We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all-in-one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captains Inn Point Lookout
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best all-in-one”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our family (2 adults/2 teens) planned on staying one night at Point Lookout but we enjoyed our stay so much we booked the second night just to do nothing but enjoy the Inn. The main floor has a fantastic restaurant on site open for lunch & dinner which has a wall of windows that look out over the mountains & valley. There is also a friendly, classic bar separated off the back where the staff hands you the TV clicker if you're looking for news or sports or an adventure show. The floor below has a do-it-yourself kitchen for breakfast and a big, open gameroom with a pool table, air hockey, game boards, tables & a large screen TV with loads of movies & magazines & comfy couches. We enjoyed wonderful family time in this room & it was really convenient to prepare our own breakfasts at each of our family member's pace in the clean, country-style kitchen. It was a home away from home. The Inn's rooms are on the 3rd floor above the restaurant. The rooms, while somewhat outdated, were very quiet, clean & comfortable. The bathrooms were immaculate & the sheets smelled so fresh. We had a mountain view room with large windows that overlooked the mountains/valley making the room open & bright. We loved going upstairs for an afternoon nap or heading downstairs with a refreshment over a game of pool. The Inn was made most comfortable by the friendly, hands-on owners, Ron & Laurie, and all of their staff. Every one of them was so welcoming & accomodating. Ron even took our teenage son on an hour-long adventure on the miles of trails surrounding the Inn. The whole package of the Inn, including its proprietors, staff, on-site restaurant, bar, games & rooms made it an all-in-one package for convenience, unwinding and relaxation. We highly recommend the Inn to anyone considering a stay in the Windham area. Singles won't feel alone, couples will enjoy the ability to unwind at their own pace & families will enjoy the convenience of sleeping, eating & playing all in one place.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms feel more open and have larger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    25
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
46
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Spent three nights during the Windham Mountain Bike World Cup race. From my first call to make a reservation to the farewell at the end, Ronnie and Laurie were warm, friendly, helpful, and caring every step of the way. The rooms are comfortable and clean, not fancy, but with incredible views of the mountains and valleys. The "raid the refrigerator" breakfast worked well for us and the stay was an good value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! It is people like YOU that make all the hard work worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My family and I stayed while visiting family for a communion, the rooms are cozy and comfortable, the staff is exceptional, friendly, caring and helpful. the restaurant overlooks the spectacular view, the food was well prepared, and absolutely delicious.The service we recieved while we were there was nothing short of feeling like family,(even had to inconvience the owner in the weee hours of the morning, when I got locked out cause i forgot the room key, he graciously came to rescue us) thanks, Ron&Laurie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thanks again for your stay with us. Its' always a pleasure : ) Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here for a ski weekend at Hunter and Windham. Location is very convenient, and the 5 state view at sunrise is incredible. Had dinner at their restaurant and it was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin5LongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
You two are too cute. It is always enjoyable to be able to serve such nice people. We just happen to be Blessed to find so many here! Keep enjoying the journey and come back to visit soon : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Paul and I had a glimpse of the Inn last year when we were in Windham. I am so very happy that he made reservations for our recent overnight stay in the Catskills. The genuine warmth and hospitality of Ron and Laurie ensured that our stay was perfect. The room was very clean and so comfortable and of course the view was awesome. We wanted to do some hiking and see some waterfalls and Ron was so helpful to us in giving us the information that we needed. Dinner in The Victorian Rose Restaurant was another 5 star experience. The service was great and the chef is to be commended for the fine food. I was very impressed with the way Ron takes the time to visit his dinner guests, again ensuring that all is well. So many personal touches added to the totally enjoyable stay. Five star is the highest rating allowed, our experience warrants much more. Looking forward to returning hopefully soon. Thank You Ron and Laurie for making this all possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkeagles1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Too Kind. You are both so welcome here. We will look forward to your next visit. Thanks again, Ron & Laurie : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Eclectic charm and personal touches make this perfect non-chain experience unique. My traveling companion and I stopped here for lunch recently and will be back several times this summer and fall for overnight stays. The inn is ideally situated for hiking, horseback riding, and swimming in summer and skiing is mere minutes away in winter, The lunch was superb, served with friendly manner, and the inn was an interesting mix of decor and styles, making it fun to stroll around exploring... there are, of course, the outdoor decks, dining areas, and walkways which seem to hug the cliffside as you gaze northeast over the Hudson Valley, Berkshires, Greens, Whites, and beyond...the rec room is cozy and homey, the viewing tower and spiral staircase is a nod to the tower that dominated the site in years past, and the rooms I glimpsed had all been refurbished recently, each in its own distinctive style and scheme. It is a versatile ambience, suitable for family or romantic getaways. The staff is attentive but not hovering, no doubt picked with care by the innkeepers, Ron and Laurie...we met Laurie. We look forward to meeting Ron this summer. Calvin from MetroBoston

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron L, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
It always warms my heart to read positive feedback. It pleases us, to please you. Thank you for Loving this place as much as we do and Thank You for your encouraging review once again. Looking forward to meeting and speaking with you soon. Stay Blessed : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxedo Park, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Inn this winter for a multi-family ski weekend. Reservations were a snap over the phone and Ron was very helpful in booking the four rooms we needed. The two sets of parents had rooms overlooking the "five state view" and the two sets of kids rooms were across the hall. The rooms were clean, comfortable and just what we needed after a day of skiing. The beds were comfortable. The BIG surprise was the dining experience. What a couple of meals! Though our table of 10 may have overwhelmed the staff on Friday night (there was another large group in the dining room), the food was excellent and cooked to perfection! We decided to eat there again on Saturday night and this time we were greeted with two servers who took our orders and waited on us meticulously. Again, a wonderful meal. The bar was very nice and our host, Ron was most accommodating to our every request. The kids enjoyed the pool table and air hockey downstairs as well. Admittedly, the Four Seasons it is not - but they are not charging Four Seasons' prices (nor could you find one within 100 miles!) If you're a ski parent and don't want to worry about your hotel during your weekend, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkidadJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron L, Manager at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record such kind thoughts of your stay with us. We truly value your business and are honored to be part of such a great family memory. With 10 years here we still look forward to the future at Point Lookout Mountain Inn. Stay Blessed : ) P.S. Check the Point Lookout Mountain Inn facebook page for a new picture of the Dr. Suess Tower!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
4.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.7 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
7.1 mi away
Christman's Windham House
11.2 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#5 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Inn Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Inn Point Lookout

Property: Captains Inn Point Lookout
Address: 7604 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12439-5153 (Formerly Point Lookout Mountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Inn Point Lookout 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's Inn Point Lookout is historically located 2000 feet high in the Catskill Mountains. It has an unprecedented Five State, 180 mile view into Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, & New York. It is in close proximity to Windham Mountain, Hunter Mountain, and offers a huge variety of year round activities,Fishing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, ZIP LINING, Boating Kayaking, snow-shoeing, Snow skiing, snow boarding, Leaf peeping, sight-seeing, scenic drives, Golfing, hunting, discovering, The Great Northern Catskills. The Restaurant has received accolades for its performance and vows to continue to be better. A wonderful place to come for a getaway, a delicious meal, or a quick bite to eat in the lounge. Family friendly with a great children menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Captains Inn Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Mountain Hotel Windham
Captains Inn Point Lookout Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing