We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for fun ski weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Pluckemin, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect for fun ski weekend!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

So close to Windham and Hunter Mountains it couldn't be better located for skiing. Great lodge with bar, food, pool table and complete with fireplace & bookshelves. Try the wings they are homemade and they are absolutely amazing! Rooms are basic but just what you need, very clean. Don and Lisa are great hosts, answered all our questions and then some. I only stayed for winter but now I'm looking to book the summer for mountain bike weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    29
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
36
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for a ski weekend with my girlfriend. We read the reviews, and brought everything we thought we needed for an enjoyable stay - we were wrong. Maybe it was just OUR room, but whatever you do - stay away from #12. First and foremost, when you're skiing you need to shower. This was almost impossible - there wasn't any hot water one of the mornings. And the morning there was - it dripped out. Secondly, the room is DARK. There's only one window in the room and to make things worse the room is painted a dark green. Thirdly, what's up with the heat. There's isn't a thermostat. There's a chain that opens and closes a flap that lets hot air out. Granted there was plenty of heat but in two days we were there we couldn't adjust it so that we were "comfortable". Another thing is the parking, the lot is small and parking is minimal.

It wasn't all bad. It is super close to Windham. The beer and wine bar was nice. And the people that run the place are extremely nice.

I just wouldn't ever stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nb4j5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great place - definitely plan to go back. Location is perfect for skiing at Windham Mtn and for dining in town. Spacious room. Rustic feel. The owners Lisa and Don do everything they can to make you feel welcome and are so knowledgeable about the area. They are great! They personally cook a nice buffet breakfast on weekends which gave me the energy to hit the slopes!

Some challenges adjusting the temperature in the room and also the water temperature were minor obstacles at the beginning but were easily overcome.

All in all this is an outstanding place for a ski weekend and/or time spent with family in the Catskills.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank davidfitts901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to take advantage of the snow storm (1/2/14-1/3/14) by driving up to Windham. Normally we just make the two hour drive a day trip, but with the promise of over a foot of snow in the reports, we knew it would be perfect to spend the night. Copper Kettle offered us with exactly what we were looking for: a cozy roof over our heads, affordable prices, and enough craft beer and delicious wings to weather the storm.

Copper Kettle is conveniently located down the road from Windham Mountain and a short drive to Hunter. It's also less than a mile from the center of town where Don and Lisa are ready to give you their personal recommendations.

Our cottage was super clean and as long as you have patience with the water heating up, this place is awesome. The provided breakfast (midweek-continental / weekend- eggs and pancakes) was the perfect fuel for hitting the slopes and the view of the mountains was the perfect compliment.

Cheers!
Sara and Mike

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We figured going in that this place would be rustic and that was fine with us. The only problem with the room was the outlet situation. We needed more outlets to charge phones, computers, etc. We ended up buying a power strip and situation was remedied. Don and Lisa could not be nicer. Spent a night sitting at the wine bar with wings and wine and thoroughly enjoyed it. Got to meet some locals and got tons of info on places to see which we totally did. This place is clean clean clean and we will definitely stay again if in the area. We actually felt like we made true friends in Don and Lisa. We wish them the best in a successful business. If you want a Marriot then stay at a chain - If you want a homey, cottage feel, rustic little Catskill experience then stay here. You won't regret it. Just bring a power strip :), PS. We did not think it was overpriced and we did bring a coffee pot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fran112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went up to Hunter Mountain for the Octoberfest and to do some zip lining at Hunter Mountain. Was up there on October 4-6 for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend. Great place to stay and Don and Lisa the owners were great and accomdating people. Highly recommend the place. Room was clean. Only problem we had when we arrived the heat was blaring as someone had left it on. No big deal we opened the windows and door for a hour and it was no problem. Great location to hunter mountain. 5 minutes away. Love the Wine and Beer bar. Don got my addicted to the Angry apple orchard cider. My boyfriend loved all the different beers they had. Only 1 beer on tap Guiness. Overall a great place. Free continental breakfast was awesome to. Will be back next summer for the big Zip lining at Hunter Mountain. Thanks Don & Lisa!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Older motel/cabins. Beds okay but sparse on pillows. Only two outlets in room and could really use more light. Heat great and separate heat fan in bathroom appreciated. Tiny, tiny shower. No hairdryer or coffee maker. But dryer supplied on request as was mini fridge. No phone. Wifi very good. Breakfast not served till 7:30 so if you need to hit the road early, as we did, it's useless. Owner very, very accommodating and helpful though. Very nice, friendly & gracious as well. Rustic, older & "quaint" paneled room. Small older tv, but no big deal for us. A bit overpriced for what you get however. Slightly under $100 for two double. But still one of cheaper venues in this highly popular hiking/skiing Catskill area. Non-smoking available. Restaurant/wine bar attached to office. Good location for hiking and skiing venues. No early breakfast places but Zalero's gas station/food mart up the road. Wiould stay again though if in the area for a night or two and compared to others in same price range, would definitely chose this above those!

Room Tip: Rear, upper cabin/motel rooms require climbing stone stairs, so mindful of carrying lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikinghag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
15.2 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Winwood Inn & Condos
Winwood Inn & Condos
#6 of 7 in Windham
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Kettle Motel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

Property: Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Address: 5098 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12496-5404 (Formerly Kopper Kettle Motel)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Kettle Motel Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Kettle has 12 Standard guest rooms, a Cottage Suite and a 4 Bedroom house available for your lodging needs. We pride ourselves on offering visitors nothing less than exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations, warm hospitality and reasonable prices. Winter Season: Hot Buffett Breakfast is included and provided for all cottage and standard room guests on weekends and holidays. Continental Breakfast provided on weekends Summer & Fall. Discounted lift tickets to both Windham and Hunter Mountains are available for purchase for all Copper Kettle guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Copper Kettle Motel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Hotel Windham
Kopper Kettle Hotel
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing