We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, good food, excellent service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Normandie Beach Club
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, good food, excellent service”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We didn't stay here this time as we hadn't realised just how lovely the setting is until we saw it. The club is located on the shores of Lake Champlain and there are gorgeous views across the lake and across to the quaint little village of Westport. The resort was obviously a great place for watersport enthusiasts. We did have an anniversary meal in the Coco Cafe. The food was really good and the service was FANTASTIC. Iggy, the chef, made some fabulous desserts which were amazing. The owners were extremely friendly and hospitable. Next time we go back to this part of the US we will definitely stay here.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flossie94England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Hot room with air in only 1 room. Small bed in one room and small bunk bed in other. Spiders and cobwebs. Never stayed the night but was billed for two. How can AMEX have this place as a customer. Even after agreeing to only charge me for 1 night, I was billed for 2 and they wont budge. American Express should drop them. I am placing a complaint with the chamber of commerce and the State Attorney's office.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travilpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normandieWestport, Owner at Normandie Beach Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
These two men checked into our resort with their dog at 11:00AM and spent the day on the property, using the cottage and bedroom and enjoyed all amenities without comment. They then proceeded to our restaurant at 7PM and sat at our bar for dinner and verbally praised the food and service while chatting with the bartender and other staff, never commenting on any issue they might have had with the cottage. Upon returning to their cottage, they found that they had left the large sliding glass doors wide open and lights on in the cottage, as a result many flying insects had gravitated to the light and the cottage.

They then left the property without paying for their meal, not understanding that screen doors should be pulled to keep flying insects from entering. When the owner suggested they leave the cottage with all lights off and doors open so the bugs would leave, they got infuriated. The fact that they spent the entire day with us, used the bed and did not complain until almost midnight makes it clear that there is no bug problem in our cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed there one night on the way to Montreal. The resort had a rustic feel, and the cottages were nice. Beds were relatively thin and uncomfortable, but passable. It rained all day and night, and the fact that they had a nice indoor play area (billiards, ping pong, air hockey, board games) kept the kids entertained. Would have been much better if the weather was nicer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We had a very positive experience and plan to return soon. The staff and owners were so lovely, and very helpful. We found our cabin to be very clean and comfy. It is not a luxury resort, but that is the point. Commune with nature and each other in a natural setting, where your kids can run around safely. The boats were all well maintained, and it was a blast choosing between kayaks, row boats and sail boats.
If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton experience, you should go elsewhere, but if you want a laid-back sort of place, with lots of activities and a gorgeous lakefront setting, give Normandie Beach Club a try.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeptravelin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The setting is beautiful and peaceful on Lake Champlain. The "resort" seems to be having an identity crisis. Does it want to be a family cabin destination or does it want to be a "resort". Rooms were basically clean, however mold in the bathroom, cobwebs in the bedrooms. Although advertised as air conditioned. There was one air conditioner in the larger bedroom a ceiling fan in the living room, but neither a fan or air conditioner in the smaller bedroom. While our room was billed for three adults,there was one king bed in the larger room, bunkbeds in the smaller room which was really small. The bunkbeds were small, (child size). For the price this was a disappointment. Friendly, helpful staff was a plus!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHODY27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Very briefly, I will tell you that I checked in to this seemingly cute little place. It is rustic, for sure, but very poleasant looking. Then the problems began. We noticed a lot of spiders in the room when we checked in, but chaklked that up to the "rustic" aspect. When we retuned from duinner the first night we were there, the room was infested with spiders and other bugs. We complained. The owner, a real Old Man Crachet, first told us we were crazy and there couldn't possibly be bugs in the room. He refused to come see the room, but sent an employee, who, oince he saw the infestation, totally agreed with us. The owner wouldn't speak to us, but communicated through the employee that we wouldn't be charged if we left that night. We left. A month later, my AMEX bill showed a $500+ charge. I called Old Man Crachet and he told me the bugs were my fault and, despite the agreement reached on the night I left, he now had no intention of giving me any money back. I called AMEX and they are going to handle it, thank god. If I were you, I wouldn't stay at this place, and I say that not because of the bugs, but because of the way the owner treats guests when they do have a valid complaint and for the owner's blatant dishonesty.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank johncourtWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester NY
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2009

I went to Normandie for a week this August with my wife, two boys, and another couple and their young children. We all had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. The boys loved the lake and went sailing, kayaking, canoeing, swimming and waterskiing. We played tennis, shot some hoops and palyed touch football. We visited nearby Ausable Chasm and the kids went on horseback. I even managed to escape to read while the rest of the family was off playing. There are relatively few people at one time, so all the amenities were readily available and there was never too much noise.

The owners are charming and friendly and the staff attentive. The cabins are simple, but clean and well maintained. The Coco Cafe really is really very good for dinner and we lingered there quite a bit as the kids played on the nearby lawn near the lake. After dinner the staff lit up a small campfire and we roasted marshmallows with the kids.

All in all a great place for simple vacation to relax with family and friends. The boys want to go back next summer and so do my wife and I.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Normandie Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Beach Club

Property: Normandie Beach Club
Address: 96 Furnace Point Lane, Westport, NY 12993
Region: United States > New York > Westport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Normandie Beach Club is a breathtaking property on the shores of Lake Champlain in Westport, NY Normandie offers sailing, windsurfing, canoeing, kayaking, tennis and many other activities as part of the lodging fees. A gem of the Adirondacks, your new summer home. Quality restaurant on the property, breakfast is included with your cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Normandie Beach Club Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing