We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet location,”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Arrived late but cabin was ready (R20). Checkin was slow but checkout fast. Internet signal strength was very good so you could connect BUT there was no useable bandwith to connect to websites. This seemed to be a common problem with all the koa's we stayed at.

Cabin had tv, which in the absence of internet, came in handy...ironically we tuned into the Lake Placid movie about killer crocodiles.

Cabin came with a coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator. We are accustomed to having the coffee packs provided whenever we stay at hotels but when asked if the packs were provided, the staff member was condescending in her response.

Concrete edge was crumbling and got long hair caught in cracks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingforgoodplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenham, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have been camping here for 35 years! I camped her Mother's Day weekend, but this time we rented one of the Deluxe Cabins with a Bathroom. It was somewhat pricey, but very nice. Very clean and comfortable. A great way to go when it is cooler weather, or you do not feel like dragging all the camping gear with you. My family and I have many many years of wonderful memories at the KOA at Whiteface Mountain. It is a very special place for me!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in a 8 person cabin in Oct 2013, and it was really nice. The cabin was roomy and comfy, with all the amenities you would want. The only drawback is that the site is a bit crowded, with sites very close to one another. But this wasn't a big deal for us. We actually enjoyed watching the buzzling family life from our pation. I plan to use this in the future when hiking in the daks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alain_desilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights & 4 days. It was a great place! It had a convience store with ice & other grocery store needs. They also had a snack shack & a swimming pool!!! Not to mention the playground they had & giant chess set!! We had a blast. There was a nearby hiking trail that was only 2 miles or less, a little confusing but we figured out a way back from the trail along the water. The rooms were spacious enough, just be sure to have all ur own linens. There was heat in the cabins.we stayed in the ones without the potty in them, but we only had to walk a short distance to get to the potty/ showers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrAzYfUnFaMiLy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to stumble upon a lively CDN Thanksgiving weekend at the KOA Whiteface/Lake Placid. It was a lively time and our hosts provided a wonderful spread of turkey and fixings. Each family donates a side dish and BYOW is cool.

The best part for us was the trick and treating put on by the RVers this group is so thoughtful and put on quite a haunted forest :)! Kids loved it.

The family went hiking Sunday and I went with my Dad to find a place to watch the football game and to our delight in Lake Placid we found an awesome sports bar with Sam on tap and awesome wings! I will review that separately.

All in all what a beautiful fall trip, we are heading back in a couple weeks I think this is our new tradition!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdngiantsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here in August of 2013 and had a wonderful time. Being close to the kids activities was great as we could watch them closely from our cabin and they met so many nice people. Because I like clean washrooms, I saw the times when the washrooms were cleaned and tried to time it accordingly as I am not your true 'camp' type person:) The staff were wonderful but most of all, my family had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvwil2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The drive to this park in a big rig is very doable and it is a great location for exploring the Adirondacks. Within the park are 4 long rows of 50amp full hookup with cable sites that will accommodate large rigs, some are gravel most are dirt but all look level. We were given a site on row C, which faces the tent and cabin area. This row is nice for a class A because you’re not looking right at another RV but into a wooded area and if you are really lucky you might even get a spot of sky for your satellite dish but the whole park is very wooded so don’t be disappointed. The road around the park is hard packed gravel with some large pines close to the edge but nothing that can’t be easily navigated in a 40ft class A or 40ft 5th wheel. Sprint does not provide service in this area but the free park WIFI worked just fine from our campsite. Bathrooms are well maintained and staff was friendly and accommodating. This park sits next to the Ausable River and there are walking trails that go a beautiful flume waterfall, a must if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
1.8 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
9.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
1.9 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA

Property: Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA
Address: 77 Fox Farm Road, Wilmington, NY 12997
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Adirondack Mountain countrysides pristine mountains, lakes and streams, offering activities such as world-class fly-fishing, hiking and cycling, and in the winter, snow sports including downhill and cross-country skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, and Winter Olympic sports. At the campground, enjoy spacious big-rig sites, wooded tent sites, Deluxe Cabins and Camping Cabins. In the summer season, rent fun-cycles or partake in mini golf, hayrides, movies and special weekends that include dinners and DJ music. In the winter, enjoy the comforts of a heated Deluxe Cabin, offering kitchen, private bedrooms and bathroom, including linens and cooking supplies. Or stay in a heated camping cabin. RV sites offering electric only are open, as are lean-to and tent sites (for the hearty at heart!). The campground is just minutes from the base of Whiteface Mountain and offers direct access to cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, and more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing