We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hungry Trout Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand View Motel(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Brook Lodge(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledge Rock at Whiteface Mountain(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ADK Trail Inn(Upper Jay)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cobble Mountain Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
113
39
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
39
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfly shoptroutfly fishingthe riverfine diningwest branchduckroom was cleanwhiteface mountainthe ownergreat fishinggreat bedalready planning to go backnever ran out of hot watergreat dinnerfour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Other than all the rain we are getting on the East Coast every chance I get i hang out on the new deck. I love the duck they serve it is awesome with the berry sauce. The owners are great and the bar staff is nice too

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddottenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and planned on staying for one night. It turned into five nights. Great central location for some of the best motorcycle routes in the East.
Spotless up to date room, great bed, amazing scenery, perfect WiFi, two super restaurants, staff very friendly and helpful
We will be back!

Room Tip: Can't get a bad room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at this location several times and have consistently been given an immaculate room. The rooms are spacious with one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept In. The bathroom was spotless and plenty of towels are offered for your use as well as an assortment of bath products. Great mountain views with immediate access to the beautiful Au Sable River right outside your door. We had dinner at both the pub and the restaurant and the food is always exceptional with generous portions being served. We do not travel with children, but there is a lovely inground pool, as well as a playset for those who do. The grounds are well-maintained and very charming. . We love this "gem" in the Adirondacks and we've introduced many of our family and friends to the Hungry Trout as well. Always with rave reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Hungry Trout Resort, known for its fine lodging and dining is also home to "The Hungry Trout Fly Shop". The shop provides everything for anglers : gear and accessories, fly fishing instruction, fly fishing guides, great advise on fishing and river conditions. Every staff member I encountered there obviously had a passion for the sport of fly fishing and they seemed to have a genuine interest in providing clients with all they needed, be them beginners or experts. Having fished the west branch of the Ausable river a number of times by myself and also on guided trips, I was looking for a new experience. The Hungry Trout Fly Shop had just what I needed : a float trip down the river. Basically, you and your guide each have a small inflatable craft that allows you to float down river from one fishing spot to the next. You simply step off your boat to fish a particular riffle, flat or pool and then get back on to go to the next spot of interest. Even in low water conditions, this proved to be easy, efficient and a whole lot of fun. My guide could not have been friendlier or more competent. You do need to be in good health for this though, there is some rowing involved and one needs to have decent coordination to stear this small craft properly. Ohter than that, it's just an enjoyable thing to do, an added value to your fishing experience. This was memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Urluberluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just returned from a great Easter holiday ski weekend. It was our first experience at Whiteface Mountain and we really enjoyed very much staying at the Hungry Trout Motel. Although personnel was at a minimum, due to the end of the ski season, reception was excellent and we enjoyed its close proximity to the slopes and the great view on the mountain.

The owner was very helpful with info on the region and guided us to very good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VraiReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews