We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and we'll be back!”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Massapequa, New York
1 review
“we loved it and we'll be back!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable. the owners/staff were very nice. easy to find great location. pool looked tempting but didnt get a chance to jump in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    79
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
143
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We were somewhat disappointed with our stay given the high quality reviews here and on other web sites. The room was spacious and everyone was super friendly. Beds were firm but tended to canoe with two adults. But there was no way to control the heat in the room and it just kept pouring out, even at night when we (and most people) prefer things a bit cooler. When informed, the staff alerted me me to the thermostat which I assured them was just for decoration. So we suffered through a second night with the sliding door ajar to keep from suffocating. The breakfast is also a little on the thin side although the raspberry-filled croissants were spectacular. I would suggest having 1% or 2% milk available instead of just skim and 1/2 & 1/2. The breakfast room also serves as a common room with hot beverages available all day and fresh cookies in the afternoon. Did not use the pool/hot tub since it required a walk across the parking lot. We were also hoping to take the motel shuttle to and from the mountain but it was broken so we had to drive. Finally, the water smells and tastes awful (probably sulfur). It won't kill you, but be sure to bring your own to drink, or bring a Brita pitcher which seems to do the trick. ATT phone service only works on the porch off the breakfast room. Will probably try somewhere else next time we visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank meatslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed for a two night/midweek ski package...the Hotel Vienna's accommodations were cozy, clean and comfortable! Rick, the owner, welcomed us with a smile and lots of recommendations for ski rentals, restaurants, etc...The staff was friendly and always willing to help us with any requests! The heated pool and hot tub were a welcome relief after a long day of skiing...clean and very pretty pool house. We sat with glasses of wine in front of a fire in the downstairs game/living room and enjoyed breakfast in the communal breakfast/snack room...fresh baked cookies in the afternoon and croissants in the morning...lots of choices for continental breakfasts...beautiful views of the meadow and small decks with chairs outside each room! Smoke free environment is a plus! I would highly recommend this hotel...go and enjoy your stay! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

A great place to stay. A real home like feeling. The room was clean and well kept. DVD player make for a great movie night. The hot tub was key to a long day of skiing. So close to Windham ski mountain. What a great town. Good places to eat in town. Close to town but far enough away to feel like you are in the woods. Breakfast was enough to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ6486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilderland, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is our 5 th year staying at the Hotel Vienna . The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. We enjoy the pool and hot tub. The jaccuzzi in the room was excellent fun this year !!! Rick and the staff are great . We always enjoy our visit with Rick . He suggested a dish at The Chalet Fondue where we always go for dinner while in Windham . It was delicious. We expect to return this summer as well as next Valentine's Day . Thank You so much for making our visit so nice .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmhopehf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed for one night in August. It wasn’t the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, but it was the most overpriced for what it was - $155 plus tax. Basically this place is a motel and nothing more. The room itself was on the second floor with a Jacuzzi tub with a shower above – the tub was pretty grubby so I didn’t use it. The room wasn’t filthy, but it wasn’t spotlessly clean either, and the towels were worn and frayed. It was really a basic motel room with some wooden beams fitted to the ceiling, and a narrow balcony overlooking the parking lot. Probably the best things about it were the shower, which was really good, and the comfortable bed. The worst thing about the whole experience was breakfast. I’d read about the ‘home baked pastries’, but the only thing on offer, in a tiny room where we had nowhere to sit and had to return to our rooms to eat breakfast, were pallid, pasty, pitiful croissants. They looked like the kind that come in a can to be baked at home and tasted disgusting. The other breakfast options were pre-packaged cereal and some grapes –it was very poor. All in all, shocking food, mediocre room and high, high price. Won’t be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

ok..just finished a weekend at the Hotel Vienna..let me think about the negatives...ok it's been a few hours and I could only think of one thing..the fresh hot breadpudding that was waiting for me after a day of skiing needed a drop more sugar (only kidding)..this place is great value, great staff and ownership..I mean even the shuttle driver is a gem...great hot-tub, breakfast more than adequate for the ski oriented, and continuous hot chocolate, cider, cookies, etc in front of the fireplace made for a great weekend 21/2 hours from staten island.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
8.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing