We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitestone
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is very convenient for us and we valued the experience. With one serious exception the staff were friendly,efficient and professional.
The value is good, the rooms are excellent and overall it is still an excellent choice.
Bad was the receptionist at check-in who was surly and unhelpful.
Also poor was the fact that room cleaning was only scheduled once a week. This is bad for guests who stay longer than one or two days.

Room Tip: Fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am pleased to read your remarks about our great rooms and affordable rates; however, I am disheartened to read that you received poor customer service at check-in. To uphold our company's high standards, I am meeting with my staff to review customer service standards and expectations. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me, at lga@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Upon our check in for a 5 day stay, we found out the hotel changed their policy last month. You must stay 7 days to get housekeeping services, therefore, you are bringing your wet towels to the front desk for replacement. Our bathroom was supplied with a bar of soap, the size of a quarter, and the kitchen was bare. We went to the desk and was told that we could order whatever items we wanted for the kitchen. I ordered everything. The front staff wanted to make sure I needed everything , because if I asked for it and did not use it, someone else would not have a pot, etc. How does one know from day 1, what they will use on day 2-5? Also was told that 40 people just checked in, so they were unsure how long these extras would take. Every item you need, you must go ask for it. Ex coffee soap toilet paper. If this was the new policy, the Extended Stay should have sent out an e mail to me, as we did purchase trip cancellation on this room. THIS IS NO BARGAIN !!!!!! Will definitely stay elsewhere on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cara2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. I apologize that you were not pleased with our new housekeeping and kitchen supplies policies. Your feedback is very important to us as we continue to improve our hotel and our guest experience. Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Fawlty Towers – USA Style

To those of you who appreciated the British TV comedy, Fawlty Towers, this is the place to come to experience that true Basil Fawlty insanity, you will not be disappointed if you stay at the Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport.

Day One – The Check In Experience – Wednesday, 11 June 2014

Motto for today – “Tell 'em nothin', take 'em nowhere”

Extended Stay America claims “Our goal is to ensure that you are 100% satisfied with your stay”.

In March 2014, we booked a deluxe suite with a king bed and a sofa bed and paid in full for the room. On the 11th June 2014 we booked in and were given the cards for our room. It was one on the ground floor with a lovely view of the main entrance which is about 3 metres away. This wonderful view has ensured that we have had to keep the curtains shut and live each day in our dark bat cave. Certainly no views of Torquay or wildebeests.

Upon entering our ‘room with a view’ we were struck by the fact that there was no king size bed and no sofa bed. Rather what we had was a smallish room with two double beds and a gigantic sitting chair. Upon seeing the lady at reception we were informed that there were no deluxe suites available as people had extended their stay in these rooms. This would have made perfect sense to Basil Fawlty and the same logic was being applied here by Extended Stay. Seems like it did not occur to them to not extend someone’s stay when they already had a booking (that had been paid in full).
Perhaps they thought that if they did not tell us this when we booked in that we would not notice that they had downgraded our room. Basil would have been very proud of that little trick. There had also been no mention of the fact that we had been given this downgraded room and that we had still paid for the deluxe suite. When challenged on this point, the receptionist looked up the details and said that we should (not would) be given a refund of over $300.

You can see the pattern emerging here: a true Fawlty Towers experience. In true Basil Fawlty style there was a belated half-hearted apology but the true nature of this complete and utter debacle was lost on our receptionist.

So we have to endure our little bat cave with the expansive views of the main entrance for the entire stay of 5 days.

Day One – The Optional Extras – Wednesday, 11 June 2014

Extended Stay America claims “Fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, coffee maker, cooking utensils, dishes, and cutlery”

Upon further inspection of the bat cave we notice that there are no cups, glasses, plates, cutlery etc. We ask about this and are told that we need the “practical comforts package”. With further questioning we learn that we will also require the “optional amenities” pack which includes pans and spatula, coffee maker, toaster, etc. Brilliant! We say that we would like these packages please. About five minutes later the man arrives with the packages and unloads them into our kitchen. Again, in true Basil Fawlty style, there were items missing from our packages. There was no toaster, only two sets of knives and forks and one each of a desert spoon and tea spoon and a charmingly cracked plastic glass. We ask again and are provided with missing and replacement items. We missed the fact that the second pan was not included but we did not mention that as one of the elements on the stove top does not work anyway. We did not mention the stove top as we were a bit burnt out by this time on the Fawlty Towers’ experience. I suppose it is a matter of personal preference as to how many Fawlty Towers’ experiences one has per day.

Day Three – The Wash-up Experience – Friday, 13 June 2014
Motto for today – “What the… ”

Extended Stay America claims “Our hotel is designed especially for longer stays with studios featuring fully equipped kitchens and plenty of work space… amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room”.

The sink without a plug – a truly Basil Fawlty Experience. After seeing reception for dishwashing liquid, we went to do the washing up and could not find the plug for the sink. Did someone steal the plug or did they fail to supply it in one of our comfort packages. Back to reception again. “Oh no”, we were informed, “we don’t supply plugs anymore, there were too many accidents and we have taken them out of all the rooms”. Being a little wary of the answer, we did not ask about the “accidents” but our imaginations were running wild. What could people possibly do with plugs – the mind boggles. I am sure Basil Fawlty would have liked to have had the chance to put this one forward to hotel guests but not even he could come up with a gem like this.

Day Four – The Washing Experience – Saturday, 14 June 2014

Motto for today – “Care factor ZERO”

Extended Stay America claims “On-premise coin-operated laundry facility open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week”.

Washing day. This experience came from left field but was a classic Basil Fawlty situation. It is also reminiscent of the Cheese Shop sketch by Monty Python. Anyway, we go to the laundry to wash some clothes and find the laundry powder dispensers are empty. Perhaps we should have expected that but when we asked at reception about getting some washing powder, we were informed that the washing machines are serviced by a third party company and there is nothing that can be done. The receptionist suggests we take a walk around to the supermarket. Great idea, we should go to the supermarket and buy 1 kilogram box of laundry detergent to wash two loads of clothes. Yet another Basil Fawlty experience.
Our last day tomorrow but we have to get through today first. We think that we have had enough of the Fawlty Towers experience; you can get too much of a good thing.

Overall Impression

If you would like to have the Fawlty Towers experience please stay here. You will not be disappointed.

If this is not your cup of tea it is not recommend. If you are a traveller who wants to rely on a service provider to deliver what they say they will, give this place a big swerve. Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport cannot be relied upon to deliver what they promise, even if you do pay for it. In fact, some of this behaviour is boarding on the dishonest. So, if you like dishonest providers who cannot be relied upon to deliver what you pay for, then knock yourselves out. You will not be disappointed.

Postscript

When raising some of these issues and most particularly the check in experience we received an apology and an explanation from the lady on reception that she had tried to call us to advise that the deluxe suite was no longer available and that we were doomed to the bat cave. The lady on reception also offered to speak to her manager to see if she could get a discount given the debacle over the booking and check in. She did speak to the manager and we got a whole $12 a day off the cost of our daily charge. The manager remained firmly ensconced in his/her office seemly unwilling to get involved.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get the room you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John_Brisbane4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel appearance is nice and so was staff but they do not have a mini Store on site, vending machine is over priced and room smelled really bad...the location is good to go in and out of NYC but will probably stay at a different place next time I'm there.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so thrilled to hear that you were happy with the hotel appearance and our staff's service. Please accept our apologies about the odor in the room; to make sure it doesn't happen again we will continuously check all rooms for any unpleasant odors. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My family has been displaced while we wait to move into our new home. What initially was two weeks is now undetermined.
At first, we made an adventure of our displacement, as we have a young child and want to make this a smooth transition We stayed in a much more expensive hotel with a pool for the expected two weeks.
When we got the news that we could not go home, it was disheartening.

Having no family nearby, we had to look at a more cost effective hotel. I had read the reviews of this hotel and was quite surprised. Since I work in the area, it seemed to be a good location and well managed. When I read the negative reviews I was shocked!!!
We checked out several options in the area before coming here.All were considerably more expensive and less convenient.
Finally we decided to come and at least look at this hotel.
We are sure glad we did!
The staff that we have met thus far is young and motivated.
They are professional.friendly. and extremely accommodating.
The facility is well maintained and well managed. Someone is always cleaning! They were polishing the elevators when I came home last night!
The room is very spacious. We stayed in a double until the deluxe room became available and both rooms are comfortable, allowing space for all of us to spread out.
In fact, this room is larger and even more comfortable than our previous pricey accommodation.
We looked, in both rooms, for the bed bugs that we had read about. We haven't found them.Just clean sheets and bedding.
The grab and go breakfast is small but enough. Literally, my child and I grab a fresh fruit and oatmeal, oatmeal bar or muffin along with a coffee as we leave each morning.
Just like when we were home!

Concerned friends and family have visited us and all have been very pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

This hotel is a great find! It doesn't have a pool like our last hotel but it is half the cost, half the commute and there's more happening locally for our family to do outside of the room.
We don't know when our house will be ready,but here we feel like home.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzannepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I’m so pleased that our staff has provided you with an enjoyable experience. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room, our clean hotel and our grab-and-go breakfast. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Perfect hotel room...there were adequate cooking facilities if needed. Very clean and tidy and the staff were only too happy to help. Easy links into New York City...just ask the reception and they give you a sheet with the details on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am happy to hear that our friendly staff, level of cleanliness, and the fully equipped kitchen in your room met your standards. I’m also glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. Once again, thank you for posting a review. We look forward to providing you another comfortable stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

For anyone looking for a long term stay, ESA LGA is the place. Newly renovated, clean rooms and hallways. Staff are very helpful and caring. I have stayed there for three of 12 months of 2013. There again all through Jan 2014. Love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aduramigba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the outcome of the renovations. I am proud of our team for being and helpful and caring to your needs.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitestone
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Flushing Queens
Ramada Flushing Queens
#11 of 18 in Flushing
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia Airport/Flushing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn LaGuardia Airport - 83rd St
3.7 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
1.5 mi away
Flushing Hotel
Flushing Hotel
#16 of 18 in Flushing
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport

Address: 1830 Whitestone Expy, Whitestone, NY 11357-3061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Whitestone
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitestone
Price Range: £105 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America - New York City - Laguardia Airport Whitestone, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing