We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Beef on Weck!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie the Butcher's Kitchen

Charlie the Butcher's Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 154 Restaurants in Williamsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place for Beef on Weck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Charlie the Butcher is a great place to have Buffalo's famous Beef on Weck Sandwich ( Roast Beef on a Kimmelweck roll). It's a tiny little place with fresh carved to order sandwiches, Roast Beef, Turkey. I've only had the Roast Beef, it's why I go there! The sweet potato fries are good too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    61
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
362 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Outstanding as usual - Great Beef on Weck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We always stop at Charlie the Butcher for our Beef on Weck fix. Great sandwich, very friendly people. Carved to order this sandwich is a Buffalo classic and this is the best place to get your fix.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haddon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A MUST Try and one of my all time favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Talk about one of the best little hole in the wall type places on earth and I will bring up Charlie the Butcher's. I have had to travel to Buffalo several times over the last few months for business and one of the locals told me about Charlie's. The Beef on Weck sandwich is out of this world (along with their turkey and meat loaf sandwiches!) I literally would pretty much only eat at Charlie The Butchers when I would visit, it is that good!

One day that I went the cashier accidentally overcharged my credit card but she noticed it herself and fixed it immediately. The next day I went in again and they said the meal was on them for the mistake. They didn't have to do that but that's Charlie's, amazing food and great people.

If you are ever in the Buffalo area you must try Charlie the Butcher. There is also an "express" location inside one of the gas stations near the airport that is good as well but a trip to the original is a must for any Buffalo trip. I very rarely give anything a 5 out of 5 but Charlie the Butchers absolutely deserves it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bishoparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Newton, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buffalo classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I always bring out-of-town visitors here for the one-of-a-kind beef on weck. I personally like the sweet sauce/relish, but most enjoy the usual salty meat juice or horseradish.
Go in the summer to sit outside and soak up the sun.

Helpful?
Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must go to restaurant in buffalo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We ate here before catching our plane at Buffalo Int'l It was a Thursday so their daily special was prime rib Since the beef on weck was their signature sandwich that is what i ordered My husband ordered the prime rib The beef on weck was delicious but the prime rib was to die for

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMPINSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlie the Butcher's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Charlie the Butcher's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing