We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff/Limited common spaces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Every staff person was helpful, friendly or like Louis, solicitous to the max. Even the restaurant staff went the extra mile to accommodate our large group when they realized we'd be cramped in the central eating area. The rooms and food were also very good. Only complaint was that the hotel does not have a large enough meeting area for guests to socialize outside of the eating/bar area. We ended up using some less attractive side rooms, but would've loved a more appealing, comfortable space. Also, the area around the hotel has no appeal or place to wander around.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed similar, so shouldn't be a problem. Luckily, we received a balcony of whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennisaceWayne_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fantastic 3 day weekend!!! From the minute I entered the parking lot and was greeted by the fantastic Louis to the minute I checked out and received cold water bottles for the ride home from Louis - and everything in between - My 2 daughters and myself went for the Spajama Party package. Hotel grounds and lobby spotless and inviting. Check in personnel friendly, professional and accommodating. Francine did our manis and pedis very personable we had lots of fun. Dinner in Marco Polo was a tad pricey but very delicious - kudos to the chef the buffalo wings were very crispy as well as Sweet Chili Shrimp Salad. Bathrooms very clean also rooms clean and comfy. We enjoyed massages (thank you Jen) used Zen Room multiple times as well as hot tub, sauna and swim in place pool. 4 minute walk to NYCB Theatre for a concert. I highly recommend Viana Hotel for your next getaway and I myself will definitely return. Manager runs a classy establishment with courteous and always attentive staff. Louis loves his job making guests feel at home.
10 stars in my opinion

Room Tip: We had room 318 non parking lot side - however no views from any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I needed a one-night stay on July 23, 2014 near Old Westbury and chose this hotel based on good reviews. The Viana did not disappoint. The staff is welcoming and very helpful, and the entire atmosphere is like the fine boutique hotel it is. Rooms are roomy and comfortable, bathrooms are large. Friends tell me the Viana offers very good spa facilities as well. A real find for the area at a price that compares with the usual array of mid-level chains.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PeterAL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very clean, eco friendly hotel. However some of the staff need to sharpen their customer service skills and the location has high end escorts in and out at all times and I witnessed suspicious activity in the parking lot several times. Hotel restaurant cooked dry burgers and tasteless wings (should not get those east to do items wrong).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjharrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viana1, General Manager at Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Viana Hotel and Spa for your stay on Long Island last fall; it was a pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you.



We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your experience. In the time since you have stayed we have continued to work with our staff on those skills you mentioned and we believed if you gave us another opportunity to host you the difference would be striking. Our Restaurant has undergone may changes as well. We have changed many menu items and have revamped recipes for some of our staple items. Both the kitchen and service staff has also received ongoing training. We think you would be pleased with the upgrades and polished service.




In regards to your comments about the suspicious activity in the parking lot and high end escorts in and out at all times we can assure you that there are no such issues occurring here. Our parking lot is well lit, surrounded by security cameras and walked by our security personnel. If we knew of any unsavory characters entering the property they would be removed immediately. The Viana has a an excellent safety record and we take our guests comfort and security very seriously! This is actually a very serious allegation frankly that we don't take lightly at all.




Once again we are sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations; perhaps we will have the opportunity in the future to correct that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed the weekend when we were in Long Island for a wedding.
What a wonderful hotel!
The room was lovely. It was spacious and comfortable, very clean.
It had a large and modern bathroom with a fabulous shower, although no
bath tub.

But, what made this hotel superior to most hotels that we have been at was the extremely accommodating staff!
The staff at the Viana went out of their way to give us amazing service.
They made us feel like very valued guests rather than customers.
There was nothing that they wouldn't do to please us. And.... they even remembered our names.

Although every staff member that we encountered was wonderful, there was one individual that was beyond compare. His name is "Louis" and this man deserves an award!
I'm not really sure what his actual job description is because he did EVERYTHING. I don't think there was a job there that he did not do and he did it all with a smile. He made us feel so cared about that we were sad to say goodbye to him! He was THAT wonderful! We're already missing him!!

The bar/lounge was a very "hopping" place and was alive with people till the wee hours of the morning.
The breakfast buffet was good, although not included in the price of the room.

We would definitely return to this very wonderful hotel and give it an A+.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Viana 7/19/14 for our cousins wedding. We have stayed at many hotel chains for weddings over the years, but the Viana was a definitely a head above the rest. The accommodations were beautiful. We stayed in a standard king room. VERY spacious, modern, and clean. Any amenity you could think of was in that room! Cordless phones, free internet,etc. I thoroughly enjoyed getting ready while my husband was with the bridal party. I completely lost track of time (as usual) and missed my shuttle to Jericho Terrace. I was fully prepared to drive myself there, when a member of the staff, Mike, offered to take me to the reception! I couldn't believe how kind and accommodating they were! I'll tell you right now, none of the other chain hotels we stayed at would have done that! We had an amazing time at the wedding and partied all night at the bar in the Viana with our family til 3AM! Thank you to the wonderful staff who made our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elaina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our wedding reception was at the Woodbury Country Club, so we wanted to pick a romantic, yet affordable hotel in the area. After seeing the hotel and meeting with the staff, the Viana Hotel was the obvious choice. We booked the Viana several months in advance and were able to secure a block of rooms for our friends, family, and bridal party. Viana promised to comp our wedding night if we filled our block of 15 rooms and sure enough, we filled it and they comped that night!

The night before the wedding, we stayed in separate suites which were very spacious and clean. Our photographer arrived early enough that we were able to take advantage of the suite for pictures with our bridal party. (high recommended!)

The front desk staff was very accommodating and one of the bell hops (Louis) quickly recognized us when we arrived. Louis was very, very nice and very hard working. He was willing to do whatever we needed and provided water bottles to our guests. He took very good care of the bride and her family and made checking out painless. Please tip Louis generously when you first meet him. It'll be the best money you spend all weekend!

On the morning of the wedding, the groom and groomsmen played pool in the game room. The bar tender outside of the game room provided a complimentary beverage to celebrate the special day. How nice! The bride had no issues when her hair and make-up arrived. The hotel made sure they were comfortable.

Overall, the Viana is a very nice hotel in a prime location. Make sure you book very far in advance if you're planning on using it for your wedding. We didn't utilize the gym or spa, but both areas were very nice and available for use!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
4.7 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
5.6 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
628 reviews
3.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#2 of 4 in Garden City
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: 3998 Brush Hollow Road, Westbury, NY 11590 (Formerly Viana Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Westbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Price Range: £103 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Viana Hotel & Spa! We are a member of the exclusive Small Luxury Hotels of the World and a LEED certified green hotel that has made a commitment to sustainability. Viana Hotel & Spa offers stylish and modern accommodations with luxurious amenities in every room. Our vibrant and colorful decor transmits the feeling of a tropical retreat in the heart of Long Island. Our layout has been carefully thought out to include feng shui, increased harmony, and an enhanced sense of vitality and joy. We are one of the area's only luxury boutique hotels that is energy efficient, green built, and feng shui based. We offer and unique and engaging alternative to small luxury hotels in the areas of Nassau County, Manhattan, and Suffolk County. We have many on-site amenities that are sure to provide the right balance of relaxation and enjoyment for your vacation. Our guests enjoy an atmosphere of peace and calm that is complimented by the zen-like design of each guest room. Special features of our hotel and spa include a rejuvenating spa, a full service beauty and nail salon, a state of the art fitness center and indoor lap pool, and a renowned casual restaurant with Italian/Asian fusion cuisine. Come enjoy our fresh approach to hospitality that ensure our guests' comfort is always attended to in style. We greatly anticipate your visit! Viana Hotel & Spa is a BW Premier Collection member and offers BW rewards points good towards free room stays. BW Rewards(R) members can earn points from a great selection of preferred partners, like Apple, or United Airlines amongst dozens of others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viana Hotel Westbury
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection Westbury, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing