We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly fishing float trip on the Ausable's West branch - Awsome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hungry Trout Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Hungry Trout Resort, known for its fine lodging and dining is also home to "The Hungry Trout Fly Shop". The shop provides everything for anglers : gear and accessories, fly fishing instruction, fly fishing guides, great advise on fishing and river conditions. Every staff member I encountered there obviously had a passion for the sport of fly fishing and they seemed to have a genuine interest in providing clients with all they needed, be them beginners or experts. Having fished the west branch of the Ausable river a number of times by myself and also on guided trips, I was looking for a new experience. The Hungry Trout Fly Shop had just what I needed : a float trip down the river. Basically, you and your guide each have a small inflatable craft that allows you to float down river from one fishing spot to the next. You simply step off your boat to fish a particular riffle, flat or pool and then get back on to go to the next spot of interest. Even in low water conditions, this proved to be easy, efficient and a whole lot of fun. My guide could not have been friendlier or more competent. You do need to be in good health for this though, there is some rowing involved and one needs to have decent coordination to stear this small craft properly. Ohter than that, it's just an enjoyable thing to do, an added value to your fishing experience. This was memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Urluberluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just returned from a great Easter holiday ski weekend. It was our first experience at Whiteface Mountain and we really enjoyed very much staying at the Hungry Trout Motel. Although personnel was at a minimum, due to the end of the ski season, reception was excellent and we enjoyed its close proximity to the slopes and the great view on the mountain.

The owner was very helpful with info on the region and guided us to very good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VraiReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this "favorite spot" of ours! As usual, the staff, food and rooms were nothing short of perfect. Staying at a "family-ownwd" resort has its advantages...the staff feels like family, the rooms and grounds always immaculate...and the food....well, the food is the best the area has to offer. Don't hesitate to stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Kitchenette units with two bedrooms and cooking facilities work well for a family... and their new d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This place caters alot to the fishermen in the local stream but it has a great location near the mountain and it is nicely done. Love the tiled showed stall in the bathroom. Beds were good too. Check out the Ausable River by walking on the other side and go downstream a bit. If it is summer time bring your bathing suit. On you tube check out Ausable river flume cliff diving to get an idea of what to expect.

Room Tip: Ask for the tiled shower rooms, as I think the are slowly renovating them in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed in a unit with a kitchenette and room for our toddler. When I walked in I immediately noticed droppings on the counter. I called the front desk and asked for another room but they were fully booked. First time, a gentleman came and cleaned the droppings. I then noticed additional mouse droppings on the coffee tray, under the microwave and in the toaster. These droppings looked like they had been there for a while. The gentleman came again and removed everything from the room upon request. While he was cleaning instead of gingerly picking up the droppings, he wiped the counter with cleaner and a towel displacing the droppings most likely on the floor. Management did come and apologize etc. I understand that there is not a lot you can do about field mice when in the mountains, but there is no excuse for all of these droppings. I explained that for my toddler and as a woman in my childbearing years this is an extreme health hazard. There was also a beer bottle cap under the bed, a nice choking hazard for your little one. We have stayed here before and this was never an issue. I am feeling disgruntled since the only response from management was that they would do a thorough clean tomorrow and no other rooms were available. We left early.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms without kitchenettes do not have mouse droppings.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here years ago and found it to be a lovely spot. We returned this past weekend with our daughter and were not disappointed. Our room was newly-remodeled. The restaurant food was excellent! Great location. Very helpful staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookworm330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our room appeared to be recently remodeled providing for a clean, comfortable, and attractive stay. The motel is a short drive to Lake Placid. We had dinner a one of the two restaurants on property and it was good. Breakfast is not available most of the time according to the information guide in the room. There was only one place open in the area for breakfast during our stay.

I would recommend and would stay at the Hungry Trout again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
8.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
20 reviews
9.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#5 of 9 in Wilmington
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
50 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hungry Trout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout Resort

Address: 5239 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2000
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hungry Trout Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Hungry Trout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout Hotel Wilmington
Hungry Trout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing