We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairweather Innkeepers”

The Inn in Westport
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn in Westport
Ranked #1 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The inn is pleasant and charming, and the innkeepers friendly, as most of the reviews have noted-but our experience was terrible nonetheless. We stayed here recently and there was a power outage. This was not the innkeepers fault of course and I'm not blaming them, but their reaction to the situation was beyond bad.
From the sweltering heat and darkness of our room I had to search the inn for someone-anyone-to get help. The innkeeper, when I found one, said that it was "no big deal" and grudgingly told me that there was a flashlight in the dresser drawer. She said that she couldn't call anyone and had no information at all. That was it-that was the extent of the help we got.
We drove around the small town and got reassurance, information, free water etc. from other businesses who were extremely helpful -all of the things, in short, that we expected from our innkeepers and did not get. We had to drive 12 miles to the next nearest town to get food despite the fact that our inn had a full kitchen, presumably running on gas. The hosts did not offer us a scrap of food cold or hot or a bottle of water.
The outage began in the late afternoon and we talked to the hosts about driving home since my husband has a medical condition and his medicine requires refrigeration. The innkeepers flat-out refused to refund us for the coming night even though there was no power. We stayed in the 100 degree + room, suffering, until power was restored early the next morning.

In short, we were on our own and paying in full. I don't think that these people are bad people, but they are the worst kind of hobbyist/amateur innkeepers. They don't have the temperament to run a hotel because they do not understand the most basic principle of hosting- that your guests who are far from home are your responsibility. Even one word of kindness or concern from these people would have made a difference in this review. Unfortunately, we got nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hatcheckgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here while doing a bike trip and the hosts were fantastic! They had a place for us to store our bikes, helped us with questions about the area and suggestions for dining, shopping, etc...Plus, they met us with cold drinks on the deck when we returned from a hot day of biking! The rooms were beautiful and comfy and the library is a treasure. We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip through.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Fabulous, quaint inn! High ceilings, amazingly comfortable beds, wonderful decor. Inn keepers were so welcoming. We will be back in the winter for a ski trip for sure!

Room Tip: I peeked at most of them, they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great Place! We stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite and it was perfect. Very good innkeepers who really anticipate ones needs/wants - loved the idea of a pillow closet/nice Dvd selection and a coffee / tea station. Plus a good bookstore right on site! We will be back!

Room Tip: We checked out a few rooms - they all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkat900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our son was married this past weekend in Westport, NY. Most of the wedding party and many of our other guests stayed at the Inn for the festivities. What a pleasure! The people there are so nice, and the the guestrooms were lovely.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank NancyM145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Hosts are very personable and committed to their guest's comfort and satisfaction. Transportation to and from the train was included. Our William Blake room was immaculately clean; window AC unit fan totally blocked out the street noise that would bother some. Restaurant is open for delicious breakfasts and lunches using homemade breads. Westport is a great town for walking and seeing a variety of historic, restored homes with beautifully landscaped yards after you have spent time browsing in the Inn's well-stocked, used book store, enjoying a glass of wine on the outside deck with Lake Champlain before you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexra4, Owner at The Inn in Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for the review, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

From the moment of our arrival we found this historic Inn extremely comfortable and inviting with wonderful views over Lake Champlain, and distant mountains. We arrived by train and spent three delightful nights. Our hosts, Anthony and Alexandra, were more than happy to collect us from the station, and drop us out for dinner at night. The breakfasts were served in a delightfully sunny setting and with beautifully fresh fruits, bagels and fluffy waffles. We were also able to hire bicycles and ride out into the countryside. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with such warm and pleasant hosts, and would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely establishment which has been so tastefully decorated and restored.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stingrea_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
17.6 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
629 reviews
3.5 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westport Hotel
Westport Hotel
#1 of 4 in Westport
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Heart of the Village Inn
Heart of the Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Shelburne
266 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn in Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn in Westport

Address: 1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993-2416 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)
Region: United States > New York > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £67 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn in Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room Victorian Inn overlooking Lake Champlain in the Adirondack Park. Each room has a private bath and is richly decorated. Breakfast restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn in Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing