We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very clean”

The Inn in Westport
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn in Westport
Ranked #1 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have stayed at a few places between Elizabethtown and Westport and this is by far the most comfortable. It is very clean and each room is tastefully decorated. You can tell that the owners take great pride in their home by the subtle details. The owners are gracious and accommodating even though we were walk-ins.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Fantastic!!!! Everything about this Inn is wonderful. We stayed in the William Shakespeare room which is situated on the front with a lovely arch window with views of the lake. The four poster bed was amazing and truly comfortable. The facilities were excellent with tea and coffee being available 24 hours and a good selection of DVDs available for your use. There is even a cupboard with every "extra" you could think of such as extra pillows, hair driers etc. My only wish is that I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The William Shakespeare room is an excellent choice for views of the lake to enjoy amazing sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chateauvalens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Please note that the poor rating was for this room and it's location only. The Inn is lovely, the owner very nice and the room very comfortable and attractive. BUT the Emily Dickinson room is in the front of the hotel and traffic noise was very loud. We tried the air conditioner but that was even louder. We finally got up before six am and left having had very little (if any) sleep. If you live in an urban area and are used to traffic noise then this might be perfect for you, but if like us, you are country mice, then ask for a room in the back. They might well rate an excellent.

Room Tip: If you value quiet, ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a lovely and somewhat understated Inn. It is perfect for couples who just want a quiet break away from the hustle and bustle. It does not have the amenities of larger establishments but this is more than made up for by the picturesque setting in Westport and it's endearing charm. The owner is extremely hospitable. If you want a quiet place to wind down, to do some reading in the bookshop over the complimentary all-day coffee, then this is the place. The breakfasts in the Inn Coffee Shop are good too and the beds are super-comfy. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the lake but you will hear some road noise if large trucks go by. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossie94England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The suites are named for authors. We stayed in the Emily Dickinson suite. It was clean, pretty, reasonably priced. Breakfast is not included but well worth the price one pays. Very nice. Dinner is available but you are better off heading down to the restaurant at the marina to eat. Has a used bookstore, free wifi, free coffee 24x7 and a gorgeous view of Lake Champlain.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We had almost given up any hope of finding a wonderful little inn in this area when we stumbled up The Inn on the Library Lawn. We loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Lovely place, wonderful location. And a really fun little bookstore that you need to spend time in. And for those who don't like browsing books, there is a dvd collection! Not to mention the lake only a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
17.6 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
630 reviews
3.5 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Hotel
Westport Hotel
#1 of 4 in Westport
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn in Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn in Westport

Address: 1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993-2416 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)
Region: United States > New York > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn in Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room Victorian Inn overlooking Lake Champlain in the Adirondack Park. Each room has a private bath and is richly decorated. Breakfast restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn in Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing