We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”

The Inn in Westport
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn in Westport
Ranked #1 of 3 Westport B&B and Inns
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hook
My wife, son, and I stayed at the Inn during a driving trip in NE, and it was perfect for that purpose. I also believe those who are looking at it as a weekend destination would also love it. I highly recommend it.

The Inn is across the street from the lake, but the other side of the street is where an inn once stood and is now a grassy hill, so the view of the lake is wonderful. And, it is only a walk of a minute or so down to the shore.

Part of the ground floor of the Inn is a bookstore with two rooms full of used books across a wide array of topics. Some of the books are merely used, but reasonably priced. There are some older books, however, and even some first editions. It seems the books are Alexandra's passion and it appears that she has selected most if not all of them herself. I like used bookstores, and this is one I would visit even if we had not stayed at the Inn.

The main areas of the Inn are not air-conditioned. We were there during an uncommon heat spell, however, and it was not uncomfortably hot in the morning and evening (we were not there during the middle of the day). There was a portable air conditioner in our room which kept it cool, but the location of the room--1st floor, no sun exposure, and essentially no windows--helped with that as well.

In the evening, you can sit on the deck where lunch, etc is served during the day. The deck is on the side of the Inn, just out of sight on the right side of the photo above, and so is basically on the street, although to your left is a very small park. We live in a rural area and a busy street is not our idea of fun. Even though the street is the main thoroughfare on that side of the lake, however, there was very little traffic during the evening. So, it was a wonderful place to have a drink and look at the beautiful lake before retiring.

We stayed in Room 101, which has a queen bed in one room, a double bed in another, and one bathroom. It is a reasonably large suite and decently appointed. Judging from the photos, it is not as well-appointed as some of the other rooms, but it is perfect for a small family. It is not the sort of room you would want to spend the day in, but given the activities available--perhaps reading in some of the common areas on a rainy day--you wouldn't really want to. It has a separate entrance in the back, and is so cut off from the other areas of the Inn that it is literally silent. I see that other reviewers have commented about road noise. It is true that some large trucks travel past, but in Room 101, you can't hear them--or anything else--at all.

Breakfast is not included in the rate. Instead, you can choose to have breakfast in the cafe next to (and adjoining) the bookstore. I vastly prefer that approach because: 1) you can choose when or whether to breakfast; and 2) you can choose how much you want to eat/spend. The selection is pretty standard breakfast fare. For the omelets, you can choose among a variety of good quality ingredients, liberally applied. The prices are very reasonable.

The approach of the owners is more European inn-style rather than staying-in-a-friend's-house B&B. Personally, I prefer that style: in some B&B's the interaction with the staff and other guests is too close. That is not to say, however, that the owners are not personable. They were a ready resource for anything we wanted, including recommendations about where to go, where to eat, and what to see. In fact, as Alexandra brought our breakfast one morning she heard us discussing whether my wife's footwear was adequate for what we had planned. She immediately offered some of her own hiking boots for my wife to use.

At approximately $300 for 3 people for 2 nights, it was an excellent value.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I was in Westport for a wedding and stayed at this super cute inn. I love the book theme that runs through it and that they have a little cafe. It was great. We were not sure what to expect in such a small town, but this inn was more than we had hoped for.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emily Dickinson room which was great. As a corner room there was a ton of natural l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

My sister & I stayed here for an overnight get-away. Our room was very large with a view of the lake & the park. The whole Inn is nicely decorated with an interesting library/author theme. The bed was very comfy, the bath is updated and well-stocked with supplies.
The Innkeepers were very nice and let us stay until the train left at 2:00.
I know the web site said there would be no breakfast offered on the off season, but just a muffin would have been nice since we ended up having to drive a distance to Elizabethtown to find a cafe. The cafe across the street was closed for renovations & would be opening in the Spring so this should not be an issue with others staying there now.
I took the train which is less than a mile from the Inn. A light packer could easily walk to the Inn. The train station is right out of an old movie, beautiful.
I am giving this a 4 instead due to the inconvenience of no place to eat breakfast and I also felt the rate was quite high for being off season.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a beautiful view of Lake Champlain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We've been to The Inn in October. What a surprise! If you want calm, it's THE place. It's very beautiful, welcoming, private and quiet (apart the grandfather clock). The rooms are exceptionaly comfortable and clean. The host and hostess are particulary kind. They certainly respect your privacy. You'll see them at your arrival. After that, you won't see them unless you need something. You'll need a car if you want to do activities or go to restaurants, but the Adirondack region is so amazing during Fall that it's not a problem at all. Perfect weekend! A real little treasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katecritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexra4, Owner at The Inn in Westport, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you for the great review, there is no greater compliment than to have a guest "feel like they are home". Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Booked ahead based on website, price and the Inn being in town. Owners are very friendly and everything was fine. Near the end of our trip and we booked the second cheapest room to have a Lake view from the second floor. Most of the view was power lines outside the window, so not much view. Off street side is probably a better choice. Roamed the book store on our own in the evening. Ate breakfast at the small town restaurant down the street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexra4, Owner at The Inn in Westport, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Three of us were bicycling aound Lake Champlain the weekend of October 13. Our goal for the day was Essex, but due to bout of illness and a mechanical problem, it was getting dark and cold, and we were just coming into Westport -10 miles short of our goal. We decided that discretion was the better part of valor, and that we should look for something in Westport. Quite by chance, we passed the Inn in Westport and decided to see if they had any rooms at the last-minute. What a find! They had two rooms and the rooms were spotlessly clean, very tastefully decorated, recently painted, comfortable, and very reasonably priced. We snapped them up. The host and hostess, Anthony and Alexandra, were unbelievably friendly and accommodating. Not only did they find a place for our bikes in their mudroom, but even drove us to dinner (and picked us up afterward) because the restaurant we chose was a bit too far to walk and too dark to bicycle safely. You could not find a more gracious couple. I would highly recommend the Inn in Westport to anyone - based on any of the criteria that one might use to evaluate a hotel: service, ambiance, value, cleanliness...

Room Tip: We didn't see any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for one night this past weekend and left rather disappointed. Based on the great reviews here, the pictures and written description on the Inn's website, we thought we were in for a real treat. When we arrived, we found out that the bookshop was closed and under renovations. (One of the reasons we booked this property was for the book theme.) The guest floor had a bit of an odd odor about it, not overpowering, just a bit odd. The room was very clean and we have no real complaints, it just did not quite live up to what we were expecting based on the pictures and reviews here. The issue of primary concern, and the main reason for our rating on this property, however, is the fact that it was impossible to sleep until midnight due to the noise level. The rooms have no insulation for sound. There was a large family using the hallway as their personal conversation and children's play area. We could hear everything. Then when they retired, their TV could be heard word-for-word through the wall. Not exactly the relaxing evening in the country that we had sought after. The innkeeper was quite nice and we wish that we could provide a more positive review, but overall the property fell short of our expectations, even when the price of $93/nt is taken into consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
22.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#5 of 6 in Ticonderoga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
17.4 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn in Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn in Westport

Property: The Inn in Westport
Address: 1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993-2416 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)
Region: United States > New York > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn in Westport 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room Victorian Inn overlooking Lake Champlain in the Adirondack Park. Each room has a private bath and is richly decorated. Continental breakfast is included with the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn in Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing