We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, but overkill on the lighting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Certificate of Excellence
Belmar N.J.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great location, but overkill on the lighting”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

stayed at this Hilton property as it was convenient to our destination. The property had plenty of parking, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Upon entering our room, we noticed the overall dark tone of the living room area, so we proceeded to turn on our lights. The overhead was fluorescent, the lamps were also fluorescent, and so was all the bedroom lighting. The only room that was bright was the bathroom! The bulbs either were not bright enough, or they need to try a different lighting system. The whole tone or atmosphere was gloomy dark.
We also tried the bar and it was great, they have a great bartender.

Room Tip: ask for a free upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpendejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel's location and bar. I am sorry to hear of your poor experience with the guest room lighting. I agree the dark blue accent walls can cause the rooms to feel a bit dark. We are currently working to upgrade all of our lighting to higher wattage bulbs. We hope you will come see us again soon so we can give you a brighter experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    187
    57
    32
    20
See reviews for
220
119
38
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Breakfast made this place happen. Hate the air beds. half don't work. not nice at check in decent location with quite halls. good size room. OK TV and internet. Dark lot and rooms have poor view in the back of the hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback from your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of your displeasure with our Garden Sleep System beds as well as the sub standard welcome from our Front Desk. I will be sure to follow up with the Agent that checked you in. We will certainly use your feeback to improve our guests' experience. Please feel free to contact me directly should you decide to give us another shot the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you are in the area, it is just fine but could be improved. The first floor room we were given was very noisy, primarily because it was across from a Staff Housekeeping room that was opened at all hours (and door slammed). We had specifically requested a quiet room and it was hard to see how this could be considered quiet (better than an ice maker I suppose). You could also hear people in the other room, kind of unusual these days with newer hotels. But the room was big and fine -- the paper cups kind of annoying and the pool was ice cold and the hot tub no bubbles. Friendly front desk staff (actually seemed like just one person the entire time) though she assured us the room was quiet. The walk to the train to New York was easy, and there are lots of restaurants near by (most are not walking distance) though there is a very sketchy hotel around the corner that was a little too close for comfort. There are not many choices in the area so if you are here for a reason (wedding for us), this will generally work ok.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostontodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback via TripAdvisor. We will use your comments in our ongoing training to provide the best service in Westbury. I am sorry to hear of your experience with the pool and noisy neighbors. The Heater was actually fixed yesterday so it is back up to 80 degrees. I am happy to hear you found our staff to be helpful and hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok, square cookies in lobby are good but ROOMS ARE DARK AT NIGHT - NO READING LIGHTS!?! Lamps have weak lame and dim cheesy bulbs - not even close to sufficient to illuminate the room - could not even tell black from brown from navy to lay out clothes for work tomorrow much less read - big fail.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing the feedback via TripAdvisor. We will certainly use your suggestions to help improve our guest experiences. We are currently working to increase the illumination wattage in all of our guest rooms, we have about 1/2 the hotel done and expect to finish the rest of the hotel shortly. We hope you will come and see us again so we can deliver a brighter experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

very nice room, very nice staff, very nice stay. beautiful facility in a most convenient location. was impressed by the hotel appearance and the room as well. clean and comfortable also. very much enjoyed my stay and will use Hilton again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank for for the Nice Review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterville NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Been coming to this property off and on since 2009. Always a great experience. Nice clean rooms, very friendly front desk, and even the morning wait staff takes the time to learn your name and favorite way you like your eggs cooked.

Recommended highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjharrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing such nice feedback. We are proud to be your go to hotel in the area and appreciate your loyalty. I'll be sure to thank the breakfast crew for the great service. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This trip was for a family reunion held at Eisenhower Park, which was close by. Hotel was convenient, check in was expedient, rooms were nice mini-suites. Very nice breakfast; usually Hilton Golds get a continental breakfast complimentary and have to pay extra for anything cooked, but this hotel included everything. Shopping and museums are in walking distance. Small but nice gym and pool. On the expensive side but may be par for the area. I would readily stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank docmom3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Westbury, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear the hotel was a good fit for your family reunion. Our staff truly enjoyed taking care of your family. We're glad you all enjoyed the hotel, restaurant, and close proximity to the malls & Eisenhower Park. We hope you will come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbury
2.6 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carle Place - Garden City
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Garden City
Hampton Inn Garden City
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Long Island
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Westbury Long Island
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Garden City
Hyatt Place Garden City
#1 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Westbury

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Westbury
Address: 1575 Privado Rd, Westbury, NY 11590-5202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Westbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Westbury 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury Hotel Westbury
Westbury Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Westbury
Hilton Garden Inn Westbury New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing