We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see”

Ulysses S. Grant Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Wilton
Attraction details
Dighton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Grants cottage is a hidden gem of places to go while in Saratoga/Lake George area located atop a mountain and oddly enough on the grounds of a former prison (you will have to show ID on the road to the cottage). The museum shows a short film about General/President Grant. There is also some displays and exhibits pertaining to the site. A short walk uphill to the cottage where you will be given a history of the cottage and of President Grant's stay at the cottage. Then you tour the cottage, you will step back in time to when President Grant spent his final days there. The furnishings are the same ones used by the President, along with some of the actual floral displays from his funeral. Then take the walk to the observation area where the President viewed the valley and the mountains days before he passed away. I would allow 11/2 to 2 hours for this visit. The tour guide we had, Bill was a great source of information and made the experience all the more enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adirondacks
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Local and National Treasure”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm not a history buff but visited at the suggestion of many who've been dazzled by it. This place is literally a step back in time, and a very significant one at that. The two-story cottage is at the top of a mountain and literally a world away from the turbulent times of the modern world at the foot of Mt. McGregor. The home is left exactly as it was the morning Grant died there. And you can see why he retreated to the cottage in order to finish his memoirs: it's quiet and peaceful. The docents are very helpful, the guided tours pretty eye-opening, and the museum and bookstore filled with interesting facts, souvenirs, and books by Grant himself and various historians. The more I learned about Grant, the more humble and bittersweet I felt. He was a man of great integrity and lived in a time when corruption didn't seem to rule our nation. Everyone who passes through Saratoga County or lives near it should make a pilgrimage here to see the elements of a really amazing leader.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondGirl1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grant's Peaceful View”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

At first thought, you wonder where you could be going? The entry to Grant's Cottage starts at the gates of a prison. So, with that being said, have ID! You will follow the path up the scenic road to Grant's unique home sitting on the hillside of a magical view. To think that you are standing on the same ledge that one of our Founding Father's took his last breaths is magical. Walk through time as you see the home he spent his last days with major decisions still sitting upon his shoulders. The house is in pristine condition, and my favorite color too! Listen to the story of how the house got where it is, and still sits today. Be ready to go back in time and be amazed. I know I was, and would go back again. This is the second house of Grant's that I have had the pleasure to go in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Crickycrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was skeptical. I thought they probably staged this to look like what it might have been when Pres. U.S. Grant was here. But then I turned a corner and saw the dried flower arrangements from 1885 and I was speechless. I mean, just, game over, museum of the year, knock yer' socks off, amazing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-EllenCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is where Ulysses S Grant spent the last six weeks of his life, finishing his memoirs. The family was desitute, and this was his attempt to provide for them. Published by Samuel Clemens (Mark Twain), they were enormously succesful and the family became wealthy.

A small Visitor's Center with knowlegable staff, an introductory video and some timeline information is your first stop.(Good bookstore too) Take the time to see and read all. A short walk (100 yards) to the Overlook is a must. A great view and some more information. (also some amazing 21st century industrial sites that are surprising).

The cottage is small - tour is only on the first floor (Grant never got to the 2nd floor). The interior is as it was in 1885. (and shame on the ones I saw walking on the 130 year old carpet despite the guide's request). 90 minutes is a good time estimate to do it all.

While this is a New York State Historical Site, it is operated by the Friends of Grant's Cottage - check their web site for events and lectures.

I used 20 Mount McGregor Road, Wilton, NY in my GPS - it was short of the site - just keep going up the hill to the Correctional Facility (closing - no prisoners on site). Check in at the gate and bear right up the hill.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ulysses S. Grant Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Ulysses S. Grant Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing