We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent option if you needed long term accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house White Plains
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Decent option if you needed long term accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here three times in the past 12 months but this is my first review. Location is ok if you have specific business in White Plains. There is no charge for parking which is a huge plus in White Plains. They (White Plains) seem to think parking is an opportunity to gouge you. It's not Manhattan!! You can drive to the train station easily, park and go into the city (i.e., Manhattan) for around $22 round trip depending on peak/off peak time. Forget about taxis. More gouging (more expensive and less reliable than Manhattan). Hotel does have a shuttle into WP proper but good luck getting picked up for a return trip. You cannot walk to anything from this hotel, with the exception of the Chase bank across the street. Rooms are pretty good and reasonably clean. It's tough to thoroughly clean a room that has a full kitchen with pots, pans, silverware, etc. They have a pool that's open about 2 months out of the year. And guess what? The hot tub follows the same schedule as the pool so if you are there after Labor Day forget about a soak. What is most disturbing about the property is the 4x weekly "managers reception". It's a free-for-all, all you can eat and all you can drink unsupervised stampede of rude clowns who think they are entitled to 6 beers and all the chicken tenders they can eat even if others get nothing. They have self serve beer and wine. Surely a state liquor law violation (every other Hyatt House I have stayed at has a person who pours alcohol). There appears to be a large number of long term clientele in the 70-80 year old range. It feels like an old folks home. But these spry octogenarians will knock you over with their walker to get the last meatball. You're taking your life on your hands when you go. And forget about taking your children unless you want them exposed to underage kids drinking freely of the self serve beer and cursing loudly at their table (this actually happened and again, no Hyatt staff is monitoring anything other than how many wings are left on the hot line). It's completely crazy. BTW breakfast is only a bit more civilized perhaps because they don't serve alcohol. But you still have the wacky old folks loading up multiple plates of food "to go". From the looks of it they must have 11 more people back in their room. Hyatt staff doesn't monitor so they obviously don't care. Breakfast is 7 days. The "managers reception" that no manager ever attends is only mon-thu. Again, decent option if you are in town more than a few days and want a full kitchen. Way better than some of the other places like Extended Stay America. Oh and I almost forgot. You might have to open the windows in order to cool your room down to where you can actually sleep. It seems they don't believe in allowing guests to control their own room temperature.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, General Manager at HYATT house White Plains, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Larry:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. You brought up several points which we appreciate but I’m surprised that some of the issues mentioned were never brought to any management attention while you were here. We do have managers including myself scheduled each evening for the reception and the beer and wine is monitored. In regards to the room temperature, each suite is individually equipped with an ac/heating unit for guests to fully control. If this was not working properly, we could have corrected the situation while you were here. As for the pool/spa, it is open from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day (weather permitting)

I hope you can contact me to further discuss the issues brought up so that we can make your next stay with us more pleasant.

Again, I apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.

Sincerely,

Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    145
    44
    15
    6
See reviews for
228
72
28
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is a good home away from home for people with business or family engagements in the area. Suites are comfy and clean, and the staff is hospitable. Dont expect 5* luxury and amenities, this place serves a different purpose but is just about perfect at what it does -- more of a serviced appartment for do-it-yourself travelers with their own transportation than a resort or destination property.

Helpful?
Thank tai4de2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

While the desk staff was nice, helpful and professional little else positive can be said for my three night stay. This is not a full-service hotel and I would characterize it as little more than a slightly enhanced Hampton Inn. Note there is no restaurant and only a limited complimentary breakfast is provided. If you want dinner you will need to drive into White Plains proper or order pizza for delivery. However, wifi was good. I suppose the room sizes are a decent value for the money. Most guests were midlevel corporate employees.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Had the chance to spend the night at the Hyatt Place in White Plains and it was another great choice. The Hyatt is clean,well maintained and the staff is very friendly. My room was upgraded and it was very clean. The breakfast was very good with multiple items and well stocked. I would highly recommend the hotel when in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My daughter and I stayed here recently on a college "tour" trip. The front desk staff was extremely kind, knowledgeable and helpful. Our room was perfect with very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and online booking requests honored. We've traveled a lot and this is one of the best places we've stayed. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Last month (October), my sister made a reservation for her and her family to stay at Hyatt House so she could take her son to an important medical appointment near the hotel. I had recommended Hyatt House because my husband, daughter and I had stayed there in Sept. 2012 for two weeks when we had to vacate our house on short notice. As I told my sister, the 2-bedroom suite we stayed in was spacious and comfortable, and it was a wonderful place to stay. The service was impeccable.
This time around, there was a mix-up with my sister's reservation (partly due to me) and the General Manager, Anthony, was incredibly understanding. My sister did not end up staying at Hyatt House, but Anthony handled the situation very well. I was very pleased with his professionalism and attentiveness. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Comfortable, convenient and quiet place. Rooms are spacious with Kitchenettes, maintained well around. Easily accesible to the shopping malls nearby though free shuttle service and also to NYC through the subway. It's one of the best places I have stayed in the last 10 years particularly for a long stay and made by come back again for a stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSMurali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
2.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn White Plains Westchester County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house White Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house White Plains

Property: HYATT house White Plains
Address: 101 Corporate Park Dr, White Plains, NY 10604-3301 (Formerly Summerfield Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in White Plains
#3 Business Hotel in White Plains
#3 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house White Plains 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house White Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites - White Plains Hotel White Plains
Summerfield Suites White Plains
Hyatt White Plains
White Plains Summerfield Suites
White Plains Hyatt
HYATT House White Plains Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing