We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cuban North of Havana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melt Sandwich Shop

Melt Sandwich Shop
Ranked #9 of 262 Restaurants in White Plains
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent customizable sandwiches, good prices, friendly staff.
new york city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Cuban North of Havana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have had cuban sandwiches in Cuba, Miami and points North. The MELT presentation of this classic was as good as it gets. Have it on flat bread, nothing like it. Nice guys behind the counter. Worth a trip from wherever. Downtown White Plains is franchise after franchise. What a treat to find a great indy shop. Locals and travellers owe it to themselves to keep this kind of business afloat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank platafamilyvactioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
636 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best reuben I've ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Excellent. We stop here every time on our way to New York. I alway get a reuben on a flatbread with pastrami. They top the sandwich off with homemade deli pickles. They’re messy but definitely worth a detour if you're in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipp7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique in White Plains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Made to order, each sandwich or salad or pizza is made right then and there for you fresh! Wait times will vary as each order is made there for you but overall this place is good. You can call ahead and place your order for pickup, then sit outside at their sidewalk cafe to avoid lines. They have a Foursquare special, and the value and customer service is very good. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gozeritall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sandwiches King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Great bread, great meat, and so many styles to choose from. Super friendly! Also try the salads and flatbread pizzas. Regular customer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I'm a regular at Melt. I try to eat here about 3x's a month. The staff is friendly, especially Matt. The salads and sandwiches are always delicious. Hopefully, there will be new menu additions.
My favorites are the corned beef and pastrami. It's always difficult picking which topping to match my sandwich with.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dhammer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melt Sandwich Shop also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to Melt Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing