We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in the Catskill Mountains”
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a three night stay at the Hotel Vienna in Windham, NY. Close to Windham mtn, Hunter mtn, Tannersville, NY. Great ski country but we wanted a quiet, peaceful summer retreat in the mountains. Hotel Vienna king suite with mountain view. No mountain view in the summer, trees are in the way. There are two chairs on the balcony and I imagine there is a beautiful view in the winter. Pool and hot tub building is across the parking lot with a secure key entrance. Hot tub was way too hot to stay in for more than a couple minutes, no one was going in it. Pool was nice, indoors with open screens to the outside, seating area with lounge chairs and tables and chairs outside. Continental breakfast is good. Served 8-10 am only. They make their own wonderful HUGE croissants to die for. Also have coffee, juice, cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. Nice for a light breakfast. Restaurant prices in the area are on the higher side, This is a wonderful off the main highway location and would stay here again. Our room also had a day bed in it besides the king size bed. Lobby has menu's for local restaurants. Do not bother going into Tannersville or Hunter to eat lunch at this time of year. Walked around Tannersville on a Tuesday and almost everything was closed. Rooms need new carpets badly, otherwise nicely appointed.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor with mountain view for quiet. Other side overlooks the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at this quaint hotel outside of Windham, NY recently, while attending a music festival in the area. Rooms are really large and all feature a nice balcony. A serviceable breakfast is available and there are some great trails, coffee shops, bike paths right around the area. I found the hotel to be very convenient, quiet, and the rooms very clean. Bathrooms could use updating, but overall, a good value for a quaint hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, rear of the hotel to get a nice balcony view (vs. a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JJboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The 2 queen beds room is a very good size room. Breakfast is included and is pretty good. The staff is helpful in giving directions to the local attractions. The pizza place on main street served wheat thin crust vegetable pizza which was delicious, a little pricey though. There are other hotels also in this quaint little town. the at&t mobile phone signal service strength is very weak in the windham area.

Room Tip: our mountain view room did not give a very good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aprel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrviennawindham, Owner at Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

Aprel,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Cell service in the mountains is spotty, however we do provide a booster for verizon users in the hotel. Windham has a large number of very good restaurants for a small mountain town, so we it is not surprising you enjoyed your pizza.
Hope to see you again soon.

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Looking for a quiet retreat, the Hotel Vienna is the place to go. The staff keep the hotel super clean and Rick is so well versed with the area attractions. He offers map routes and is happy to help in any way to make your stay more comfortable. The rooms are super clean, the beds are comfortable, something we rarely find. There are hot beverages all day long and a wonderful breakfast is offered, homemade croissants, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal and yogurt! The enclosed pool and hot tub were the perfect way to end a day of hiking. We were there in the summer, for area hiking and boating. Wonderful restaurants are only a few miles away. This is a must stay Inn if you just want to get away from it all in the heart of the Catskills.

Room Tip: We like the first floor. If stairs are an issue, ask for first floor. I did not notice an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrviennawindham, Owner at Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Hotel Vienna with our toddler, and we were very satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us very good recommendations for hikes, bicycle rides and restaurants. Without their help, we would have missed a lot of great opportunities and this made our trip a success!
The room was spacious, clean and very quiet.
Our little one enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benedicte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrviennawindham, Owner at Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review. Glad we could help offer things to do and places to go.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We and our friends stayed over the 4th of July weekend (3 days, 2 nights) to take advantage of hiking to the Acra Point viewpoint, to the top of Hunter Mountain, and to viewpoints within North-South Lake State Park. Our two rooms were clean, spacious, and quiet; my husband and I were in a mountain view room with a king bed, and our friends were in a 2 queen bed room facing the parking lot. Nice thing about the rooms is that each has a full sized sink and counter when you first enter the room, in addition to the sink and counter in the huge bathroom. The mini-refrigerator is located underneath the counter when you first enter the room; my husband almost couldn't find it because in most lodging establishments, the refrigerator is usually further in the room. We asked for and received great hiking information from the owners, Rick and Amy. The lobby has a table of menus from local restaurants, in addition to brochures of area attractions; the menus helped us decide where we wanted to have dinner. Although I didn't use the pool or hot tub, two of us used the hot tub and they said it was very clean. Last but not least, the breakfast room has delicious freshly baked croisants and danish, hard-cooked eggs one morning, Stonyfield Farms yogurts, assortment of cereals, milk, soymilk, orange juice, and round the clock coffee and tea. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrviennawindham, Owner at Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you will be returning for more hiking in the Great Northern Catskills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night and enjoyed it very much! It has great balcony views! The pool area is very clean and nice and so are the rooms!! Will go back for sure!! The staff was friendly and very helpfull! The town is great small you can walk all around! A lot of cute little stores!! Prime steakhouse has very good good if looking for some place to eat dinner !!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrviennawindham, Owner at Hotel Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We work very hard to make every ones visit the best it can be and we are happy your stay was enjoyable.
Come see us again soon.

Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
148 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: £92 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet Hotel, located within the Catskill Mountain State Park. 1 mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and outdoor fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing