We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Heaven in the Catskills”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whitesone NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little Heaven in the Catskills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

We have been staying at the Hotel Vienna for about 18 years and we never loved it so much as we do right now. From the friendly staff to the impeccible rooms, a stay at the Hotel Vienna will transport you to a place that will automatically delete all the stress in your life. If you are looking to have a great time or to just be all alone with nature, the Hotel Vienna is the place to be at.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jmroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    78
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
138
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery County Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

We only wish we could have spent more time here. We stayed at the Hotel Vienna while passing through the Catskills. We will likely book our next trip around Windham so that we can return. There is an atmosphere of peace and happiness at the hotel -- two qualities that are important to any vacation.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — Pool does not open until 10am
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyRoadLessTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

Windham, New York: "Hotel Vienna- A Great Family Get Away"
Date: July 11, 2008

Our goal was to return to NYC rested and energized and Hotel Vienna with breathtaking views from its surrounding mountains, and its wonderful staff helped us accomplish just that!

From planning to departure the staff helped everything fall into place. We were looking for a place that offered a vacation feel, but was clean, safe, had an indoor pool, breakfast, accessibility by bus and ability to fit our budget. This was a tall order, but Hotel Vienna fit the bill perfectly. Anyone who has children will understand that some amenities are basic for families with small children. My not so easily impressed 10 year old became immediately energized as we entered the hotel grounds. She commented on the beauty of the building and the grounds. I received some mommy Kudo's for my great selection. For my 8 year old a vacation is simply not a vacation without daily swimming. It was an added plus that the the pool was immediately visible as we entered. Needless to say, the children spent wonderful moments making great memories in the pool and I in the oh so comforting jacuzzi. Both were open from 10am-10pm.

The fact that breakfast was included at no extra cost and accessible on grounds allowed us to rest longer and ease into the morning. Fresh croissants, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cereal, and other provisions made our mornings enjoyable. Only doors away from our hotel room, the dining room offered a home-like feel and we could choose to eat there with other guests or eat in our hotel room. Throughout the day, we had access to hotel provided soda or snacks we bought and stored in the refrigerator . For dinner, we sometimes ordered in or walked to nearby eateries. The hotel staff went beyond the call of duty when they drove us to a nearby restaurant one night. This generosity, cheerfulness, and hospitality was shared by all staff members. From greeting the children to helping us find hiking trails, they were consistently welcoming. Not only did they graciously offer to provide transportation to town, when the bus changed its route and did not deliver us to the hotel as is usual, they picked us up on arrival and got us to the bus on departure.

My children and I definitely recommend Hotel Vienna as a destination for all, and in particular for families with children.

  • Liked — The beautiful location
  • Disliked — Accessibility
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaNYC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

Our stay at this hotel was great! Came up with a girlfriend and our four year old daughters for a ski weekend. I first choose it as it seems to be the only hotel close to Windham with an indoor pool. And this worked out great! Nice warm pool with a hot tub right next to it, so we could soak and still watch the kids swim. A great way to end the day after skiing.

The staff was wonderful. I feel like I made a real friend with Patti at the front desk. I had such a good time I went back with my husband the following weekend. The rates were even lowered since it was close to the end of the ski season. Nice rooms and a very homey environment.

Just watch you speed as you head back to the highway. I got a speeding ticket just one mile before the highway in Catskill. I'm going back to fight the ticket and guess where I'll be staying. Yes, my new favorite home away from home. :-)

  • Liked — Staff, pool, location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mullach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

We booked a 3 day ski getaway and decided to give Vienna a shot. We are so happy in our decision to stay here.
Timing was great- Perfect time to hit the slopes with no crowds and hotel was quiet.

Back to the hotel- Service was exemplary. The staff (especially Patty- ASK FOR PATTY WHEN YOU STAY HERE) was wonderful, willing to answer any and all questions. They directed us to great places to eat while offering us snacks (warm cookies after a ski run was awesome) and drinks throughout our stay.

The room was quite spacious, clean and well kept. Between hotel service, location to the mountain (rocks throw- 2 minute drive) and great package pricing, you can't go wrong at the Vienna.

Until we save enough to buy a home up here (a long time from now), the Hotel Vienna will be where we stay in Windham.

PS- Pillows were firm (bring your own).
PSS- Don't use Mapquest or your Nav system. Folow the directions given by the hotel- TRUST US!

- Sam & Erika H.

  • Liked — Service, Location to Mountain
  • Disliked — Pillows (too firm)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

The Hotel Vienna was a last minute reservation. I called on the evening of the 22nd to check in on the 23rd. I spoke with Pattie for about 20 minutes and could not wait to meet her the next day.

We felt right at home. Our two boys, ages 14 and 11 yrs were so impressed with how nice and homey the hotel is. The rooms are large and very clean. After spending the day at Windham Ski, it was great to check into a nice hotel, relax and watch a movie on the hotel room DVD player! We actually watched two movies before falling off too sleep. Forgot to mention they have a heated indoor pool.

The Rasmussen family made a good choice in putting Patti at the front desk. Her help and knowledge of the area, got us discounts at Charlie's Ski rental and a good recommendation to Mikes Diner.

Our visit next year to Windham will definilty include staying at the Hotel Vienna.

Lominy Family

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LominyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2008

I stumbled upon this place with internet search and looking for affordable CLOSE places to Windham mountain. Not sure what I expected, but the heated pool and jacuzzi sold me in. I got there, and the room was a lot cleaner and bigger than I expected, and the pool was spacious, and the complimentary breakfast and the friendly staff was an added bonus. Would definitely come back here anytime and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank demarest777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#5 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.4 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#4 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing