noise.

Room Tip: Room that faces away from the river and train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are delighted to hear your feedback, and to have you seen us grow over the last year. Our entire staff has made significant strides in improving the quality of service our guests receive. Our owners have committed to various renovations and upgrades, and it is wonderful to hear positive feedback from our valued guests. Our Food and Beverage team has also welcomed new chefs to the kitchen, many of which have graduated from the Culinary Institute of America. Our Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage have come up with some truly creative dishes for all three of our dining outlets: MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant, General Patton’s Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. Again, it is our pleasure to have you stay with us, and can’t wait to welcome you back when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Thayer on June 20th for a wedding. The hotel and grounds are absolutely beautiful. One of the oldest I've ever stayed in and seriously awesome. The food at the wedding left a little to be desired, as did the breakfast buffet the following morning. Not terrible, just kinda mass produced, you could tell everything came frozen off of a Sysco truck.
Rooms where simple and clean and the rooftop bar, Zulutime, was pretty cool (lame crowd). Staff was great, bartenders, reception, etc.. Everyone was super cool and accommodating.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imperialtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for attending the wedding, and for staying at The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. We have a wonderful Maintenance Team that keeps our property grounds looking presentable, and running properly. Our Horticulturist, a plant expert, keeps our grounds looking beautiful, so wedding parties are able to capture that priceless photo. One longstanding tradition is for bridal parties, and wedding attendees, to enjoy our renowned Sunday Champagne Brunch the morning after the wedding. Our Food and Beverage Team will be made aware of your feedback for the less than desired food quality at the wedding, and review the events of the night to make improvements. We will also pass along comments about our staff being extremely accommodating, and hope to have you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We attended my niece's wedding at this hotel. The outdoor setting for the ceremony was beautiful but the actual ceremony was marred by the unrelenting noise from the trains passing the hotel. We thought the food was mediocre at best. Everything was stale and tasteless. Poorly prepared. The silverware was dirty and servers who dropped silverware on the floor just picked the pieces up and placed them back on the table! The rooms were not clean. The bathrooms could use updating. Two Q-tips remained on the carpeting in the hallway leading to our room for our entire stay of 3 days. We ate several meals at the hotel and my entire extended family was astonished by the poor quality of the food.

Room Tip: Don't book a room with a view of the river. You will not be able to sleep as the loud trains pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosebudNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly very sorry that you did not receive the excellent service that we are known for, and that you deserve as one of our guests. I have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping Manager, the Executive Chef and the Food and Beverage Director so that we can use your feedback towards process improvement. In the past few weeks we have hired another Executive Sous Chef who is a Culinary Instituate of America graduate, and hope that his addition to our team will continue to increase the quality and impressiveness of our culinary offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I had the occasion to stay at The Thayer to attend a wedding at West Point. Staff is friendly and efficient. Bellmen services are outstanding as it valet parking. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. We had a room over looking the Hudson. We were advised of the train 'noise' but this was not a problem. I thought he breakfast buffet was a little steep but it is in line with other 5 star hotels. If I ever to West point again I will surely stay at The Thayer. Stayed there for the convenience of visiting West Point.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you will not want a room with a view of the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at The Thayer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
It was a pleasure to host you and the other wedding guests at our venue, and thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review of your experience with us. Our entire staff is mandated to take our Service Excellence Program, and renew every six months, to ensure that our customer service skills stay sharp. Our Bellmen are dedicated to assisting guests as they arrive to the hotel, and providing exceptional service. Also, our Front Desk Representatives are well equipped to inform guests of the historic train that passes by our hotel that sounds its whistle in remembrance of the historical station, South Dock. Both are components that factor into an enjoyable, relaxing stay. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you return to West Point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Point
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
6.3 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
23.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Property: The Thayer Hotel
Address: 674 Thayer Road, West Point, NY 10996
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thayer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing