We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little treasure in the country side” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vienna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little treasure in the country side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

A great place to stay. A real home like feeling. The room was clean and well kept. DVD player make for a great movie night. The hot tub was key to a long day of skiing. So close to Windham ski mountain. What a great town. Good places to eat in town. Close to town but far enough away to feel like you are in the woods. Breakfast was enough to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ6486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    78
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
138
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is our 5 th year staying at the Hotel Vienna . The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. We enjoy the pool and hot tub. The jaccuzzi in the room was excellent fun this year !!! Rick and the staff are great . We always enjoy our visit with Rick . He suggested a dish at The Chalet Fondue where we always go for dinner while in Windham . It was delicious. We expect to return this summer as well as next Valentine's Day . Thank You so much for making our visit so nice .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmhopehf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed for one night in August. It wasn’t the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in, but it was the most overpriced for what it was - $155 plus tax. Basically this place is a motel and nothing more. The room itself was on the second floor with a Jacuzzi tub with a shower above – the tub was pretty grubby so I didn’t use it. The room wasn’t filthy, but it wasn’t spotlessly clean either, and the towels were worn and frayed. It was really a basic motel room with some wooden beams fitted to the ceiling, and a narrow balcony overlooking the parking lot. Probably the best things about it were the shower, which was really good, and the comfortable bed. The worst thing about the whole experience was breakfast. I’d read about the ‘home baked pastries’, but the only thing on offer, in a tiny room where we had nowhere to sit and had to return to our rooms to eat breakfast, were pallid, pasty, pitiful croissants. They looked like the kind that come in a can to be baked at home and tasted disgusting. The other breakfast options were pre-packaged cereal and some grapes –it was very poor. All in all, shocking food, mediocre room and high, high price. Won’t be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewYorkTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

ok..just finished a weekend at the Hotel Vienna..let me think about the negatives...ok it's been a few hours and I could only think of one thing..the fresh hot breadpudding that was waiting for me after a day of skiing needed a drop more sugar (only kidding)..this place is great value, great staff and ownership..I mean even the shuttle driver is a gem...great hot-tub, breakfast more than adequate for the ski oriented, and continuous hot chocolate, cider, cookies, etc in front of the fireplace made for a great weekend 21/2 hours from staten island.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

After reading a lot of good reviews for this hotel decided to give it a try and I am glad I did. This hotel is very cozy, cute, clean and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3nights and hit the slopes for 2 days which we enjoyed very much. The rooms were very spacious and have free wifi. The continental breakfast is just like any other coffee, OJ, croissants, cereal. They have a shuttle that goes to Windham mountain, Andy the driver was very helpful the whole time we were there. Definitely will be going back, Windham mountain is also a great skiing location, there are ski rental shops before you get to the mountain it is best to rent your ski gear from there since it is much cheaper than at the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsepulveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We are a young couple in our twenties and we thought this was a very home-y feeling hotel. Hotel decor and some ammenities were outdated but the bed was huge and pretty comfortable. Also, everything was extremely clean. The continental breakfast consisted of warm strawberry cheese danishs which seems to be freshly made. along with other options such as cereal, croissant, fruit, tea, Coffee, hot cocoa, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast room and living room both have comfy fireplaces. The mointainview room that we paid extra for did not look like it does on the website. All in all a great place to stay at windhm mountain, especially for families. We enjoyed our stay and would come back when we go to ski at windham mt again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanrynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We spend 4 days in Windham to go skiing in January and decided to stay in this hotel after reading the reviews, and I have to say we weren't disappointed. This is a perfect, relaxed, "feels like home" hotel. Rooms are lovely clean and spaceous. Rick and the rest of the staff are unbelieveably friendly and helpful - they even gave us freshly baked cookies when we were leaving to nibble on during the bus trip back to New York! Andy the bus driver in particular couldn't have done more for us. If you're looking for a hotel with personality, a relaxed atmosphere and hospitable staff then choose Hotel Vienna. Just two things that may not suit everyone - the breakfast is a basic, serve yourself continental style which suited us as we wanted to eat quickly and get up to the slopes, but if you're expecting a cooked breakfast you'll be disappointed. Secondy, the hotel is a good 30 minutes walk from the centre of Windham - however, there are taxis and if Andy is around he may give you a lift, or if you want there is a lovely restaurant closer (say 10 mins walk) and also a pizzeria, mini-market and pharmacy. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
0.7 mi away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
8.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#2 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Property: Hotel Vienna
Address: 107 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vienna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn, 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club and 8 miles from Hunter Mtn Ski Area and NY ZipLine adventure. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing