We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!!”

Cupsogue Beach County Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hagaman, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We've been to this Suffolk County park several times now and we'll be back . The only drawback is the two lane, long ,slow drive in and out through Westhampton's Dune Road. The facilities at the beach are quite good. Nice changing and shower/bath rooms, a very good snack bar (and bar!) as well as live music several times a week. The beach is white sand with shells and rocks mixed in ( depending on the tide ) guarded by some of the friendliest and most qualified lifeguards on Long Island ( this crew has won awards!!) Crowded on weekends so get there early...I would suggest trying to be there before 10am. There is also camping available here .. details on their website.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KDFaustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    18
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Beach with clean sand!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A popular beach with clean sand and clear waters. Be prepared to wait on a long line along Dune Rd to get in. Leave early and get there before 10:30am otherwise you may find yourself being turned away. $15 parking, good snack bar and ok bathrooms. We picked a bunch of seashells and soft rocks along the waters edge. A wonderful beach for families. A+

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LMPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC area
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, long wait to park”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The beach is long and wide, well maintained, great snack bar and good food with minimal wait, clean bathrooms and changing rooms. Long, long wait to park. Only one road in and only one parking lot so we were in line over half and hour to pay to park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sbfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach with bands and a bar”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We make annual trips to this beach and enjoyed the sandcastle contest this year. The surf can be rough so I think this beach is relaxing for families with older children. However, there are great life guards who take their jobs very seriously and plenty of families with small children. We come to this beach because it's beautiful, the water is always refreshing, and to enjoy the bands and the bar! It's $15 to park for those without the pass to the park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aruba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calverton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We love this beach”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are fortunate to have an exceptional four wheel drive vehicle and take every opportunity to visit the beaches. Cupsogue is one of our favorites and we hope that someone rebuilds what was lost in that terrible hurricane. We saw seals the last time we were there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cupsogue Beach County Park also viewed

Westhampton Beach, Long Island
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Cupsogue Beach County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing