We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A View! - From an average room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ledge Rock at Whiteface
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Fonda, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A View! - From an average room.”
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We stayed at Ledgerock from July 18 to July 22, 2008. We were there to watch family members compete in the Ironman competition at Lake Placid. There were a total of 9 of us - all adults - staying in three rooms.

The first thing that strikes you about Ledgerock is the absolutely INSANE view! Whiteface Mountain is directly across the street and it is the most majestic view you'll ever experience.

The people that run the place are extremely friendly and accomodating. If you have any questions regarding the area, they will help you in great, accurate detail.

As far as the rooms, they are average. By no means are the accomodations dingy, but they are fair, at best. We all found the beds to be a bit on the stiff side and the sheets are blue-light special grade, but none of this was what I would consider a major distraction.

If you are looking for a place to sleep - that just happens to provide a phenomenal view - then this is a good choice. If you are looking for luxury in your stay, then don't bother; you'll just end up here at TripAdvisor compaining.

...Oh, and make sure to go across the street and shell out the $17 for the gondola ride up Whiteface. It's well worth the money!

  • Liked — The View!
  • Disliked — Beds & Sheets
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CurtisCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    21
    9
    2
    9
See reviews for
25
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed here in June of 2006 and loved it. The view of Little Whiteface is still nice. The rooms are larger than most in the Adirondacks and well insulated from noise. I was disappointed this trip because the only thing I asked for was a room without any perfumes or scents, due to my allergies. The odor didn't knock you over but was pervasive despite our running the fan the entire time. The room really needed airing out. This would have been better done by a maid than us because It was hard to have both doors open and maintain a sense of privacy. As a result I did not have a good nights rest. The toilet seat took you for a ride every time it was sat on. I would have told the management about the loose seat but when we left around 7 am, the office was locked. No one was there to ask us how we liked our stay.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Non responsive to needs, in need of some repairs, matress not the greatest
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We stayed at Ledgerock from June 9th to 13th and pretty much had the place to ourselves.
The rooms are very basic but clean. Each room has a small fridge and microwave and there are gas grills available for visitors' use. (We didn't use them however - they were not cleaned).
There is a great view of Whiteface Mountain from each room.
We spent a lot of time relaxing on our balcony or sitting on Adirondack chairs in front of the motel.
Just up the road is High Falls Gorge -well worth a visit - and Lake Placid is 10 miles away.

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — Grills not cleaned for guests.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We just got back from our second stay at Ledge Rock, and it was very, very enjoyable. We stayed here in December, 2006, and we loved everything about the hotel. The Great Room IS GREAT, and you can go to it anytime of day or night, to watch TV, watch a movie, play pool, play games...just read by the fireplace, and bring your own liquid refreshment to serve at the big wood bar. Dave and Jean provide coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cider and a different dessert/pastry each evening/morning.
Both years, we had the room with the Queen bed, and we just loved it. Just to be able to wake up every morning, go out on our deck and see that beautiful Whiteface Mountain right across the highway, was worth the drive. We live in Southern NJ, so we do not even get any snow anymore...
And, we had a blizzard of sorts this last trip, and the clean up at the hotel was great. And, Dave was very accomodating with the little things; a newspaper, maps, postage stamps if needed....
I would recommend this hotel very highly!

  • Liked — location and the view of the mountain...and very, very nice owners
  • Disliked — there is nothing that I do not like about the Ledge Rock
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cmdandmpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2008

In 2004, we wanted to visit the Adirondacks and found the Ledge Rock website. After talking on the phone with the owners, Dave & Jean, we decided to take a chance on it. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the the U.S. & Canada and are sometimes dissapointed. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised with a nice view, a large, clean room with a small deck and picture window, and friendly innkeepers. We came during the spring off-season, so the pool wasn't open quite yet, but our experience was relaxing and quiet. In 2007, we decided to stay there again, and were not dissapointed. The motel is located about 10 miles from Lake Placid, but the roadway twists and turns along the AuSable river and fly fishermen were out. The drive is exceptional in the evening as the sun is setting. Day trips through Upper Jay, Keene, Lake Placid, up to the summit of Whiteface Mtn, Chapel Pond, AuSable Chasm, ... are very relaxing and sometimes sublime. Fort Ticonderoga and even ice cream in Vermont (they have the best) are nice to try once. Early morning and evening are the best for photography. When we went in '07', they were just finishing a new coat of paint on the outside, and had just bought several brand new grills for guest use, which we used a few times. The great room is nice for sitting down for a movie, eating a pizza, or a game of pool. They have some movies, but you can also bring your own. If you have a family with young children like us, or are into fishing, hiking, skiing, bicycling, rock climbing, or just a peaceful setting, this area is nice and Ledge Rock is well located. If you are looking for room service and more nightlife, staying in Lake Placid might be more for you. If you're trying to get away from the crowds and enjoy the Adirondack park, while staying in a decently maintained place, I would recommend Ledge Rock at Whiteface.

  • Liked — Well located for day trips in the Adirondack park, decently maintained
  • Disliked — Nothing, if you're not expecting the Hilton
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R2J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed in this hotel in December, 2007 and spent 5 nights. I can say only positive words about this hotel, and about people, who were working for us. First of all, we made reservation by phone and they were pleasant and friendly, and explained all details for us, that were very important because it was the very first time for us in Lake Placid. Second of , our friend unexpectedly jointed us , and they provided us a cot , without any additional charges .Third of all, room was warm , spacious , and clean, fresh towels every day , beds are very comfortable ,view was just incredible, you can observe White Face mountain and see every slope , and this is just wonderful , please see the photo; and the most important – it was good deals with lift tickets .Finally, every evening we did enjoy Fireplace, and free sweet table at 7:30 PM , they provided absolute free every evening fresh cookies , brownies ,and etc. and I would like to thank stuff of Ledge Rock for such pleasant time for me and my family.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LanaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

I just stayed at the Ledge Rock and was beyond pleased with the experience. The owners and staff went way out of their way to make my
stay more enjoyable. I would recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in the Lake Placid/Whiteface region. The hotel was centrally located to every place I wanted to be, clean, comfortable with great service. Give it a try.

  • Liked — The service and accommodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kibbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.8 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
283 reviews
7.5 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
13.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
425 reviews
2.7 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledge Rock at Whiteface? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledge Rock at Whiteface

Property: Ledge Rock at Whiteface
Address: 5078 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2108
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ledge Rock at Whiteface 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ledge Rock at Whiteface reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledge Rock At Whiteface Hotel Wilmington
Ledge Rock At Whiteface Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing