We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Clean accomodations close to all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, New York
1 review
“Quaint and Clean accomodations close to all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Grassmere Inn. Staff was friendly. Wonderful gourmet breakfast was provided. Rooms were pretty and uniquely decorated. Wonderful clean accomodations. Walk to town and beaches.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna13088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    96
    26
    16
    27
See reviews for
74
141
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

The Grassmere is one of the most cozy places I stayed in the Hampton
The location which is walking distance from the village allows you to have a very relaxing walk and enjoying the trendy shops in town.
The service is also one of the highlights....the people makes you feel part of the family and not like an additional guest.
We enjoyed the entire week we spent at the Grassmere :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Very warm atmosphere. Quaint accomodations. The staff provides personal attention. The town of Westhampton Beach is delightful. The center of town is a five minute walk from the Grassmere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

I have stayed at the Grassmere several times, except for a few short breaks in the spring/summer, I've always stayed at least a month at the time, sometimes way longer than that.
When it comes to location, you simply can't beat the Grassmere. Sure there's not a ton of places around it open in the winter, but that's just how the Hamptons are. You can walk to the beach in 5-10 minutes, you can sit on the patio in the summer and just enjoy the sun, and you have all restaurants and bars of WHB just minutes away. There's literally no need to ever use your car while staying at the Inn, unless you are going to take the train, which is $10 in a cab, or a 5 minute drive to the station either at Westhampton or Speonk.

If you come out there expecting the Hyatt or the Four Seasons, you will be disappointed for sure - the building is older (just like everything in the Hamptons...) and the rooms are smaller, which to many people (me included) just makes it a lot more charming.

The staff (and the owner, Peter) were very helpful and always accommodated any requests I had, and also several times shuttled me back and forth to the beach, LIRR and the Jitney stop by the Gabreski Airport.

I also had some spectacular weekends here with my girlfriend, and I would have to look very hard to find a more romantic spot than the Grassmere and Westhampton Beach, and I have travelled the world many times over.

I know for sure I will keep coming back year after year - to me, there's simply no competition on the East End.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas_Johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed last year and had a blast. The hotel is very cozy and you feel at home. The hotel is great located, you are just blocks away from the beach and from all the shops and restaurants.
Breakfast is great in the hotel, and the best is that you can participate in the tennis porgram they offer. They have really great tennis pros and the tennis camp help me improve my tennis and have a good time. The kids really enjoyed, now that we are back home in Germany they both wants tennis lessons everyday :-)


Would are planning already in going again this year.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesselitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

From the sweet,eager concierge who helped unload my car and ease us through an effortless check-in,the amazing welcome drinks and the fun and young Westhampton nightlife, I thought this just couldnt be real. I kept checking for some reality show camera because it was all too good to be true. Peter was there to make sure we were okay with our plans for the day of tennis at the quaint cold buffet breakfast at the inn and if we needed a lift the courts....oh....and be ready to be drilled....Eastside is serious about their tennis. The pros are hardcore! The only thing I would say to the staff about the weekend was....at the weekend barbecue....maybe a cocktail instead of lemonade?Just sayin....Moreover if you forgot tennis clothes or just want a great deal on some nike apparel, check out kimberlys on mainstreet,Grassmere Inn customers get ten to twenty percent depending on the start or end of season. I heart the Grassmere Inn!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
122 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Located smack dab in the middle of Westhampton Beach, equally between beach, food and shopping sits a lovely, gracious grand-dame of an inn. I have vacationed with my daughter and friends there for over 10 years. Have found accomodations to be clean, neat and basic, though not luxurious, with staff, including Peter Kaplan and his wife, Allison, always gracious and eager to please. Guests are quite friendly. If you want a quiet relaxing atmosphere in the middle of the hectic summer Hamptons, the Inn is for you.

Cannot speak directly to the tennis program as I am totally athletically challenged, but a friend of mine who has taken lessons in the past has told me that her lessons were taught by a top-notch pro, the courts were well kept and that transportation was provided both ways.

Great value for those looking to get away for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queensuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhampton Beach
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
8.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 Beach Ln, Westhampton Beach, NY 11978-2733
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Westhampton Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Westhampton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Westhampton Beach, the Grassmere Inn Hotel has been completely refurbished. Our 25-room hotel is the largest historic accommodation in the Hamptons. Our location in Westhampton Beach is within 75 miles of Manhattan. We offer rooms with private baths, shared baths, and suites. Daily maid service, complimentary newspapers, daily events listing, internet access, and continental breakfast are included. Afternoon beverages are served on the porch. Use of Eastside Tennis Academy is included in the various packages we offer. Beach passes are also available for our guests. The beach is within walking distance of the hotel. Use of outdoor grills, playground set and bocce ball are encouraged. No smoking in any of the buildings or on the porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmere Hotel Westhampton Beach
Grassmere Inn b&b
Grassmere Inn Bed And Breakfast Westhampton Beach, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing