We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great bed”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

we stayed here overnight for a friend's wedding in white plains.
Overall, the hotel was pretty nice and the staff was courteous. It's two buildings so don't commit to parking until you check in and find out where your room is. A woods view is just staring at trees. Not much but nice change for city folk like us. Recent renovation, the room was updated and the bed is one of the best I have ever slept in. I'm still thinking about the bed and comforter days later!

The indoor pool was just ok. The outdoor lounge chairs and furniture had a bunch of bugs crawling around them but no one seemed to mind .

Go to Brazen Fox , 5-10 min drive away, for a great brunch.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amp3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear amp3d,

Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come and visit us again soon!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    217
    82
    34
    17
See reviews for
209
135
25
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Need to stay in Westchester on occasion and this time we decided to stay in White Plains. This property is complicated, apparently an addition to a private home became the lobby to a hotel that was attached. Even the "close" rooms are a hike. Don't valet, park around the back side of the building or you will have to walk about 1/6 to 1/7 a mile to your room. Although the rooms were recently renovated, the property is dated and not well maintained, to a standard that would keep this property looking fresh. Cracked pavement, poorly maintained landscaping framed an already difficult property with a nightmare layout and design for the staff to deal with. The staff, the staff were the highlight, from the Valet to the check-in, even the restaurant was well staffed, the on-site restaurant was actually good! Our only negative experience, again went back to the gage of the hard and soft of this property, our sheets were dirty and so were the second set that they brought up and handed to us. I like old properties, but honestly this place is throwing good money after bad, parts off the property (parking garage) look like a post-apocalyptic movie set.

Room Tip: There is no view, so just focus on access, the 3rd for is where it is at. The further you are from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear jerrythetraveler,

Thank you so much for all your important feedback. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you experiences. We appreciate all guest feedback and please be assured we take all feedback very seriously. We thank you for bringing the issues you encountered during your stay to our attention. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly at the number below. Thank you again.

Delighted,
Melanie
melanie.cancela@renaissancehotels.com
914-696-2704
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hosted a delicious brunch for Alex and Carly's wedding in the hotel's spectacular mansion! Special thanks to Rafael, Robert and Alberto! We'll be back to Renaissance Westchester! Excellent food, great service!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwolfwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Rwolfwhiz,

Thank you for the review! I will be sure to pass this review to our entire team especially to Rafael, Robert and Alberto. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come and visit us again!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The Renaissance has undergone extensive renovations and it is all beautiful. Kudos to the front desk staff - we arrived at a highly busy the on Friday night and the front desk was so well staffed we didn't wait at all. And so helpful and pleasant. The rooms are beautiful and peaceful. Room service was prompt and delicious. Such a wonderful experience. Don't miss when you are in White Plains.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Saxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Saxtell,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us at the Renaissance. We hope to see you again soon!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the moment you walk in the front door there is someone on the staff looking out for you. And those people seemed to ask how they could help you, a lot. The front desk staff was very professional and made sure to come out from behind the desk to point out the way to the sleeping rooms (they are in a separate building so it is not immediately easy to see how to get there). In the restaurant the waiter was friendly and quick to refill water glasses. Chef Ryan came out to personally greet everyone in the restaurant while I was there. Although I was not eating, but simply having a glass of wine, he was so very nice to speak to. Next time I promise, I'll eat dinner there.

The décor is very contemporary. And I love that. There are a number of different seating options in the restaurant/lounge, so you an enjoy a quiet meal, watch a hockey game or have a small after-work hours meeting. It is rather dark but I did not find that to be a problem.

So why 4 not 5 stars? Two things - while the sleeping room is nice (and there is a great amount of light so you can actually work), the bed is on a platform that you do not immediately see. But when you shin finds it - you will know it was there for about a week. Secondly, the top sheet was very stained. It looked like a truck had driven over it...but it was clearly not a fresh stain. I'd have ditched that sheet if I was in housekeeping.

My two small complaints aside, I can very heartily recommend this hotel to anyone. Just mind your shins on the bed platform! Thank you to a truly pleasant and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cujo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Cujo31,

Thank you for all your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us. And we thank you for bringing the two issues you encountered to our attention. Please know I will be passing this information to our team.
We hope you do come back soon to enjoy some great things from Chef Ryan and Chef Jean Claude! Thank you again.

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My congradulations awarded to Leticia Torres -front desk/office supervisor !
What a charming individual.
What an example of what customer service is all about! This employee WILL make a difference for your hotel.

Do whatever it takes to keep her---Happy 20th year anniversary Leticia !!! Great Job !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Shoe60,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so very lucky to have Leticia on our team. She is a shinning star. We hope to have her for another 20 more years!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were at this hotel for a friend's wedding and had a wonderful time. Anything that we needed or asked for in our stay was accommodated. Richard at the 'navigation' desk (this hotel's conceirge) helped with many things we asked for and even accommodated us when we found out that breakfast wasn't included in our rate.
Ryan Germaine who is the Suchef at the hotel has some amazing items on the menu. He insisted we try his mac & cheese and we soon found out that it was amazing!
I spend about 10 night a month in a hotel and this is by far the best experience I have had. Great job Renaissance team! You earned a 10!

Room Tip: Rooms are far enough away from the hotel pool and the hotel lobby and bar area that any room should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear semaus,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! Richard is an amazing team member and we are so lucky to have him here at The Renaissance. The mac & cheese is fantastic it is one of my favorites on the menu as well. Chef Ryan is such a great chef! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the new menu. I will be sure to pass this along to our entire team. We hope you come and visit us again and try some other fantastic items chef and the team have created!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Plains
0.3 mi away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
1.7 mi away
Hilton Westchester
Hilton Westchester
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Westchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Property: Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Address: 80 W Red Oak Ln, White Plains, NY 10604-3602
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#3 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Westchester Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the resort atmosphere of the remarkable Renaissance Westchester Hotel in White Plains, NY, nestled on 30 acres of scenic countryside in Westchester County. Our hotel is located only 35 minutes from New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Westchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance White Plains
White Plains Renaissance
Renaissance Westchester Hotel White Plains, Westchester County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing