We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hungry Trout Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here years ago and found it to be a lovely spot. We returned this past weekend with our daughter and were not disappointed. Our room was newly-remodeled. The restaurant food was excellent! Great location. Very helpful staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookworm330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for The Hungry Trout Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our room appeared to be recently remodeled providing for a clean, comfortable, and attractive stay. The motel is a short drive to Lake Placid. We had dinner a one of the two restaurants on property and it was good. Breakfast is not available most of the time according to the information guide in the room. There was only one place open in the area for breakfast during our stay.

I would recommend and would stay at the Hungry Trout again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This place is great. It's quiet, very clean and well maintained. All rooms have a great view of the mountains. It's about 15 minutes from downtown Lake Placid. The owners are very friendly. I liked the fact that you can also dine right there and just cross the parking to have a few drinks at the bar (no driving involved). We saw a few deer at dusk at the back of the resort from the room window. The pool was a bit cold but the kids did not mind. They enjoyed the slide and diving board.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gr8tteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Priced out of Lake Placid for the holiday weekend and opted for the Trout on a whim. Good call. The room was excellent, even though it was one of the unrenovated rooms that allowed dogs. Good bed. After having dinner with friends, we were too late to check out the restaurant and too pooped to Pub. Next time we'll try both, however. Expected a down at heels sportsman motel, and it was much nicer than that.

Room Tip: All rooms face Route 86, and the restaurant/pub parcel abuts the Wilmington Flume, a great trout spo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guswho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had dinner last week at The Hungry Trout and it was fantastic! We read previous reviews on Trip Advisor and took their advice and requested a table by the window so we had an excellent view of the river! Absolutely beautiful! The food was delicious and the restaurant was beautiful! We would definitely go back to The Hungry Trout restaurant again! We also visited the pub downstairs for an after dinner drink! It was a very cozy fisherman's bar! Great service from the bartender!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We returned last night from a two night stay at The Hungry Trout, but we'll be back next year for sure. We had a package deal that included dinners, breakfast (off site at Up A Creek just down the road - good home cooking), and a day on a private mile of the Ausable River for catch & release fly fishing (about 15 minutes away). The river runs behind the facility, and there is a spectacular flume visible from the property, as well as a trail head just a 3 minute walk from the property. Most of the guests we met were also there for the fishing. Jerry, the owner, was very gracious and accommodating, and his son operates a first rate fly shop on the property in case you need flys, leaders, line etc.
The room was nicely appointed and clean. Views were great (when it didn't rain).
Both the eponymous restaurant, and McDougal's Pub downstairs from the restaurant, surprised us with the quality and quantity of food. Smoked trout, quail, steaks, duck, and on and on. Also, a very nice wine selection. Our kudos to the chef! (my personal "fave" was the brie & cremini mushroom bisque - rich and earthy tasting - YUM!)
If you are in the area at another hotel/motel, at least try the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank optix10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My family (and extended family - 9 of us in all) have been vacationing in Wilmington for the last 8 years and no visit is complete without our yearly trip to this great restaurant.

We always go after our "high peak hike" day as a special treat, and usually eat in the Pub. The cool thing is, you can sit in the Pub, which has a great, casual atmosphere and eat the Pub fare, or the posher dining room food. We have never been disappointed!

My only regret is that this place does not have it's own cookbook, the food is always so delectable and the preparation is unique.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLovers069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
8.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
19 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
295 reviews
9.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
40 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
8.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hungry Trout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout Resort

Address: 5239 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2000
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £86 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hungry Trout Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hungry Trout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout Hotel Wilmington
Hungry Trout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing