We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pontypool ontario
1 review
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I was in the Wilmington area to hike Whiteface mountain in early October 2012. I could not of dropped in on better hosts than Bert and Heike. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and what I really liked was the hot sauna after my day of hiking. I would definitly recommend this B&B for it's location and the hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    26
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
48
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed in this beautiful bed and breakfast during July 2012 when my husband did the Ironman triathlon. The inn is 10 minutes from downtown Lake Placid, and Bert recommended that we see beautiful Whiteface mountain and eat at Rosalia's restaurant, both of which really added to our visit to the area. Heike and Bert were excellent hosts-and the breakfasts were delicious, especially the homemade muffins! We didn't get as much time on the hammock or the beautiful front porch as we wanted but we'll save that for our next visit. We'll definately be coming back to visit again!

Room Tip: Suite with TV room and jacuzzi is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed during Ironman 2012. What a fantastic location- right off the bike course and a few miles outside of the crazy downtown. Breakfasts were delicious. Bert and Heike took fantastic care of us. Rooms were clean and the house was a story in itself. On race day, Bert set up a tent, made mimosas and snacks, so we could cheer on the bikers in style. Heike set out a breakfast at 4 am for us! Beautiful scenic drive into downtown Lake Placid takes approx 10 minutes. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ack14102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at Willkomen Hof 5 nights in March 2012 .Each day after excellent , filling breakfast
I went skiing at Whiteface Mountain . It only takes 3 minutes to get there from Willkomen Hof .
Heike and Bert were very helpfull , gave me good info about skiing at Whiteface .
After skiing , I would go back to Willkomen Hof , have a tasty homemade soup (chilli) ,
and relax in sauna -great feeling after all day of skiing .I am coming back !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wlodek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed 3 nights with my 15 yo son and 9 yo daughter during this President's week. For us this B&B was a perfect match! After the wonderful homemade breakfast we would hit the slopes early and stay until the last lift. At that point we would grab a sandwich get back to the B&B and began to relax. The sauna/jacuzzi combo totally soothed our muscles from beating Whiteface's black diamonds all day. Afterwards we played some cards and boardgames by the fireplace. By 9PM we were done. The atmosphere at the Willkomen Hof was so soothing that TV & internet was not pique our interest.
We will return!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvmvmvNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I enjoyed just one overnight in the Willkommen Hof with my family. The sauna and hot tub were waiting for us when we arrived and my daughter Sera (9) was just thrilled with the beautiful Christmas decorations. Zoey (13) especially liked the internet connection. Heike en Bert had left instructions and the key at the door, so we checked in ourselves. Later when they got in we had a chat and a drink. So nice to have such a warm & personal welcome. How more "willkommen" can you feel? Breakfast was excellent and the day on the Mountain (Whiteface), just a few minutes drive from the B & B, was wonderful. In fact we met Bert and Heike on the mountain as well! The house is charming, "adirondacks meet austria" atmosphere. Our hosts were able to tell us about everything. We were sorry to leave and certainly will be back.

Room Tip: We had the suite at the font of the house, might get a bit noisy if the road is busy. The Suite is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaKirschenmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA, USA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is a nice German themed B&B. The host and hostess (she's the German) are helpful and welcoming. The room we had was a bit small but clean and tidy. The common areas are comfortable. The place is close to all the restaurants and attractions around White Face and not far from Lake Placid and the High Peaks area, which makes it convenient. They sometimes serve dinner in the inn. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Room in the back has no view but is away from traffic noise on Route 86.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanChg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.4 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.6 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.5 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast

Property: Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5367 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2003
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a mile from Whiteface Mt. Ski Area, our European style B&B features 3 comfortable deluxe rooms with king or queen feather beds, bath robes, hair dryers, refrigerators, coffee makers, whirlpool bath, or fireplace. We also have a three-room suite with bath, a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi, and 2 rooms that share a bath. Amenities includes sauna, outdoor hot tub, satellite TV, free WIFI, fireplace in our library. A full home cooked breakfast is included. Ski packages. Pets welcome. Great for small groups 14-20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Willkommen Hof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing