We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

As far as a business hotel this was very nice. Close to plenty of restaurants to grab a nice meal, free wifi, friendly staff and the lobby was nice. I like good coffee and they had the normal one cup pot in the room, it is ok but even the lobby had nothing special. You pay to park but it was not that expensive, there were a ton of flight crew there so that usually is a pretty good sign.
My room was clean and nice and big but the drain was very slow and this is what I expect the housekeeping team to report. Also lots of shopping near by,I didn't have time but I sure wish I did.
Overall a comfy stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mona D:

We wish to acknowledge and thank you for the time taken to write a review.

We are pleased you found our hotel to be very nice and that our downtown / central location worked well for you as well.

We will have our engineering team check into that slow drain!

Thank you for your patronage and we hope to be of service to you again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    213
    95
    28
    14
See reviews for
143
72
32
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

At check in, the front desk female employee did not go over our Executive room. That included continental breakfast and executive lounge for cocktails, etc. She lacked customer service skills. Then when we returned in our room from the cocktail, the housekeeper was leaving our room while we were coming in. I complained to the manager Laura and her response is if you do not have a do not disturb sign housekeeping can come in at anytime. I have valuables in the room, laptop open and work papers. I feel violated that any staff can enter my room at any time. I am very disappointed with Crowne Plaza White Plains.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue9778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear blue9778:

On behalf of all our associates, we acknowledge and thank you for writing a review.

Firstly we apologize profusely for the hospitality (or lack thereof) afforded you when you checked in.

Regarding your guestroom, we do not just enter guest rooms on a whim; most likely the room attendant was inspecting and/or completing a cleaning task when you encountered her leaving your room.

All our guestrooms are equipped with an in-room digital safe, with the combination set by you, our guest. While we are located in a very low crime area / city, we nevertheless encourage all guests to secure any valuables in there for safe keeping during the course of your stay. We also offer safety deposit boxes at the reception desk for our guests' complimentary use.

We do not have anyone in management named "Laura", but certainly we will review your comments with all supervisors to ensure professional communications at all times.

We do very much appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent location.
Has Electric Car Charger (free) in attached parking garage.
Clean, comfortable business hotel.
Close to shopping malls and good restaurants.
In hotel dining is limited.
Only downside was price - a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkaneatelesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear SkaneatelesNY:

Many thanks for the time taken to write a review following you recent visit.

We are delighted you found our excellent location and took note of our Electric Car Charging stalls (2) in our attached parking garage.

Naturally, our guests should expect - and are entitled to - a clean, comfortable hotel. We hear a lot about just how great a job our Housekeeping team does, and we're very proud of their efforts.

We are grateful for your patronage and look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel is average; everything was ok but nothing was special. When I went down to the lobby on Sunday morning at 8am, I asked for a newspaper and was informed that they had none and there were no newsstands nearby. There were newspapers on the ground tied together with string at the gift shop front door and the front desk personnel said they could not give or sell me one since "that was a different department". They said the gift shop would not be open until 10am.
I like to take stairs rather than elevator and could not do so since you needed a code to get into them at ground level and they were tucked away in the back "employee-only" area. In the elevator, you needed to swipe your room key. if you do not do so in time or correctly, the elevator will not stop at your selected floor or will go up and down.
Food at brunch was ok....frequently not replenished and more like a "free motel breakfast". For over $25, I expected a lot more than what was provided.
The room was nice....comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and very clean. The parking lot next to the hotel was convenient and priced at $12/day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangecounty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear orangecounty02:

We really appreciate the time you've taken to write a review of our services and facilities. Thank you.

While the 3rd-party gift shop does indeed handle the sale of newspapers, we easily could have obtain one for you and passed along the sale to the gift shop. We apologize this simple act did not occur.

We will review your comments about not replenishing the breakfast buffet...obviously it should be fully stocked at all times.

We are pleased you found the room nice, comfortable and clean.

We appreciate your business very much and hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halfmoon, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the 2nd time in two years and everything was great. My room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Parking in the adjacent garage was easy. The meeting room worked out very well for our group of eight and had good acoustics and technology. We were all pleased with our catered breakfast, lunch and snacks. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

On behalf of all our associates, we acknowledge and thank you for taking the time out to write a review.

We are of course very pleased you found a clean and comfortable guestroom, and that the meeting facilities - including our food and beverage - worked out very well.

In our business, a guest that proclaims they will definitely return is the sincerest form of flattery. For that, we are very grateful indeed.

Thank you for your business, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I love staying here because it is so centrally located. You can walk across the street to The Westchester with beautiful stores. There are several great restaurants within walking distance. There is valet parking, and a parking garage attached. Great bar, imaginative drinks.

Room Tip: Higher floor, 8 or 9 if you are not on the concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear SoChathamGirl:

On behalf of all of us here, we extend a very big THANKS for the wonderful review.

If you love staying here, we couldn't ask for a better outcome. Rest assured our daily efforts are squarely focused on doing our level best to ensure every guest thoroughly enjoys our services and facilities.

We value your business very much and sincerely look forward to your return visit in the near future. Thanks again.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spofford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am a pilot and have stayed here several times per month for almost 15 years. There have been enormous improvements in décor, staff training and attitude and overall atmosphere in the last decade. Consistently professional, articulate front desk staff (e.g., Garner, Nancy, Michelle). Immaculate rooms, with excellent housekeeping attention to detail. Very comfortable beds. Walking distance to a myriad of shops and restaurants. Excellent van service to and from HPN airport.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem quieter and end of hall minimizes foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellem3407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Michellem3407:

All of our associates appreciate when guests take the time to write a review following their visit to our humble inn. Thank you very much.

The service business - which as a pilot you are in too - is a tough gig, and continuous improvement is all we ever strive for! We are very pleased you have witnessed our efforts and rest assured we will continue to hone our service skills and product offerings.

We will specifically acknowledge those individuals you've mentioned in your review with a "BRAVO" award, which extends a congratulatory gift certificate presented in front of all associates at our monthly luncheon.

We are very grateful indeed for your past loyalty and continued patronage, and as always we look forward to welcoming you back.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
2.0 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn White Plains Westchester County
3.8 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Address: 66 Hale Ave, White Plains, NY 10601-4504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in White Plains
#5 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza White Plains Hotel is situated in downtown White Plains, NY, the heart of Westchester County. This White Plains New York hotel is only 30 minutes from Manhattan. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, it's accross the street from world class shopping at The Westchester Mall with Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, among other fine retailers. New York Airports - La Guardia, JFK and Newark, are all easily accessible from the hotel. If you are planning a meeting, the Crowne Plaza White Plains Westchester Hotel is 'The Place to Meet' with the Crowne meetings director to work with you hand in hand until your event is completed. We'll ensure that you have one point of contact for all of your needs during your events by providing a daily meetings debrief. This Crowne Plaza White Plains NY hotel promises a better meetings experience for the meeting planner and a better night's sleep for the meeting attendees and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel White Plains
White Plains Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing