We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a quiet anniversary getaway”
Review of Ashokan Dreams B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Shokan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashokan Dreams B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 West Shokan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband and I celebrated our first year of marriage at Ashokan Dreams, and we could not have had a better anniversary! It was the perfect, quiet, Catskills getaway. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Anne-Marie is a fantastic host who is lovely to talk to--it's obvious she cares about her community and of course, that you're taken care of while you stay with her.

You can tell that Anne-Marie pays attention to detail, which translates into a really nice guest experience. We appreciated that she stocks natural (e.g. Kiss My Face) toiletries and provides you with a bottle of wine to welcome you. The Reservoir Suite is the way to go. It is impeccably clean, has a fireplace, and big windows that face the Ashokan Reservoir. Our favorite part was relaxing on the patio, drinking wine, and just looking out onto the reservoir with the mountains in the background.

If you're looking for a beautiful, quiet getaway from the daily grind, this is your place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I just returned from 2 nights at a small B&B in West Shokan, NY called "Ashokan Dreams" which sits approximately 1/4 mile above the Ashokan Reservoir. Managed by a wonderful host and hostess, Chet and Anne-Marie, we were greeted on Saturday morning after a late Fri night check-in with a delicious breakfast delivered to our room. This was repeated Sunday morning - Anne Marie is quite the gourmet cook. This B&B is lovely with incredible views of the reservoir and surrounding mountains. For a couple who are searching for the perfect place to get married - this is an absolutely beautiful setting and venue for a small - mid size wedding. Highly recommend Ashokan Dreams.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnandkarend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My boyfriend and I had an AMAZING weekend here. The location is serene and intimate. We stayed in the Reservoir Suite which was beautifully decorated. The room is perfectly furnished, complete with a TV and board games. Anne-Marie is a wonderful hostess and cook, and everything was perfect. Would love to come back here during the summer months and truly enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwnyc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were looking for a very specific type of a place to celebrate New Years - requirements were hot tub, good views and a fireplace. When I came across Ashokan Dreams, this place looked perfect.

We stayed in the reservoir suite for one night - dec31-jan1.

The room was beautiful, the hot tub always on, the bed was comfy and the ambiance was romantic.

There's a TV and DVD player, all kinds of games and dart board - you won't get bored

There were a couple of things that were not so great:

1. There are NO curtains anywhere which is fine if no one has access to your side of the suite where the windows are almost floor to cieling. However some people peaked into our room, thankfully we were dressed but the option of curtains would be nice

2. When people upstairs were walking, it sounded like the cieling would collapse. It also woke us up early on New Year's Day so keep that in mind

3. We discussed using the hot tub at midnight for New Years and were told that was ok over the phone - upon getting to the place, we were told that all lights turn off at 11 and we can't be in there past that time- we also had to open and close the tub ourselves - just FYI

Breakfast consisted of eggs and cheddar cheese and muffins with apples and raisins

Breakfast is left for you on a staircase so it's nice not to have to socialize but you also can't ask for extra things like water or butter

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay but it would have been nice to know the above things.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nytravelcouple24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My husband and I returned for our annual visit at the Reservoir Suite and were once again awed by the views, accommodations, hospitality, breakfasts, privacy and natural splendor of the Catskills. The bed is positively the most comfortable we have ever slept on! The care and attention Anne-Marie brings to the suite and her scrumptious breakfasts are unsurpassed! She even surprised us with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary! We loved bike riding on the paths surrounding the Ashokan Reservoir and had a great picnic in the park. Sure hope the towns decide to convert the abandoned railroad beds in the area to bike paths! Next time we might even bring our fishing rods and try our luck in the pristine water. If you love a gorgeous natural setting for your vacations without sacrificing the pleasures of a 5-star hotel, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want access to a HUGE and incredible outdoor hot tub and indoor fireplace, book the Reservoir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted to take a last-minute trip to the Woodstock area and we were lucky to stumble on to the Ashokan Dream which had availability.

We stayed in the Garden room which was cozy and a good size for two people. Charmingly decorated and also had a lot of small touches that indicated thought about the comfort of guests. And the shower was great, nice water pressure!

The setting is probably the knockout though, with a ginormous stone gazebo and amazing view of the Reservoir. The place is totally out of the way and has a real country feel to it. Anne-Marie was very pleasant but also did her own thing which I like in a B&B, and the breakfast was delicious, great french toast/berries and strong coffee and fresh juice.

All in all a great value and a strong recommend if you are looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester K, Owner at Ashokan Dreams B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you! As guests in our home we are delighted to share the uniqueness of these historic structures and the magic of Ashokan Dreams with you. As your hosts we strive to make you comfortable and share the best of the Catskill Mountains with you. Please come again! Anne-Marie and Chester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We just completed our 3rd stay at Ashokan Dreams B&B! Our first stay was during our honeymoon. We are absolutely thrilled to have spent another refreshing weekend there! Anne-Marie is a perfect hostess. She had every contingency covered - we lacked for nothing during our stay. The view, the decor, the privacy, the quiet & peaceful atmosphere, the breakfasts, the whole spirit of the place is revitalizing! I highly recommend it, and plan to return there myself!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Reservoir Suite which has a phenomenal view of the Ashokan Reservoir and a great de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ashokan Dreams B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashokan Dreams B&B

Address: 111 High Point Mountain Rd, West Shokan, NY 12494-5337
Region: United States > New York > West Shokan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Shokan
Price Range: £130 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic converted Catskill Mountain barn with breathtaking mountain and reservoir views in a quiet country setting. Decorated in rustic comfort reminiscent of the Adirondack "Great Camps", we are close to Phoenicia, Woodstock, Kingston and High Falls, NY. We are located in the heart of the Catskill Forest Preserve and convenient to the Ashokan Center, Hunter Mountain and Belleayre Mountain. Enjoy world class dining or the many nearby arts, music and outdoor activities of the Catskills. The Reservoir Suite has stunning reservoir views with a stone fireplace and private patio. The romantic Meadow Suite overlooks the Ashokan Reservoir and Catskill Mountains. The spacious Garden Suite has mountain and garden views with a private entrance. Explore our 30 acre property with stone gazebos, pond and stream or venture out to the Forest Preserve or quaint towns or villages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing