We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Brook Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Grand View Motel(Wilmington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ADK Trail Inn(Upper Jay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motor Inn(Lake Placid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
258
40
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
40
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbam bamgift shopbagelscontinental breakfastthe ownermicrowave popcornhard boiled eggselectric fireplaceother guestsfire pitbull dogcomfortable bedtreated like familymemory foam mattressweather permittinggreat placelake placid
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First, the owners are excellent hosts, so from the check in we felt very welcomed. The lodge is located in the center of Wilmington and it is a very good starting point for trips around to Lake Placid and High Falls gorge. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the beds arrangements gave us a lot of room. The bathroom is rather small, but comfortable. The breakfast was good and plenty. The evening bonfire is a bonus that adds to the charm of this motel. I wish they used less Chlorine in cleaning the room - it took many hours, with the door open, to diminish the chlorine smell in the room. Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay!! Yep, the bathrooms are on the small size but they were built in the 1960's! Glad you enjoyed the bonfire. It has proven to be a hit!
Our housekeeping department believes in sanitizing well. Sorry about the bleach smell. We have addressed that issue.
In what ways could we improve our service?
Thanks,
Al
mtbrook@frontiernet.net is my e-mail address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is the best place we've ever stayed. The rooms were clean with many new items. The beds were so comfortable- I never sleep well the first night away from home, but I slept soundly every night here. The nightly bonfire makes you feel right at home and we met so many great people there. The owners, Al and Alicia, made everyone feel like part of the family and we met people who stay there every year. The location is great, close to Whiteface and Lake Placid, but out where it's not so crowded. The continental breakfast was almost overwhelming with options; you could eat healthy or satisfy your sweet tooth. Veterans receive a 10% discount and can talk war stories around the fire. We were there celebrating our 25th anniversary and it was perfect. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We just got back from our second stay at the Mountain Brook Lodge, and we are soo happy we chose to come back. The rooms are clean and have all of the amenities you may need (fridge, microwave, HD TV, etc..) The location is great too because it is located in the center of Wilmington and only a 20 minute drive to Lake Placid. The breakfast served at 8AM is a pretty extensive selection of pastries, oatmeal, fruits, cereals and bagels definitely a great bonus considering it is free! Staying at this hotel feels like staying at a relative's house more then like staying at a resort, in the evening many of the hotel guests hang out around the bonfire which makes for a community feel. Most importantly the owner Al & Alicia are fantastic hosts they are super friendly and make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive until you leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladYunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stumbled onto this Adirondack motel late one evening. They had a vacancy and we are so glad they did. The room was Adirondack in décor, but very clean and comfortable. Sometimes, the findings by chance are the best ones. The continental breakfast available in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chdye89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Because most people head to the ADK region to get away from the hustle & bustle of life, this place is the perfect lodge. Very simple, gracious owners and comfortable accommodations. The nightly bonfires make you sit back & relax (unless you want to talk politics). The lodge is convenient to all Lake Placid activities yet away from the LP traffic congestion. It's only a few miles from Whiteface Ski area which would make it most desirable during ski season as many of the resorts are outrageously priced. Daily breakfast is just enough to get you through to lunch at one of the scenic restaurants in the area. The resident Bulldog will be sure to greet you with sloppy kisses if you so desire. Thanks AL & Alicia! We will be back. Mark, Jane, Barb & Reece

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiidreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews