We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Brook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a clean, Adirondack themed hotel very close to Whiteface Mountain and out of the traffic and noise of Lake Placid, but still close enough to get there in about 15 minutes.

the room we stayed in had new furnishings, carpet, and a new memory foam mattress.

The hosts are awesome people, and they offer a very nice breakfast every morning.

Just an all around good motel. Don't hesitate to make a reservation, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treq21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend just stayed here this past weekend. our first time ever going to lake placid. My boyfriend found this lodge which was just 10 miles from lake placid, and this by far was the best place I have ever stayed at. Al & Alicia welcome you with open arms like your family. He showed us our room turned on the little heater for us, and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Its a comfortable cozy rustic motel. In the morning you have so many choices for breakfast, and theres a cute little gift shop too. The location is perfect!!! DEF going back just to see Al and Alicia again. thank you again guys you made our trip that much better :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xlizardxtonguex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I visited Lake Placid to watch the North Atlantic Regional Figure Skating Championship.My daughter located a reasonably priced motel a few miles outside of Lake Placid! What a Find! I was greeted by Alicia late at night and taken to my room.The room was clean and very cozy and you couldn't ask for a more comfortable bed.The continental breakfast was good.It is set up in their gift shop with individual tables. A great place to meet the guests,everyone was so friendly.The best part about Mountain Brook is the owners Al and Alicia,they treat you like family.A great motel. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A cute and cozy get away. Becky was on duty as manager while my husband and I stayed there. Room was comfortable. Nice breakfast set up in the am. Becky always had a wonderful tip, idea, directions on what would make our stay better. She went above and beyond to make us feel at home. We will definitely be going back to this lodge. Beautiful views from the yard and parking lot. Great prices on rooms. Just an all around great place. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our family's first vist to Mountain Brook, although we have been coming up to the Adirondacks for many years. Al shook our hands and introduced himself and actually walked us to our room. The room was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. He made a great fire and shared stories with the guests. Lulu the bulldog is the cutest. Thank you for a nice stay in a great little town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAHNewton_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

From the moment we pulled in we knew this place was different. We have traveled a fair amount in our life, stayed in a variety of places: resorts, chain motels/hotels, B&B's etc...ranging from 5 stars to get me out of here. Al and Alicia (the owners) have a unique blend of service with a smile and a level of comfort I've never felt in a hotel. The rooms are cozy and spotless, there is a fridge,microwave and coffeemaker if you don't feel the need to eat out every meal. The continental breakfast is served with a smile and enough variety to keep almost anyone happy. We especially liked the fire at night, where we could sit and socialize with other guests and the owners. While this was optional, many of us found that we were planning our night around it. It was that fun! Given the location of the lodge, it's perfectly located so that you can take in all the area has to offer without a lot of traffic and just far enough away from the congestion of Lake Placid. If you are a Vet, you can't go wrong, these folks love to serve those of us who have served. Thank you Al (top) and Alicia for a fabulous weekend! We plan to return often! Gary and Mary Ann.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonfisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First, the owners are excellent hosts, so from the check in we felt very welcomed. The lodge is located in the center of Wilmington and it is a very good starting point for trips around to Lake Placid and High Falls gorge. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the beds arrangements gave us a lot of room. The bathroom is rather small, but comfortable. The breakfast was good and plenty. The evening bonfire is a bonus that adds to the charm of this motel. I wish they used less Chlorine in cleaning the room - it took many hours, with the door open, to diminish the chlorine smell in the room. Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay!! Yep, the bathrooms are on the small size but they were built in the 1960's! Glad you enjoyed the bonfire. It has proven to be a hit!
Our housekeeping department believes in sanitizing well. Sorry about the bleach smell. We have addressed that issue.
In what ways could we improve our service?
Thanks,
Al
mtbrook@frontiernet.net is my e-mail address

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
0 mi away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
46 reviews
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#29 of 32 in Lake Placid
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Address: 5712 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing