We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, family friendly... But customer service needs major improvement.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, great location, family friendly... But customer service needs major improvement.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

A bunch of us (9 total) stayed at KOA in Lake Placid over Labor Day weekend 2013. For most of us, it was our first experience on a KOA campground. We checked in around 2 pm and our 3 cabins were ready. However, the entire registration process took over half hour and the young lady that checked us in was not very friendly. She was slow and didn't seem like she knew what she was doing. She made sure to ask all of us if it was our first time there. We all said yes and she proceeded with no additional information on the campground, activities, services, etc. For example, breakfast was available that weekend because of the holiday and we weren't aware of it. She simply circled our cabins on the map and off we went.

Other than that initial first impression, the rest of our trip was very smooth. The cabins were extra clean. Our cabin had 1 queen size bed and 1 bunk bed. There is electricity in the cabin (2 outlets and a lamp on the ceiling). There is also an electric heater which we didn't use since it was warm enough. I would recommend bringing a fan along since there isn't much air flow in the cabin. There is a small mirror and a bench and small table that can be used as storage.

Our cabins were just across from the public bathrooms and showers. Everything there was also extra clean and mopped regularly. No complaints. Even though we were close to the bathrooms it was still very quiet and lights weren't too bright.

The location of the campground is ideal. Far enough to feel secluded but close enough to Lake Placid to enjoy the amenities, additional activities, great restaurants. The drive is approx. 11 miles to town.

Even though we weren't traveling with young children, I though the campground was well equipped for families with plenty of activities and playgrounds to keep everyone happy!

There is a small pool on site. We used it once. Even though it was a busy weekend, the pool didn't feel that busy. We found long chairs for the 9 of us immediately.

Overall, I am happy with our trip and will 100% recommend and most likely come back at some point! However, please train your staff to be more friendly and ask them to smile!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMD2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a camping cabin. This was our first visit to a non-rustic type of camping. we really enjoyed the conveniences we traded for losing privacy and nature. The pool was warm and clean, as good as a basic hotel. I liked the rustic camp-like feel of the building and playgrounds. The cabin was very clean, comfortable mattresses, with heat for chilly nights and attractive. The camping kitchen was an unexpected bonus. It had a stove and sink which were always surprisingly clean, given their popularity. we avoid most campgounds because it seems like people are on top of each other and we did find this issue here in the cabin area. The tents at this part were on top of each other, although there were more secluded and spacious tent sites at the back. It was less of an issue with the cabins but when you are outside, the next cabin over is very near in the loop by the lodge. The trail along the river was excellent except that part of it was washed out and there was no notice so we were on a steep slope with young children. It was an adventure though. The waterfall along the trail was worth it. The kids also liked the games and movie options. For us, it was like camp, rather than camping, but we really enjoyed it for what it was. It was nice to come home clean and to be able to not worry about bears. and racoons. I really loved the convenience of the stove and sink. I would go to KOA again for a fun, easy, clean, camp-like camping vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kidswilltravel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in the leanto #2 , the best view in to whole place right along the water, very secluded and private , it was the best to get in touch with nature.
However you have a 5 minutes hike to your car up hill every time - so we got in shape for sure. Do not leave food / cooler at night lots of animals along the river we saw deer and racoon.
If you are sleeping in the lean to bring a broom, several tarps to cover the floor, opening and sided, it is very old lean to. You have 2 fire rings and many areas to put up a screen kitchen , but hardly any bugs. Would go back for sure ! We din't go in the pool can't comment , dog walk was beautiful and the dog park very cute with an agility course.Staff very pleasant

Room Tip: lean to # 2 if you wants something more warmer the two cabins near by very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at KOA Lake Placid. Our RV site was large enough to give us some privacy and the facilities on site were excellent. The close distance to Lake Placid is excellent and the walks to the river/falls are an added bonus. Pool clean as are toilets. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunblane_andersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

stayed july 29 to aug 1. We had a kabin which was very clean as were the bathroom facilities across from us. Staff very helpful. Decided to leave because of the bad weather even though we were supposed to stay until aug. 2. When i went to the office to return the key , the person serving me asked me to wait a minute and came back say that the were going to refund us for 1 night without me asking for it. I was very impressed and thanked the owner and said we will would definitely be back . We travel quite a bit and this is the best campsite resort we have stayed at. thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great campground on the Ausable River. Close to a ton of fun activities for all ages. All sites are shaded with plenty of trees, but sites where roomy and not on top of one another. Clean facilities. Only reason I did not give it a 10 was the WiFi. You had to log on every hour and speeds where slow. It's an annoyance that shouldn't be in this day and age. We camped here in a Travel Trailer. Bike/game rentals where expensive. Some of the staff seemed unmotivated, others very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoojs12840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for Father's Day wkend! They have a trail that goes along the Ausable River on the property,great fishing, caught four nice size trout! We stayed in a deluxe cabin, very clean comfortable cabin, nice game room for the kids to hangout and the pool was nice and refreshing!
We will be making another trip up there in the fall!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
9.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
283 reviews
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA

Property: Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA
Address: 77 Fox Farm Road, Wilmington, NY 12997
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Adirondack Mountain countrysides pristine mountains, lakes and streams, offering activities such as world-class fly-fishing, hiking and cycling, and in the winter, snow sports including downhill and cross-country skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, and Winter Olympic sports. At the campground, enjoy spacious big-rig sites, wooded tent sites, Deluxe Cabins and Camping Cabins. In the summer season, rent fun-cycles or partake in mini golf, hayrides, movies and special weekends that include dinners and DJ music. In the winter, enjoy the comforts of a heated Deluxe Cabin, offering kitchen, private bedrooms and bathroom, including linens and cooking supplies. Or stay in a heated camping cabin. RV sites offering electric only are open, as are lean-to and tent sites (for the hearty at heart!). The campground is just minutes from the base of Whiteface Mountain and offers direct access to cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing